We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad service: standard room when we paid for a superior room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Africa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Africa to your Saves list
Riad Africa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really bad service: standard room when we paid for a superior room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My family and I sepent 3 nights during the Christmas week in this Riad: when we arrived, they showed us the room, not in the part of the riad showed in the website, but in a smaller one. The room was really small with a tiny bathroom. We asked for another one and they moved us in a new room, as small as the first one, but with a bathroom a little bit more large, but it was impossible to close the door, since it was not fixed. The first morning we did not have hot water, and the manager told us that everything would be ok befor the evening. It was not. we did not have hot water for all the days we spent there. Moreover, the second afternoon I wanted to rest, but it was impossible since some men were working out of my room. I think it is not convenient to schedule works during christmas week (high season period). Also, they just made the beds but did not clean the floor of the room that, due to the works, was full of dust. Finally, since they told us to use the shower of another room in order to have hot water, we discovered that they assigned us a normal room, even if we paid for a superior room! we asked about it and they gave us a refund just for the difference, not for the fact that we sent 3 days without hot water. I suggest you to book another riad!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luRm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

A traditionally designed riad, with a friendly relaxing atmosphere. In easy reach of all the must experience activities and sights.
Multi nationalist visitors combined with Tim, the managers, wealth of knowledge made our stay very enjoyable.
I'd recommend riad Africa to anybody.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Traveled in a larger group of 9 adults and 3 small children over the holidays. As has been mentioned, the location is great - an easy walk (and find) to Jemaa el Fna. Tim and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. One word - if you are traveling with small children the pictures do not lie - there is a good size pool in the middle of the courtyard. However, there is a comfortable lounge area off to the side that worked well for those periods when we needed to entertain our toddlers (outside of the room but away from the medina). The rooftop is also lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAAandZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Riad Africa was a perfect location from which to explore Marrakech, it was a short walk to the palaces, the souks and the square.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, though rather small when you have two suitcases laid on the floor. The food for breakfast was excellent and you got plenty every morning.

There was a couple of issues with staff having very loud arguments within the hotel both on a morning and late evening which we found very unprofessional. Along with the fact that it was suggested by staff that the noise was from other residents at the hotel which was not the case.

Whilst the location and the rooms were really good, I wouldn't choose to stay there again because of the staff. Whilst they were friendly and accommodating, I do not wish to spend good money to hear them arguing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzzy534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The average rating is justified for this place. The plus is the good service from Tim and team, proximity to the square. The low points are the size of rooms, everything is slightly old and worn out. The menu options are limited.
Its very friendly and cozy. I would have given it a better rating if I had not stayed at another riad which are way better for the same price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SnehaBeriwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with 5 friends in 3 rooms spread across the riad. Giving a balanced review the staff make the place really friendly and can't do enough. Basic breakfast I can't have diary so they found me eggs. They were happy to walk loan females to taxi when we wanted to go out. They were happy to book restaurant and answer any questions at any time of the day. The riad is located very central so very easy to get to food places, tourist bus, souks etc all within few minutes walk.

I suggest not taking a room next to reception as if people are coming in and out or ringing bell at night you can hear everything. You may have to wait a little bit for hot water but rooms are clean and have all you need for a few days so wasn't a problem. We ate the free meal on the first night but there are much nicer and taster food in other places for a similar price. I would be happy to stay there again but wouldn't take small children as you can hear a lot from corridors so I would be worried they would annoy others even though I am sure hotel welcome all.

People in Morocco are friendly but you will be hassled to buy stuff or give money. Make sure you haggle hard and you ask others average price for things as you can be ripped off. Careful of people willing to direct you in souks they will get you really lost and charge you to get back to where you started. All these issues are really minor and are things to watch out for. Remember the riad is not the same as staying in a hotel it is a traditional family home turned into a B&B. If you like a traditional feel and friendly staff then definitely place for you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I was extremely impressed with the Riad Africa. It is located in an ideal location to explore the main attractions in Marrakech, most of which are within walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful and offered advice about where to visit and a map! Breakfast was included in the price of our package and it was an excellent start to the day!
One of the best features of the Riad Africa is the roof terrace which is spacious and quiet. Although there was some building work going on during our stay this barely disturbed us.
I really can't fault anything about the Riad Africa. I would highly recommend it and will return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzie930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#68 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing