We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive... Good guide, good driver” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours

Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours
56 Derb el Hammam, Rue Riad Laarouss | Riad Laarouss, Medina, Marrakech 45900, Morocco
+212 666-783362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 447 activities in Marrakech
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Welcome to Morocco and Marrakech!Maroc Excursions is specialized in organization of day trips, tailor made tours and tourist transportation based in Marrakech, Morocco since 1998. With its 15 years of experience, Hamid and his multilingual team is at your disposal to make your stay in Morocco as pleasant as possible taking you off the beaten track in the desert, High Atlas mountains or the Atlantic coast. Maroc Excursions offers its comfortable vehicles with A/C(4x4 or minibus) and a selection of renowned partners by offering a wide range of "all inclusive" services.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Expensive... Good guide, good driver”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Indeed, the driver drives safely and the guide is most helpfull and really wants you to have a great time. He takes care of his customers.
We also had lunch in a very lovely restaurant.
But the content of the excursion does not attempt the expactations of the "more value seeker". The office maroc excusions promises more content than they deliver. We had a visit of berber house (together with many other tourists who are paying less...), a visit of cooperative who produces oil (very basic, lot of people), a delicious lunch, a walk, waterfalls visit, drinks at the riverside, a stop in carpet shop on our demand.... I think we ve paid a lot for this delivery. What i recommend is, is that you prepare very well your trip, and explain what you want to see and how. I am sure they are willing to do so. Don't wait for their propositions. '

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babakul, Responsable commercial at Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear customer,

Thanks for the feedback about your trip. I am happy you appreciated the services of our guide and driver. I am also glad you liked the lunch that we have organised for you in the ayurvedic retreat in Oukaimeden instead of having it in one of the restaurants in Setti Fatma crowded with tourists.

I still wonder what is it that i have promised you in the office that you did not receive during the day trip as our guide has gone out of its way to please you: except bottled water which is included in our rates, he bought snacks and fruits for you, paid for your drinks(sodas, etc) as well as had a camel ride with one of your children so that you could all ride at the same time.

You came to our office to inquire about the day trip to Ourika valley for the following day. Note that it is high season in Morocco and normally we do not accept last minute reservations without a prior booking.

You were accompanied by 3 children and we have offered you 50% discount for the 2 of them and free of charge for the little one.

We always try to go the extra mile with our customers so when you asked us for an additional discount we have offered you camel ride free of charge.

As you'll see from the vast majority of our other reviews, we do take customer service very seriously and we have told you that Ourika is very touristic and that our guides will try to show you the least touristic places.

However I remember very well offering you the Three Valleys day trip which is a better choice if you do not like touristic places and you refused as it was more expensive. Thus, you did not take into consideration my advice and you also advice others not to which is not fair...

As for the Berber house, I have doublechecked with our guide and he told me you were the only ones inside the house at the time of your visit. However you mention other tourists "paying less"...in case you did meet other people and they told you they paid less, it is only logical that group tours are cheaper than individual tours like the one you had had, as the transport and guide costs are divided between the participants.

We are certainly not the cheapest way to discover Morocco but we're also a long way from the most expensive too! If you're looking for a one-stop place to get everything arranged before you set foot in the country, this is something we are very happy and able to do.

Hope to see you down in Morocco again and maybe organise another tour for you,

Kindest regards,

Maroc Excursions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Atlas Mountains Day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Trip adviser: Having just returned from Marrakech and referring to your website, we cannot thank you enough for recommending Maroc Excursions. We booked a trip to the Atlas Mountains and had a fantastic day trip. it made our trip to Marrakech and Hamad and Nordinne could not do enough on the trip, it was very interesting and great fun. We have travelled round the world to many places and have been on many trips, but this one has been one of the best. We would certainly recommend Maroc, and it was great value for money...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroc-Excursions, Responsable relations clients at Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Danny for your nice words. It was a pleasure to guide you here in Morocco. I hope to see you again soon in Marrakech. We are happy to make travelers have a nice experience, you are welcome anytime! see you soon I N S H A L L A H!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Plan ahead to get the best from your excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Maroc Excursions were very helpful in sorting out two excursions at relatively short notice. Anna in the office was great. But we should probably have asked for more advice than simply deciding on which tours to do, so we had one poor trip and one great trip.

1) Ouzood waterfalls - three hours to get there from Marakesh, with not a lot to see en-route. The falls are probably not worth the time it takes - although it may be different in the sun. Our guide/driver's English and knowledge was not great - I suspect because we booked at short notice. However, Anna keeps in touch and she organized another guide to meet us at the falls - although in the end the rain meant that this did not work out.

2) Ouarzazate and Atlas Mountains - this was a much better experience all round. Our driver Mustafa was very friendly and by Moroccan standards a courteous driver, although it seems mobile phone use while driving is the norm. Glad it was him driving when the rain hit on the way back. Our guide, Hussein, was very knowledgeable, spoke excellent English and got the balance just right on the level of detail provided.
The scenery and sites were amazing. It is a long day - 13 hours door to door with a lot of that time in the car. Indeed the film studios were pretty much closed when we got there and we chose not to go into the Aït Benhaddou, evidently it's the views of the site from a distance that are the most interesting. We'd advise not bothering with the studios unless your a film buff - might save an hour. Don't think we were excessive with the photo stops but there are some fantastic views.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babakul, Responsable commercial at Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear customers,

Thank you for your reveiw. It is a very useful one for our future customers as it explains why the day trip to Ouzoud waterfalls is not the best idea if you are having only a short stay in Morocco.

The weather during the trip mattered too as it was raining the whole day. Also you spent 6 hours on the route(3 hours/one way) and there aren't many sights to visit during this trip thus i imagine it must have been boring for you.

I am happy to know you liked the day trip to Ouarzazate as it os one of our bestselling excursions even if it is a long one. There are many sights on the route to visit thus you do not really feel bored or tired after this tour.

We are looking forward to welcome you in Morocco soon again!

Best regards,

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Morocco, Days Tours From Marrakech ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having read all the reviews on tripadvisor I contact Morocco excursions, they answered all my expectations, we had a great dessert as excursions in the mountains of Atlas, And the Essaouira city on the coast were very well eat fresh fish at the port. I RECOMMENDED to all travelers who wish to discover the beauty of Morocco to contact Hamid and his team always available to answer your dreams. Eric

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroc-Excursions, Responsable relations clients at Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we always try our travelers to have a real Moroccan experience. We work hard to achieve it, so it’ s a good new that you had fun and had a good time, welcome anytime!!! See you soon I N S H A L L A H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Day out in the Atlas Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My friend and I booked this trip through our Riad and were not disappointed. We had a super day out with our guide Khalid and driver Mubarak. They were both very friendly and Khalid was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. He told us a lot about the life and culture of modern day Morocco. Mubarak was a safe driver and we enjoyed practising our French with him. All in all, the trip was very good value for money. Unfortunately I couldn't manage the climb to the waterfall but we thoroughly enjoyed everything else, including the lunch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroc-Excursions, Responsable relations clients at Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks for choosing Maroc Excursions ! We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay in Morocco. You are always welcome to this wonderful country. Please come back to have a mint tea with us, see you soon I N S H A L L A H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maroc Excursions Private Day Tours to your Saves list