We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bikes Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AXS-Bike Marrakech

AXS-Bike Marrakech
Zone D'Amenage Touristique | Agdal Lot #5 Ourika IV #6, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
+212 622-278610
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$39*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come to Morocco and have an experience of a lifetime. Morocco provides breathtaking scenery and we will provide Xtreme customer service. We will also provide incredible Giant bikes for your riding pleasure. Whether you ride in the Atlas Mountains, Palmery, or in the city you will no doubt be happy you chose AXS. We are a family company that is Moroccan owned and registered.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Bikes Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hired a very nice well maintained Giant Defy Advanced, unfortunately the shop was closed on agreed pick up, but they arranged for someone to come back and open, told that they would be open the next day until 6pm but again closed, after calling Farouk, he came back and also dropped me of at my hotel which was excellent as the hotel was a good 20 minute drive.

Nothing too much trouble and Farouk promised a very good deal for the inconvenience next time I am in Morocco and I intend to return and take him up on it!! :)

Rode the 45km from Marrakesh to the Atlas mountains to Ourika valley which is doable on a a road bike, however next time I will hire a taxi which was around 50 Dirham (£4.50) to the foothills and cycle from there, as the road to the mountains is a bit of a slog.

Once in the mountains it was stunning, lots of shops for food and water or lunch if you require, roads get worse in the mountains but no worse than the UK! I would recommend the carbon fibre bikes as they iron out most of the uneven surfaces.

Overall had a fantastic day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJKtravels, Owner at AXS-Bike Marrakech, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your response, it's greatly appreciated! I apologize profusely on the shop not being open. I will find out why this happened and make sure it does not happen again.
We look forward to seeing you again and will make sure your experience with us is much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent set up with complete focus on the customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We did the Marrakech City tour on our first day as an orientation to the city. Farouk our guide was extremely helpful and entertaining giving us running commentary as we rode and stopping frequently for photo opportunities and so on. The navigation around the narrow streets whilst avoiding other cyclists, scooters and donkeys was interesting to say the least !

We had then booked to do the Altas mountain tour the following day but the weather was not suitable - the car met us at the pre arranged time and the potentially hazardous conditions at altitude were outlined to us in person. The company then made alternative arrangements so that we could do this tour on an alternative day to suit us. The tour was stunning as expected, the clear focus on both safety and customer satisfaction is a real credit to the team.

I am already thinking about my next trip to do some serious road cycling with these guys, cannot recommend enough.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJKtravels, Owner at AXS-Bike Marrakech, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the response. We pride ourselves on safety and customer satisfaction, so it's so very nice to hear you acknowledging that.
Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“City cycle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We decided to venture around the town on our first day and get a visual of the city. What better way than by bicycle.
We walked upto the cycle hire which was a good 40min walk from our hotel. On arriving at Agan Sports we were made so welcome. We enquired about the tour and within 10mins we were on our way as a tour was just about to go. We paired up with another couple which made the experience even better. We navigated the busy and at times harrowing roads and alleys, sampled the orange in the square visited many little treasures we would not have seen on foot.
After a good two and a half hours we arrived back and shared our experience having had a thoroughly enjoyable trip.
The guide (sorry forgot the name) was very humorous and knowledgeable.
The bikes were all of a good quality would thoroughly recommend for any one.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJKtravels, Owner at AXS-Bike Marrakech, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you kindly for the great review, it's appreciated!
Your guide was Farouq and I'll be sure to tell him that you enjoyed the bike tour.
Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked the City Tour for our first full day in Marrakesh, to see the sites and get acclimated. So wonderful! Yes, a bit harrowing to navigate the streets amidst cars, motorbikes, and donkeys - but the AXS team guided and protected us the entire time. Our guides (Farouq and CJ) were knowledgeable and accommodating. My 8 year-old son is a bit of a daredevil, and Farouq was beyond understanding about this. They really bonded, and I was confident that my boy was safe.
My husband was so impressed that he booked the Atlas tour for later in the week. We hung in there for 30 km... some better than others! It was an amazing day and the AXS team was super fun, accommodating, and professional. Cannot recommend it enough.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJKtravels, Owner at AXS-Bike Marrakech, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you kindly for the great response! I'll be sure to make sure Farouq and CJ know how happy they made you.
Farouq told me about the new friend he made during this biking adventure.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
“Flawless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

As two virtually inexperienced riders we were disappointed when our liesurely downhill trip in the Atlas mountains was cancelled owing to recent bad weather (very unusual for Morocco)! However, the guys from Argan put together a great city tour and palmerie tour for us. We got to see lots of amazing sights which many wouldn't get to see and Mohammed was a great guide and lots of fun. The total 5 hours of riding we did flew by and ended with us going to one of his personal favourite restaurants which was truly authentic Morrocan! Testament to the quality of the bikes is that neither of us ended the day with any aching limbs!

All of the team were very friendly and you can honestly say it's a family run affair which is reflected in their flexibility and open friendliness. If we come back we will definiately try to tackle the mountain again however, as happens in the UK, rain stopped play.

For two guys from Cambridge (one of the bike capitals of the U.K.) who hadn't ridded in yonks we are both thinking of getting back into the saddle so to speak.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of this year's season!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJKtravels, Owner at AXS-Bike Marrakech, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Wow, thank you so much for the response! We were disappointed in the routes not being accessible. With it raining so much, we sent out our guides the night before to access the routes. The mud packed to the tires, which made the tires slicks compared to gripping mountain tires. This can be dangerous. We're so glad you both were flexible for another option. We're also very glad you enjoyed that option!
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AXS-Bike Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to AXS-Bike Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AXS-Bike Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.