We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but can be more better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sidi Youssef ben Ali, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but can be more better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I spent hours to find it because no indications were on the road for the project. I was keep on calling the reception number but no one of course answers. The villa was good but for the price we paid I though it was another level. It's far from everything. Very cold water on the pool, they could have warm it a little bit to allow people benefit from it specially during those periods.
In the opposite way, I liked the big villa for only 2 people and a very nice pool surrounded by a nice terrace. also the staff was very reactive and available during our stay.

Room Tip: You must ask for an eastern front pool in the villa. it will be sunny all day long and specially in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Al Maaden for 6 nights last week (26 Aug-1 Sept). We have all had a fabulous time. My husband, children ( 3 children 13yrs, 9yrs and 18 months) and I didn't want to come back. We arranged transfers through the hotel and the people carrier was at the airport on time with a very comfortable journey to the hotel (about 20/25mins). We checked in and were made to feel very welcome. Ibrahim (the Manager) was friendly, efficient and catered to all our requests throughout our stay. Our bags were taken in by staff and placed into the bedrooms. All the staff members we came across were helpful, friendly and polite.

The restaurant was closed by the time we unpacked but as the shops are quite far away, the restaurant on site opened just for us to enjoy a lovely meal. Very friendly staff and no request was too much for them.

The villa was clean, contemporary and beautifully decorated, well deserving of its 5* rating. The pool was beautiful and the garden well kept and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the villa and playing in the pool. Ibrahim arranged a router for the villa the day after we arrived and wifi was accessible in the villa and poolside. The villa is cleaned daily and towels replaced, dishes washed and toiletries replaced. Bath robes are complimentary and the pool is cleaned each morning. Breakfast is included in the cost of the villa and is lovely. The breakfast is buffet style offering cooked and continental options. My children enjoyed watching the waiter pour the Moroccan tea from a height into the small tea cups - very entertaining!

As Al Maaden is quite far from the city centre, Ibrahim (or other reception staff)
arranged taxis for us whenever we wanted to go sight seeing or shopping. As we didn't have many days, we arranged a complete day trip and took in all the sights with the taxi driver staying with us the whole day and bringing us back at night. A full day of touring starting at 10am till 7pm cost us 800 mad.

The supermarket is about 15mins away by car and a round trip in the taxi cost us 200 mad but could be bartered down. I would advise to do your supermarket shop first thing as the villa and resort have no grocery provisions. The hotel did provide complimentary water bottles and a fruit platter on arrival. There are 2 restaurants open for lunch and dinner at the main resort if you would rather not cook on holiday. We tried the Morrocan restaurant and enjoyed the chicken brochettes.

We also tried out the golf course at the resort. There are 18 and 9 hole courses but with the children we did the 9 hole course. Golf buggies are available to hire as well as clubs. The golf course is stunning and beautifully maintained. If we were better golfers I'm sure we would have appreciated it more.

Overall a fantastic stay and we would definitely return.

Only a few points worth knowing. If you are going with children do pack games, inflatables for the pool and other entertainment for the villa as the resort is still under development and apart from the pool and golf there is no other entertainment for children to take part in. However, the villas do have Tv's in each room and 3 channels are English.

It is a plus if you can speak French or Arabic; communicating at the hotel or in central Marrakech is a lot easier. Ibrahim and other Reception staff do speak good English but taxi drivers will find it difficult. We luckily speak Arabic so it was very easy for us to be understood wherever we went.

There was a slight smell in the upstairs bedroom but nothing an open window and air freshener couldn't fix. Apparently the smell is caused by the air conditioning system.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Far from Five Star
Food rubbish
General Manager shies away from trouble for his own convenience. I was disgusted in his behaviour when he clearly knew I was having issues at the hotel, he did not even have the courtesy to approach me to solve the issues I had, but left it to his staff to lie and make up stories.

Issues like provision of wifi; kitchen supplies such as kettle; hot water; smell of sewage from the downstairs bathroom; air conditioning downstairs when outside temperatures were reaching 45 degrees;

The main hotel hasn't been built yet and the club house had an empty shop and restaurant. For two mornings our breakfast was poor, only when more guests arrived did they have a normal breakfast service that a 5 star hotel would have.

You wouldn't even know that the Ryads are on the site of a golf course, more like a construction site. As for having 'spa' in its name, what spa? The hotel doesn't even understand what real hospitality is and only prefer to speak Arabic or French. It's selective English speaking for their own convenience.

This hotel is like a prison, it takes quite a while to get out of the hotel with no entertainment. The only way to escape was to book a taxi and get the hell out of there.

The hotel is still being developed and I don't want anybody to feel cheated thinking they will be getting a five star service. This hotel is very clever in its media approach by advertising their hotel on every website , Just makes me wonder how this hotel was awarded a 5 Star.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We only played golf and didn't stay.

even so, I'm not sure which course a previous reviewer had visited but today's round was, for my husband and I, the highlight of our 4 rounds in Marrakech. From the proper choice (not made for youvas at many courses) of caddy, buggy or trolley, to the good advice from the caddy-master to the outstandingly kept and very varied course - this was a great day out - thank you to the staff.

No hawkers trying to sell you balls every 5 yards and a real challenge in places, this will no doubt be a European Tour venue when the hotel and apartment complex is finished - so far it has, after only 3 years, all the makings of a truly world class course.

If you go nowhere else in Marrakeck for golf - Golf Al Maaden is a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

imagine a flat, semi green surface with a lot of brown flecks, little variation, no hazards, even no water hazards, except for a couple of enormous water reservoirs in the middle of the fairways, surrounded by numerous uncompleted buildings with silent cranes, (due to the crisis?..), that's the golf of Al Maaden. It could be that the rooms in the resort are nice,but I only enjoyed the food of the good restaurant with an almost nice view on the course (because of a big empty water fountain in front). After 9 holes the course became boring, very boring. And the silent caddies were merely carrying the bags of my golf friends. A big contrast with the professional caddies on the courses in Agadir!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful quiet hotel. The Ryads are beautiful and modern, very spacious and not overlooked. The private pool was of a good size and there's plenty of garden for al fresco dining. We didn't have to carry our cases as the porter collected us from the car on a buggy and transported us to reception to check in, we were greeted with cold flannels and macaroons then taken to our ryad. We arrived early and this was no problem. The staff speak minimal English but were very accommodating. The location is rather remote but that was exactly what we wanted. There is a small mall 5 mins drive away handy for groceries including a bottle of wine or beers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Went there for a round of Golf, the course was mainly played by Europeans and although new in quite a good shape. The greens have been good, fast, probably stimp 10. It was compared to Golf courses at Marrakesh quite busy, so it took a bit longer to get around, but what to complain when on vacation? Service a bit cool, quite unusual for Marrakesh, but there are some place where it seems to be hip to express coolness like everywhere on this planet. Huge grounds with a lot of planning and landscaping, jut a bit of it is realized, so expect not a well maintained hotel area with all in a perfect condition. My second choice beside Samanah.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa

Address: Sidi Youssef ben Ali, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of al Maaden golf resorts, a true medina to experience Marrakech in full serenity within only 10 mn from Jemaa El Fna Square, you can enjoy in full serenity the quietness of the shady narrow streets in front of doors opening up to the intimacy of invaluable Ryads…..Located 18-right next to an 18 hole golf course designed by Kyle Phillips, Ryads Al Maaden are the reflection of an authentic medina combining intimacy, refinement, design and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.