We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay in comfortable and welcoming riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Africa

Save Saved
You added Riad Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 5 more sites!
Riad Africa
94 - 95 Derb Sakka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleasant stay in comfortable and welcoming riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

After spending some time in other riads in Marrakech, we searched for the best combination of price and quality and we found it in riad Africa. The roof terras was beautiful, quiet and sunny with sunbeds and enough places for everyone to lounge. Our room was big enough, the beds/pillows were amasingly comfortable. The water pressure of the shower could've been higher, though its warm and the shower is clean and big. After a long day of walking we could always drink a cup of tea in our room. Tim the manager gave us really useful advice and showed us around. The rest of the staff is also dedicated and friendly. We had an amazing time. Thank you riad Africa!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    20
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great location (albeit a bit hard to find at first) to all the sites in Merrakech.
Rooms were fantastic for a room in the heart of the city and the service was exceptional. Tim and his staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

Definitely recommend Riad Africa! And if you do stay, order the meal at least once. The beef, prune tagine was very tasty.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My partner and I decided to visit Marrakech for a long weekend – we wanted somewhere that was a little bit different and warmer than the UK in February. Marrakech definitely fit the bill!

There are hundreds of Riads in Marrakech but we were both very happy with our choice. The staff were excellent, very attentive and suggested great places to eat and drink. The location was also great – a short easy walk from the Jemaa El Fna.

We took the advice from other customers and arranged a transfer from the airport. We were happy we did as on first glance the Riad is hard to find. However, once the manager Tim has personally shown you how to find the Riad from the main square you will never forget it and it is actually very simple to find.

We stayed in the Congo room which was spacious enough for the two of us with our cabin sized suitcases, the shower was always hot and the room was warm at night for a winter time stay.

The breakfast was plenty enough to set you up for a day exploring the Medina. We received croissants, bread, jams/butter, omelette, yogurts, freshly squeezed orange juice and plenty of tea and coffee. On our first night we pre-ordered dinner from the Riad kitchen, the food was to a good standard and the portion sizes were very generous. The Riad also has a selection of wine and beer on offer – the Moroccan rose took us by surprise and was actually very drinkable…

The roof terrace was very comfortable and peaceful and a great way to spend a warm afternoon in Marrakech. The Riad has a television downstairs with sports channels, if you so desire, which is next to a lovely log fire that is perfect for a chilly winters day (we were able to watch the 6 Nations and Premiership football).

Overall our stay at the Riad Africa was great and I would recommend it as a good place to stay in Marrakech. The staff worked exceptionally hard to make our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My family and I sepent 3 nights during the Christmas week in this Riad: when we arrived, they showed us the room, not in the part of the riad showed in the website, but in a smaller one. The room was really small with a tiny bathroom. We asked for another one and they moved us in a new room, as small as the first one, but with a bathroom a little bit more large, but it was impossible to close the door, since it was not fixed. The first morning we did not have hot water, and the manager told us that everything would be ok befor the evening. It was not. we did not have hot water for all the days we spent there. Moreover, the second afternoon I wanted to rest, but it was impossible since some men were working out of my room. I think it is not convenient to schedule works during christmas week (high season period). Also, they just made the beds but did not clean the floor of the room that, due to the works, was full of dust. Finally, since they told us to use the shower of another room in order to have hot water, we discovered that they assigned us a normal room, even if we paid for a superior room! we asked about it and they gave us a refund just for the difference, not for the fact that we sent 3 days without hot water. I suggest you to book another riad!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A traditionally designed riad, with a friendly relaxing atmosphere. In easy reach of all the must experience activities and sights.
Multi nationalist visitors combined with Tim, the managers, wealth of knowledge made our stay very enjoyable.
I'd recommend riad Africa to anybody.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Traveled in a larger group of 9 adults and 3 small children over the holidays. As has been mentioned, the location is great - an easy walk (and find) to Jemaa el Fna. Tim and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. One word - if you are traveling with small children the pictures do not lie - there is a good size pool in the middle of the courtyard. However, there is a comfortable lounge area off to the side that worked well for those periods when we needed to entertain our toddlers (outside of the room but away from the medina). The rooftop is also lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Riad Africa was a perfect location from which to explore Marrakech, it was a short walk to the palaces, the souks and the square.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, though rather small when you have two suitcases laid on the floor. The food for breakfast was excellent and you got plenty every morning.

There was a couple of issues with staff having very loud arguments within the hotel both on a morning and late evening which we found very unprofessional. Along with the fact that it was suggested by staff that the noise was from other residents at the hotel which was not the case.

Whilst the location and the rooms were really good, I wouldn't choose to stay there again because of the staff. Whilst they were friendly and accommodating, I do not wish to spend good money to hear them arguing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has ten spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa’s most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, a local mobile phone (for contact with riad staff when out and about), bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, hammam, evening bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.