We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLISSFUL boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cesar Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cesar Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BLISSFUL boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

By chance found this new hotel, picked it as looked modern, nice décor and 3 pools. It was FANTASTIC. Junior Suite was awesome, loved the finishes and cleanliness. The small team of staff are a real credit to this hotel, always willing to help, but also fun to chat with and advise on places to see.

It's about 10 mins from Medina by taxi. But actually we preferred being away from the madness in this oasis. The bonus is it's walking distance to Pacha's Restaurant & Club, plus the wonderful Al Fasal restaurant.

Be aware taxi rates are variable, depending on how green you are!! SO huge luck we found the one in a million good and reliable taxi man YOUSSEF +212 6 78 30 94 73 (say Clare & Annie said so!!)

I will return some day soon .. especially to try the spa which we didn't have time to enjoy this time!

Room Tip: Definitely choose the suites, so lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    61
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
43
178
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Currently sat by the pool, while waiting for my flight home after a 5 night stay, through livingsocial.

The hotel is a beautiful place, well decorated, with a number of different areas for you to unwind and relax. Whether that be in your room, on a lounger by the pool, sat in the spacious bar or up in the skybar.

We arrived without transfers and caught a cab from the airport and paid over the odds 200dm. However after that we got into the spirit of haggling and got cabs in to town for around 40-50dm. You could walk it on a nice day (around 45mins to 1 hour)

The room was ground floor and had patio doors which opened out straight onto the pool. The deal came with a free arrival cocktail, a bottle of champagne and a fruit basket. All were present on our arrival as well as a scattering of rose petals on the bed. The staff from the moment we arrived were nothing short of fantastic. They were attentive, helpful and always smiling. On one occasion one of them came over, unasked, and helped us to understand the menu as he could see we were struggling. You should not expect the staff to speak english, if they do it is a bonus and i felt that so long as you conversed a little with them in french, then they were more than happy to speak to you in english.

Yes the alcohol is expensive, but this is due to the taxes and not entirely down to the hotel. We walked 5 minutes to the carrefour (supermarket) and bought food and drink from there. This was as expensive as at home if not more so.

Breakfast can get a little repetitive but was always nice. We ate at the hotel on 3 evenings and had a lovely meal on each occasion.

A fantastic place and would definately come again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We've just returned from a 4 night honeymoon at the Cesar Hotel. From the moment we arrived we loved it, it is a beautiful hotel and as mentioned by other reviewers the customer service is brilliant. The hotel itself has 2 pools, the one on the roof was our favourite as we had it mostly to ourselves and it has beautiful views of the atlas mountains - you can request lunch up here. The medina is a good 10min taxi drive (would be longer in england but the Moroccans know how to drive quickly!) and really you should pay no more than 40MAD each way, more at night though - 1 night we also managed to get the horse and carriage back for 100MAD!

Breakfast was nice each morning but can get boring after a while as its the same everyday, very tasty though. I don't expect all staff in a foreign hotel to speak english and we certainly found that quite a few members of staff had brilliant English, taking a French dictionary may help when you don't know that much though. The spa was amazing, has a heated pool for any rainy days and we had a Hamman which was brilliant and very relaxing. They mainly speak French in the spa but if you're not sure, ask the hotel staff to speak to the spa for you.

Food at the hotel is delicious and presented beautifully but can be expensive. Carrefour is a 5 min walk (good place to get a taxi and haggle!) and has a food court upstairs where you can eat more cheaply if needed. We did this on a couple of occasions and it was very nice. You can also stock up on nibbles for the room from the supermarket.

Overall an excellent stay, hotel is well run and managed and we would definitely return in the future. Staying outside the medina is a real benefit as it can be too hot and intense 24/7.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing inwards as you get a lovely balcony to relax on in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is absolutely lovely and a great place to relax after sightseeing trips. The staff are all extremely friendly and there's always someone around to help you with any queries; nothing is too much trouble. I would definitely recommend it.

POOLS: There are two outdoor, small ish pools and the areas around them are immaculately clean. The rooftop pool has great views, though only a few sunbeds (there are lots of comfy chairs, but not the same if you want to lie down). The lower level pool has really comfy beanbag sunbeds.

SPA: The spa area is lovely with an indoor pool, relaxation area & lots of treatments to choose from. The staff here understand French better than English. As part of our deal with Secret Escapes, we had a complimentary hammam; scrub, soaping, etc, which felt great. They even washed our hair! The full body massage (55 mins) was also fantastic & worth the money.

FOOD: Breakfast lovely (same each day), consisting of omlette, various breads / cakes / pastries, hot drink, orange juice & natural yogurt. The breakfast servers are very friendly, though also understand French a bit better than English. Other meals at the hotel are fairly pricey but very tasty & good sized portions. Can be eaten by either of the pools.

ROOMS: We had a ground floor room, with a massive double bed, seating area, bath, shower, etc. The rooms are cleaned thorougly every day & towels replaced (one day they forgot, but as soon as we asked we were given some). I really liked the room, it was very modern & comfortable.

LOCATION: 10 mins by taxi to Medina. The hotel can flag a taxi for you, but you still need to negotiate the rate yourself. A grand taxi (for over 2 people) should cost around 50 MAD, though could be up to 100 at night. Some taxi drivers are nicer than others, some will accept your suggested price whilst others will be tougher. You'll get more confident with this as the holiday goes on. There's a shopping centre a few mins walk away with a cashpoint, clothes shops, some eateries and a supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just come back from our stay here and absolutely loved it. It is about 5 mins from the medina but is nice to be able to come away from it all and relax at the Cesar.

The hotel is really nicely decorated and laid out. We were in a room on the first floor and mainly used the pool on the roof terrace which we had to ourselves most of the time! The room itself was spacious and had a bath and separate walk in shower. It was cleaned thoroughly everyday as was the rest of the hotel. We also had a nice balcony which was nice to sit out on in the afternoon.

It has been said in previous reviews that the food is expensive which I agree with but it was lovely if you didn't fancy leaving the hotel. I also agree that the breakfast did get a little samey but We didn't mind as we're not big on breakfast at home but was a selection of bread, pastries, yoghurt, crumpet type things and omelette or scrambled eggs.

We were very pleased with the service that all the staff gave and even if they didn't speak much English (which we didn't expect due to being in a foreign country) they were always helpful and polite. Even speaking a few words in French helped a lot.

It is a convenient location being a short walk to Carrefour the local supermarket which is the better place to get taxis from as it is cheaper.

All in all we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are nice with their own balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from a six night break booked through Secret Escapes. Very enjoyable time. We were in room 10 which opens out onto pool so could leave sliding doors open and pop in and out of the room.
Room very comfortable and spacious with extras like slippers and dressing gown. Two free bottles of water and nuts. Do take kettle if you like tea and buy milk from local Carrefour. Pool was lovely but limited chairs and guests ( not English) tended to leave towels and go out for most of the day. Pool towels available by asking. Nice area on roof but music always very loud up here plus chill chairs available.
Nadia (reception) is really the only person with good English which makes it difficult if you have limited French.
I did feel that more time was spent by staff with French speaking guests, maybe due to the language issues.
We enjoyed a lovely Hamman and scrub. Food was lovely and we ate on the skybar, but not cheap. Breakfast very filling and we ate out on the terrace.
Would definitely return here again. All staff very pleasant despite language barrier!!

Room Tip: Choose ground floor bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent 5 nights in Marrakech staying in a Riad in the medina, 4 nights in the Atlas nights before returning to Marrakech for 2 nights at Cesar prior to leaving. It was ideal for what we were after and that was to relax and enjoy our last bit of holiday. We walked into the medina in about 1/2 hour although as per previous reviews taxis are plenty. The Carrefour (supermarket) almost next door within a mall is handy for any drinks or nibbles as eating at the hotel is not cheap although the food is very good.

Our room was clean and spacious and we loved the walk-in shower. The pool is great - the longers are comfy with beanbag style cushions that mould to you. Wifi throughout and staff were pleasant and helpful. Yes English is, for most, a second or third langauge they do try and most of the time all is understood. The breakfast was a disappointment compared to other places we had stayed - you could have an omlette and were served pastries and yoghurt but that appeared to be it unless you wanted to pay for fruit (we tried to have our breakfast one morning by the pool area but were told it would cost extra so went into the restaurant).

Part of our deal included a hamman, whilst it is a spa so a little different from a traditional open hamman it was very good and the spa area is amazing. I wouldn't want to stay here for an entire trip to Marrakech as it does appear to be a new tourist development with some huge resorts around and semi-completed properties however the Cesar does this on a small boutique scale and does it pretty well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quelques minutes des golfs, du centre-ville et de l'aéroport, le César est aussi tout proche du Grand Prix, du Palais des Congrès et du plus grand centre commercial de la région. Dîner en ville, prendre une coupe au Champagne Bar, nager dans l'une de ses 3 piscines (sur le roof top, dans le patio ou sous le ciel étoilé du Spa), danser sur son dance floor ou dormir dans l'une de ses 28 suites : le César est la nouvelle adresse trendy de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cesar Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.