We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ride - great guides” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argan Xtreme Sports

Argan Xtreme Sports
Zone D'Amenage Touristique | Agdal Lot #5 Ourika IV #6, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
+212 622-278610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 465 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Come to Morocco and have an experience of a lifetime. Morocco provides breathtaking scenery and we will provide Xtreme customer service. We will also provide incredible Giant bikes for your riding pleasure. Whether you ride in the Atlas Mountains, Palmery, or in the city you will no doubt be happy you chose AXS. We are a family company that is Moroccan owned and registered.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ride - great guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My friend and I just took the "Enter the Atlas On Road" tour with Argan Extreme Sports. We were looking for some sightseeing and something a little more active outside of the hotel. This trip was perfect! As stated, it was great for "confident beginners." Neither of us ride regularly (actually hardly ever), but we are in OK shape. Hisham Ghourdmani was our tour guide and he was fabulous. Took us along at a pace that kept us moving but wasn't uncomfortable for any one. He really kept his eye on the group. We left for the ride at 9:00. It takes about an hour to get to the launch point. It's a very scenic drive, and CJ and Hisham can tell you all kinds of stories and fun facts on the way there and the way back. We were on the bikes by 10:15. We finished the ride at about 12:30. About 1/2 the ride is downhill, 1/4 is flat, and 1/4 is gradual hills. A couple of the hills may be a bit challenging if you don't ride often -- just give yourself some space between you and the next rider so you can get some momentum going and you can keep peddling up the other side. If you get stuck behind someone, and are not used to shifting, you may have to stop and walk your bike up the hill -- but it's not that far. -- and CJ followed the group all the way in the van, so if any one has problems, he can help, give you a ride or whatever. After the ride, we stopped at this great little Moroccan restaurant on the lake for lunch. We had salad, roasted chicked and vegetables tangine -- some of the best we'd had during the week. We were back at our hotel by 3:00 (you could stay longer and have a more leisurely lunch but we had to get back). Hisham and CJ were great and we'd definitely use them again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic family day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We did a one-day family mountain bike trip with our two boys ages 10 and 11. We are all beginners on real mountain trails although we are all good road bikers. The level of the ride was perfect -- some pushing of our limits but nothing that felt truly frightening. The bikes were top rate and very well maintained. Our guide was fantastic and set a good pace for us. The route took us through the mountains and some Berber villages, which gave us a much better sense of the landscape than any drive could. We would definitely book another trip with Argan on another holiday - Maybe a longer one next time!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome way to explore Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you're looking for a unique way to experience parts of Morocco that very few are lucky enough to experience, a trip with Argan Xtreme Sports is the way to go! The folks at Argan are first rate professionals and the entire day was extremely well organized - from the moment CJ and Hisham picked us up, we knew we were in for a great day. Argan is a small, family owned and operated business with impeccable customer service. They were extremely responsive in helping us book the perfect trip for our skill level (we're both advanced riders and avid triathletes) and provided beautiful Giant bikes that were perfectly maintained. Even though we had a great, challenging ride, they also provide on- or off-road rides for all skills levels. Based on our experience and those of almost every other reviewer here on TripAdvisor, I'm confident Argan would provide a memorable trip for anyone looking for a truly unique way to experience Marrakech or the surrounding Atlas mountains.

The only downside of our time with Argan was that we did their ride on our last day in Marrakech – we wished we had more time to do another trip with them. Thank you for an awesome trip Argan!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic Road Ride in the Atlas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I am fortunate enough to have ridden in the Alps, Provence and Mallorca and the day I had with Hamoud in the Atlas Mountains c/o Argan was right up there. 100k of tough but do-able riding, with some quite stunning views that I will not forget in a hurry. Bike (Giant Defy full carbon) was perfect for the job.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best views of Marrakech seen on the Bikes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I did both the Road biking trip as well as the off road mountain bike tour from the hotel.

I would very much recommend the mountain bike tour for any experience level. It was great fun and takes you on road as well as off road at a steady pace. We stopped to take photos in very scenic areas and went through villages I would not have seen on foot.

The 70km round trip road bike ride from the centre of Marrakech to the base of the mountains and back was the most enjoyable ride for me. I would recommend this to slightly more experienced riders with a good base fitness. It is a long ride with very beautiful and scenic views.

Overall the Argan extreme sports have a great company ethos and atmosphere. They are all the most friendly people and very approachable. I would recommend anyone that is interested in a biking tour, of any level to give them a call or visit their store when out in Marrakech so they can advise you on the best trip possible.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argan Xtreme Sports also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Argan Xtreme Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argan Xtreme Sports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;