We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad to stay at in Marrakesh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Africa

Save Saved
You added Riad Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Africa
94 - 95 Derb Sakka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Riad to stay at in Marrakesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here at the start and end of a hiking trip into the Atlas mountains in Sept 2013. The manager was very attentive and even stood around during meal times in case we needed anything. The rooms were comfortable and had en-suite bathrooms. The pool in the centre of the Riad was a welcome sight after a long day of touring and a great way to escape the day's heat. The rooftop is pleasant and calm - great to have a beer up there. The location was great - quite near to the main square and easy to get to. Some great restaurants in the area. There is a barber nearby but i would say avoid him as we went there for a shave and he charged us double the going rate because we were tourists.
I would certainly recommend the Riad Africa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    26
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Riad Africa is an beautiful property and in a central location, it was really easy to find your way back to from the square once you know where it was. Tim, Said and all the other staff were lovely and always happy to help. The rooms were really nice and a good size, and the pool was a really huge bonus to be able to come back to after a warm day in marrakech! We did a number of excursions including a cooking lesson with Layla, which was really fun!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia, Cape Verde
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The atmosphere in this riad is just great. Tim the manager, Said (mr. No problem) and Mahammed were all very helpful and kind. Tim always have a good story from his long time experience in Africa.

The staff can help organizing one day trips as well as longer trips.

The riad itself is an oasis in the anarchistic Medina. Located close to major attractions, including the big square in the medina.

There is a lovely roof terrace and a small pool. Try the dinner prepared, it is absolutely worth the money.

The rooms are cool, even when it get hot outside.

The hot water works - sometimes you just have to wait a bit.

The breakfast is good, I would suggest though, that a piece of fruit was served as well.

Only downflip, is that the rooms on the groundfloor can be a bit noisy in the morning. They are next to the reception and the pool.

All in all I will not hesitate to recommend Riad Africa.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first flor might be less noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great staff, great location, fantastic roof terrace for getting away from the hustle & bustle of Marrakech. Tim & Said were terrific with information on where to go, how to get there, how much things should cost (if you are good at bartering) & where you can go for a glass of wine!
We also stayed at the sister accommodation Kasbah Africa in the High Atlas mountains, which was the perfect getaway after a busy time in Marrakech. Kasbah Africa was luxurious, beautiful, extremely good value & peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Tim, the Manager Said and Mahammed could not have done more for us - 5 minutes from main square, yet very quiet, great room, roof terrace, small pool. Great breakfasts and dinner. Lots to see and do.
Our Tips - change money on arrival or near Riad - 30% better than U.K.

Only critiscism - more observation as we had been warned previously, do not take guided tour of Marrakech. Guide only wanted to take us to his mates in the souks to sell us things - go on your own - Tim provided us with a gret map plenty to do and see.

Tim arranged trip to one of their sister properties in High Atlas Mountains - Dar Tassa - great - see review.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

a wonderful place to stay in Marrakech! Tim the manager was an excellent host and the staff were wonderful.
The location of the Riad could not have been bettered. I would thoroughly recommend the Riad Africa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having recently returned from our holiday i thought i would write a review for the first time. This Riad exceeded all expectations, on arrival we were greeted by the manager Tim who was a great guy who immediately put us at ease and his guys provided us with tea and showed us to our rooms. The room was on the ground floor, exactly what we needed, comfortable with its own bathroom.

We did not use the pool but there were a few people splashing around and i can see it being a great cool off in the summer.

In the morning we were treated to breakfast on the roof top, it is a great sun trap for a lazy afternoon and was great start to the day.

I would recommend this place to anyone and the Tim was great, his experience and knowledge of Marrakesh, Morocco and Africa is priceless.

So if you want a great place to stay with a great host then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has ten spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa’s most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, a local mobile phone (for contact with riad staff when out and about), bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, hammam, evening bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.