We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bab 54

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Bab 54 to your Saves list
Riad Bab 54
54 Derb N'Khel, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay at Riad Bab 54. It is a modern and stylish riad in the heart of the medina, not far from Jemaa el Fna; truly, the professional photos of the place are completely accurate. However, what made our stay so memorable was the service provided by the staff, namely M'Bark. He not only carried our bags through the rain to the riad after meeting us at Jemaa el Fna (which I would highly recommend because it is a little bit hard to find on your own the first time), but he also very graciously and patiently sat down with us to go over a map of Marrakech (and even taught us a little Arabic) while providing us with cookies and mint tea after we arrived. He was also up bright and early to serve us a lovely breakfast on the terrace the next morning.

My one minor quibble is the water temperature in our shower (we stayed in the Badia room) was a little bit temperamental during our stay, fluctuating between hot and cold. And it would have been really fantastic if they had a hair dryer in the bathroom. Nevertheless, I would not hesitate to stay at Riad Bab 54 if my travels bring me to Marrakech again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aller et retour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only for one night but can't wait to return to Marrakech and stay at Riad Bab54 again. The Riad itself is a beautiful blend of modern decor with traditional Morrocan flair. Our room was the Badia room on the ground floor next to the terrace fountain but unfortunately it was cold and rainy the day we arrived so we couldn't enjoy the awesome lounging possibilities that the courtyard offered. Our room particularly the sizable bathroom was very new and clean.

The highlight of Riad Bab54 however is the staff which is basically one guy, M'Bark who seems to run the entire place sucessfully by himself. He picked us up in the main square and brought us to Riad (you will need this guidance since the medina is difficult to navigate the first few times), served us a welcome mint tea and biscuits, taught us some Arabic, picked us up again after we enjoyed our dinner at a restaurant across the medina, and served us breakfast in the morning. This was all done with a smile and genuine hospitality that made the experience in the medina warm and lovely.

Riad Bab54 is definitely a great find!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

lovely experience M'bark the manager was the perfect host. Very informative on his lovely city and looked after us very well. Even upgraded us on our room after the first night, even tho our room was just perfect anyway. In terms of those worried about the hot water issue just run the tap for 5mins and there is plenty of hot water.
The lovely lady who cooks and cleans makes sure our bellies were full with a huge breakfast as we were always out for a full day ( her home made pancakes and doughnuts... To die for) and she cleaned the rooms to perfection. Rooms need better heating for night for those travelling in winter and an upstairs Wi-Fi router wouldn't go a miss. But over all a total pleasure to stay in and a oasis of calm in the middle of the busy souks.
Beautifully decorated and very well maintained. Thank you M'bark for being a wonderful host to myself and my partner.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markAndabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Perfect place, staff were beyond amazing. Owners were there too and they were so helpful and passionate about the place. Breakfast on the roof was great. Everything was amazing - people food rooms design, beautiful place very relaxed not pretentious PERFECT location - 10/10 and more strongly urge you go. Went with family all grown up children and we all loved it, but is also great for smaller kids and anyone really! Very accommodating. Quite difficult to find on foot as marrakech is very windy, but the guy from the hotel came and met us (probably one of the nicest chaps we had every met) and showed us the way - you go down a few dark alley ways but that makes walking through the front door even more impressive (like a hidden haven)

Room Tip: we had two rooms and were both great, one had a bigger bathroom but I was in the smaller one and lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I visited Marrakech with my wife in November for a 5 days break away from our businesses and children. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Clean, tastily done and with a host, M'Bark, that was truly amazing. The man was always to hand, always available to cook for us, guide us through the souks, recommend right places to shop at. Top marks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fellinihove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Riad Bab 54 is a very nice place to stay. A very warm welcome, big variety for breakfast and beautiful rooms make the Riad be a good accommodation for your stay in marrakech. The people are very friendly and helpful. They try to comply with any special wish or request you may have. We will definitely come again to the Riad Bab 54!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybird_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This Riad was beyond our expectations, especially for the price we paid. Located in a small street inside the market and not to far from Djemaa el Fna, it was quiet little piece of heaven in the busy city of Marrakech. The owners were extremely friendly, we could ask anything and they tried to help us or give us good advice. We had the room on the ground floor, which was not big but sufficient for myself and my girlfriend. The decoration in the riad was 100% our style so we loved it. Breakfast is superb, and when we left we could keep the room until 5pm instead op 1pm as described. Great service! We really felt at home. When we were in Marrakech the weather was sunny and very hot so we could chill during the day on the rooftop terrace, or take a little swim downstairs. The pool is not very large but very clean and sufficient for cooling down a bit. In conclusion I can say that we had the perfect stay here, thanks to the owner and her crew, who were all excellent. I highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miggi1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Chameleon
Riad Chameleon
#45 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Nafis
Riad Nafis
#69 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Davia
Riad Davia
#148 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Riad Berbere
Le Riad Berbere
#80 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Chamali
Riad Chamali
#116 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#159 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bab 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bab 54

Address: 54 Derb N'Khel, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Bab 54 - Boutique Hotel - Marrakech Chic boutique hotel in Marrakech's medina with a stylish modern take on traditional Moorish design. One of the coolest new addresses in Marrakech. An oasis !Riad Bab 54 is a peaceful and refined 6 bedroom riad, offering great location, contemporary and traditional decoration, intimate atmosphere and great service. It is a fabulous option for any visitor in Marrakech.Situated just 5 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square and bordering the Souks, this riad's greatest asset is its location, you cannot be more central.... The 6 bedrooms are individually and tastefully furnished and have stylish en-suite bathrooms with designer plumbing fixtures from Italy. Each bedroom also has reversible air-conditioning (so it heats as well if required), iPod docks, books, safes as well as Internet connection. There are plenty of places to relax with a book, play games, catch up on emails or enjoy a drink. The winter lounge has a fireplace, dining and seating area. The roof terrace has a panoramic view over Marrakech and the Mountains, and offers sun beds, a open air shower and comfortable dining and seating areas. It is the perfect place to relax, sunbathe or enjoy a meal. The main courtyard is light and uncluttered with a pool. The cool and colourful summer lounge is also great place to relax. The rates include breakfast, and with half a day's notice, the in-house cook can prepare other meals as well. The manager speaks good English and French and is always there to offer personalised service, advice and suggestions to enable you to get the most out of your stay in Marrakech. Facilities 6 Bedrooms with ensuite-bathroomsReversible Air-conditioningInternet ConnectioniPod docksSafe for personal effectsShampoo & liquid soap (La Compagnie de Provence) Breakfast includedOn-site dining facilitiesRefreshments and CocktailsDining RoomWinter Lounge (with a fireplace) Summer LoungePatio CourtyardPoolRoof Terrace (with sun beds, seating areas, dining tables and a cold shower) Games, Books and Magazines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Bab 54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing