We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family-run budget hotel, good location, great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Narjisse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Narjisse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Narjisse
101 Rue Oqba ben Nafiaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic family-run budget hotel, good location, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a small, family run budget hotel but for the price, you couldn't ask for a better location, service, or room. It's very conveniently located to the main Jemma el Fna square right outside of the medina wall and close to the royal palace. It's nice that it's not in the maze of the souks yet it's still very central and really close to everything. It's even more convenient if you do one of the many overnight tours out to the Sahara as the drop off point for the vans happens around the corner from the hotel. The hotel helped us book a 2 night 3 day tour to Ait Ben Haddou and the desert and the price was the same as all the tour hawkers around the square so you know they aren't overcharging. During our stay, we met the owner Hamid (an American so he speaks perfect English), a very warm and friendly English speaking woman who worked during the day, and a lovely French speaking gentleman who was there on the night shift. Hamid helped me make a reservation at a private hammam and also had recommendations for public hammams for my friend who wanted a more local experience. He's very caring and friendly, as is the woman who gave us a free map of the city and tips on where to go since we had arrived on a very last minute trip with minimal research. There's no breakfast at the hotel as there isn't a restaurant, but there are lots of cafes just down the street serving delicious Moroccan crepes and breads for about 5-10 dirhams (about 70 cents to $1.25) and the night market is a must try for dinner anyway! The rooms all have air conditioning, TVs, crisp clean sheets, and fluffy monogrammed towels. There are minimal amenities and the bathroom was small (just a shower with a curtain and no tub) but everything is very clean and again, it's definitely a great deal for the price. The bed was large and comfortable with free wireless even in the rooms and the decor of the common spaces was like a riad. I highly recommend this hotel for someone looking to save on hotel costs--you couldn't ask for a better mix of offerings!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street as it's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed for the second time in this hotel, and didn't regret it. Rooms are clean and beds confortable, very good location, you stay near Jemaa El Fna and many other atractions but no noise (street might look bit unsafe, but no worrys, it's just how it seems, not as it is). No breakfast at the hotel but no worry, there are plenty of nice cafes nearby where you can enjoy nice meals. The owners will receive you with open heart and advise you on everything you might need. Great wifi. If you are looking for a good oportunity in terms of price vs quality you should definitely book in this hotel. I will again next time i'm in Marrakesh.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor, less noisy than the first and not so hot as the third, Although the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This cute little hotel couldnt have been more perfect actually - a little hotel on a street you wouldnt normally choose but once you settle in, you feel right at home! So close to Place Jemaa El Fna yet the quietest hotel as all the windows face into their inner courtyard. Lovely tiled rooms, tastefully decorated, TVs and nice bathrooms with nice towels! Friendly manager who tried hard, even though sometimes we had language difficulties! Enjoyed this place so much we came back on the way back to Marrakech and stayed in the same rooms. Free tea and coffee, cute livingroom area in courtyard/lobby. Only drawback was they preferred cash even though they have Visa card written everywhere, so we had to press to use our credit card! But definitely plan to stay here again, best price and location! Also enjoyed the bar around the corner at the Grand Hotel Tazi, great terrace and no tourists! Hard to find booze in Marrakesh but check it out as well as La Salama Bar and Restaurant near Place Jemaa el Fna! Loved Morocco!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Hamid, the owner of this hotel, is one of the most helpful and kind men I've ever met. He arranged a well-priced rental car for me and my father and was a wealth of help and knowledge out of the kindness of his heart, very genuine and sincere. We stayed in a double room that was very warm and clean with excellent hot water. I felt safe and it was quiet; we both slept very soundly in the comfortable beds. It's also very conveniently located right next to Jemaa El Fna. I felt that I got an amazing value with this hotel, only paying a bit more than I would for a hostel bed and getting way more in return. Hamid is amazing and I recommend this hotel very highly!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel is just outside the medina, really close to place Jemma el Fna (5 minutes walk). So it is perfect location, since is outside the confusion of the medina but at very close walking distance from it.

Clean and confortable rooms, friendly staff, free tea and coffee available at all times. We didnt have any problems at all.

Strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is in a great position for exploring the city on foot being really near everything. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The owner is very warm and friendly and extremely helpful. The showers are simple but hot. There is tea and coffee available free all the time and there is an attractive comfortable public area.

Room Tip: We had three rooms and the quality was consistent. On the ground floor you can hear the comings and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Don't be disuaded by the dingy alley outside. The rooms are functional and clean, but nothing special. We met the owner who was very accomodating and friendly and american. Would recommend stall 114 in the square for entertainment value and delicious lamb. Say hi to ahmed the charmer. "That's the way, uh huh uh huh, I like it" -ahmed

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Narjisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Narjisse

Address: 101 Rue Oqba ben Nafiaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Narjisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Narjisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.