We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent golf - great service - super food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sidi Youssef ben Ali, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent golf - great service - super food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We only played golf and didn't stay.

even so, I'm not sure which course a previous reviewer had visited but today's round was, for my husband and I, the highlight of our 4 rounds in Marrakech. From the proper choice (not made for youvas at many courses) of caddy, buggy or trolley, to the good advice from the caddy-master to the outstandingly kept and very varied course - this was a great day out - thank you to the staff.

No hawkers trying to sell you balls every 5 yards and a real challenge in places, this will no doubt be a European Tour venue when the hotel and apartment complex is finished - so far it has, after only 3 years, all the makings of a truly world class course.

If you go nowhere else in Marrakeck for golf - Golf Al Maaden is a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

imagine a flat, semi green surface with a lot of brown flecks, little variation, no hazards, even no water hazards, except for a couple of enormous water reservoirs in the middle of the fairways, surrounded by numerous uncompleted buildings with silent cranes, (due to the crisis?..), that's the golf of Al Maaden. It could be that the rooms in the resort are nice,but I only enjoyed the food of the good restaurant with an almost nice view on the course (because of a big empty water fountain in front). After 9 holes the course became boring, very boring. And the silent caddies were merely carrying the bags of my golf friends. A big contrast with the professional caddies on the courses in Agadir!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful quiet hotel. The Ryads are beautiful and modern, very spacious and not overlooked. The private pool was of a good size and there's plenty of garden for al fresco dining. We didn't have to carry our cases as the porter collected us from the car on a buggy and transported us to reception to check in, we were greeted with cold flannels and macaroons then taken to our ryad. We arrived early and this was no problem. The staff speak minimal English but were very accommodating. The location is rather remote but that was exactly what we wanted. There is a small mall 5 mins drive away handy for groceries including a bottle of wine or beers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Went there for a round of Golf, the course was mainly played by Europeans and although new in quite a good shape. The greens have been good, fast, probably stimp 10. It was compared to Golf courses at Marrakesh quite busy, so it took a bit longer to get around, but what to complain when on vacation? Service a bit cool, quite unusual for Marrakesh, but there are some place where it seems to be hip to express coolness like everywhere on this planet. Huge grounds with a lot of planning and landscaping, jut a bit of it is realized, so expect not a well maintained hotel area with all in a perfect condition. My second choice beside Samanah.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I highly recommend to stay at Al Maaden for any person, either you go with family or friends. It has the most stunning club house with a fantastic club house. The food is perfect from breakfast until late lunch in club house. Ask for a virgin mojito and enjoy the view on the atlas mountains ...

Ryads are perfectly executed with modern furniture, pool, roof terrace with barbecue kitchen and relaxing sofas. The rooms are big and beds very comfortable.

Location is not central, but the reception can arrange anything you want from transportation.

The golf course is world class.

Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa

Address: Sidi Youssef ben Ali, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of al Maaden golf resorts, a true medina to experience Marrakech in full serenity within only 10 mn from Jemaa El Fna Square, you can enjoy in full serenity the quietness of the shady narrow streets in front of doors opening up to the intimacy of invaluable Ryads…..Located 18-right next to an 18 hole golf course designed by Kyle Phillips, Ryads Al Maaden are the reflection of an authentic medina combining intimacy, refinement, design and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Maaden VillaHotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.