We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful hideaway from the mayhem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bab 54

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Bab 54 to your Saves list
Riad Bab 54
54 Derb N'Khel, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful hideaway from the mayhem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hidden in the maze of the medina, the riad is at the heart of the action, yet quiet and peaceful. We stayed 3 nights with our children (aged 3 and 5). Lovely traditional riad with clean, spacious room. Enjoyed dinner there on our first night, which was the best chicken tagine we had in morocco. Small but nice pool, lovely rooftop eating area for breakfast and friendly service. We would recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is excellent, very nice setting/design and the people are great.

It was a bit daunting when we arrived as it was late (past - 11:50 PM) and walking down through the streets was an experience! But Mohammed whom welcomed us to the Riad made it his personal mission to make sure we were taken care off. The hospitality was off the scale and we would definitely recommend this hotel as it’s a true gem in a crazy place!

BTW I booked the transfer from the airport to the main square by contacting the Riad directly as this is the easiest thing to do as there will be guys waiting to escort you to the Riad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Riad for two nights and had a 5 Star experience from the initial booking to the drop off back to the airport. Riad Bab 54 was a haven of tranquility, comfortable beds, great food and excellent hospitality.
We would highly recommend and will return again in the near future.
Thanks to M'Bark and Mohammed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was nice and peaceful to revert to Riad Bab 54 - our "home" in Marrakech - after a long day in the very lively centre of the city. M'bark and Mohammad really did their best to guide us, book tours, make sure that breakfast was perfect and that we had everything we needed - very good!
If you get back to the riad after sun-down, the alley before you get to the door can be very deserted and dark - but you get used to it. Delicious breakfast with various content over the days boiled eggs, pancakes, yogurt, bread, coffee/tea - and not to forget, the wonderful freshly pressed orange juice!!! For the ladies: the hairdryer in the room is probably the best and most efficient model, I've tried in any hotel. Before you go to Marrakech - it might be useful to brush-up your school-French - that comes in handy many times during your stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Higher floor has less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Getting to the Riad was an adventure for us that we will not forget. After the taxi driver picked us up from the airport, he dropped us off at a point close to the small maze like streets of the city and a sweet gentleman came up and put our luggage in his cart and said to follow him. We had not expected this and were a little confused but followed this man through tight crowded streets of shoppers, around the spice square to a deserted looking street where we found the Riad Bab 54. In the end, this added to the charm of the city.
This Riad was excellent for our needs. Having a large room to accommodate a couple with two older children was perfect. The Riad was nicely renovated, tastefully decorated and very clean. We were given tea and delicious cookies upon arrival.
M'bark the manager was very kind and patient when giving directions to our restaurant and even sent Mohammed (also very nice) to guide us to Djemma el Fna. Mohammed showed us a pay phone in the square and said to call if we were lost ...saying SOS (as we didn't speak each others languages) and he could come back to lead us to the Riad.
Breakfast was very nice with yogurt, local breads and jams.
I would recommend that visitors bring their own map of the area if you have specific places you want to visit. I realize no map will do justice in this city but the ones given at Riad Bab 54 are not detailed and not printed well making them hard to read. Marrakech is very confusing to navigate for the best of travelers. Also, I would recommend that you call to verbally verify your taxi pickup from the airport as ours was not conveyed to the manager and we were forgotten at the airport. This is unnerving especially if you do not speak Arabic or French. Airport information people are not helpful. This is why I can only give 4 stars as my rating.
Overall, our short stay at Riad Bab 54 was excellent and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room with one queen and two semi private twin beds was perfect. Spacious, modern and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a really great girly trip last week. The staff really went out of their way to make us welcome. The breakfasts were scrumptious and the beds very comfortable. A terrific place to stay-central and great value for money. You can get a bit lost finding the riad-but that's all part of the fun of Marrakech.

Room Tip: They all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This riad is great, clean and fantastically renovated in a very nice building. Location is good in
Marrakech medina. The only problem we had is that we could not find it in the beginning but we arrived with a car. Try to arrange a pick up for you when you arriving. We would definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bab 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bab 54

Address: 54 Derb N'Khel, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Bab 54 - Boutique Hotel - Marrakech Chic boutique hotel in Marrakech’s medina with a stylish modern take on traditional Moorish design. One of the coolest new addresses in Marrakech. An oasis !Riad Bab 54 is a peaceful and refined 6 bedroom riad, offering great location, contemporary and traditional decoration, intimate atmosphere and great service. It is a fabulous option for any visitor in Marrakech.Situated just 5 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square and bordering the Souks, this riad's greatest asset is its location, you cannot be more central…. The 6 bedrooms are individually and tastefully furnished and have stylish en-suite bathrooms with designer plumbing fixtures from Italy. Each bedroom also has reversible air-conditioning (so it heats as well if required), iPod docks, books, safes as well as Internet connection. There are plenty of places to relax with a book, play games, catch up on emails or enjoy a drink. The winter lounge has a fireplace, dining and seating area. The roof terrace has a panoramic view over Marrakech and the Mountains, and offers sun beds, a open air shower and comfortable dining and seating areas. It is the perfect place to relax, sunbathe or enjoy a meal. The main courtyard is light and uncluttered with a pool. The cool and colourful summer lounge is also great place to relax. The rates include breakfast, and with half a day’s notice, the in-house cook can prepare other meals as well. The manager speaks good English and French and is always there to offer personalised service, advice and suggestions to enable you to get the most out of your stay in Marrakech. Facilities 6 Bedrooms with ensuite-bathroomsReversible Air-conditioningInternet ConnectioniPod docksSafe for personal effectsShampoo & liquid soap (La Compagnie de Provence) Breakfast includedOn-site dining facilitiesRefreshments and CocktailsDining RoomWinter Lounge (with a fireplace) Summer LoungePatio CourtyardPoolRoof Terrace (with sun beds, seating areas, dining tables and a cold shower) Games, Books and Magazines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Bab 54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bab 54, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.