We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base to explore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Africa

Save Saved
You added Riad Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Africa
94 - 95 Derb Sakka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good base to explore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Riad Africa was a perfect location from which to explore Marrakech, it was a short walk to the palaces, the souks and the square.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, though rather small when you have two suitcases laid on the floor. The food for breakfast was excellent and you got plenty every morning.

There was a couple of issues with staff having very loud arguments within the hotel both on a morning and late evening which we found very unprofessional. Along with the fact that it was suggested by staff that the noise was from other residents at the hotel which was not the case.

Whilst the location and the rooms were really good, I wouldn't choose to stay there again because of the staff. Whilst they were friendly and accommodating, I do not wish to spend good money to hear them arguing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    26
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The average rating is justified for this place. The plus is the good service from Tim and team, proximity to the square. The low points are the size of rooms, everything is slightly old and worn out. The menu options are limited.
Its very friendly and cozy. I would have given it a better rating if I had not stayed at another riad which are way better for the same price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed with 5 friends in 3 rooms spread across the riad. Giving a balanced review the staff make the place really friendly and can't do enough. Basic breakfast I can't have diary so they found me eggs. They were happy to walk loan females to taxi when we wanted to go out. They were happy to book restaurant and answer any questions at any time of the day. The riad is located very central so very easy to get to food places, tourist bus, souks etc all within few minutes walk.

I suggest not taking a room next to reception as if people are coming in and out or ringing bell at night you can hear everything. You may have to wait a little bit for hot water but rooms are clean and have all you need for a few days so wasn't a problem. We ate the free meal on the first night but there are much nicer and taster food in other places for a similar price. I would be happy to stay there again but wouldn't take small children as you can hear a lot from corridors so I would be worried they would annoy others even though I am sure hotel welcome all.

People in Morocco are friendly but you will be hassled to buy stuff or give money. Make sure you haggle hard and you ask others average price for things as you can be ripped off. Careful of people willing to direct you in souks they will get you really lost and charge you to get back to where you started. All these issues are really minor and are things to watch out for. Remember the riad is not the same as staying in a hotel it is a traditional family home turned into a B&B. If you like a traditional feel and friendly staff then definitely place for you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I was extremely impressed with the Riad Africa. It is located in an ideal location to explore the main attractions in Marrakech, most of which are within walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful and offered advice about where to visit and a map! Breakfast was included in the price of our package and it was an excellent start to the day!
One of the best features of the Riad Africa is the roof terrace which is spacious and quiet. Although there was some building work going on during our stay this barely disturbed us.
I really can't fault anything about the Riad Africa. I would highly recommend it and will return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Riad Africa was a refuge from the wonderful chaos of Marrakech! Radoun, the manager, met and welcomed my friend and me with mint tea and a ready smile. Our room (Zambezi), on the second floor, was small but adequate and the bathroom was spacious. The room was dark (probably because of the ceiling paneling) but who wants to spend time in the room except to sleep and then, darkness is helpful. We did enjoy having a coffee/tea pot so we could have tea in the room before breakfast. There was TV (which we never turned on) and a hair dryer as well. We spent our time at the Riad on the lovely rooftop (before our visit ended the resident cat had taken to snoozing in my lap while I wrote in my journal) and enjoyed the benches overlooking the central pool on our level (easier to get wi-fi there too). We had the key to our room and the key to the front door so we could come and go at any hour. We felt well provided and cared for but not smothered. The location is wonderful: a path to Jemaa El Fna (the central square) on one side and the Bahia palace and old Jewish quarter the other way.
I cannot say enough about the great staff. Everyone was kind and welcoming and tried to do everything they could to make it a great stay. Radoun went “above and beyond” in walking me (and my two bags—yes I bought rugs!) to the taxi stand in the morning, got me a taxi and told me in no uncertain terms what to pay. I would stay here again. The surroundings were pleasant but the people made it special

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Beautiful Riad....and would highly recommend...but we arrived at night...and the streets you go down to get to it seemed a little scary....with their high walls and quite narrow..and some rubbish/ bricks and rubble around and lots of cats......that said..you get there...and it is lovely.....like most places in Marraketch...you have no idea what lies behind the tall walls everywhere! Roof garden was very nice..if a little hot in the day time. Breakfast plentiful..although I am not sure croissants are traditional..they were very nice and freshly squeezed orange juice and delighted pancakes and yogurt. For a traditional experience..with some comfort as well..and only 5 mins from the main square....can highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We loved the roof terrace, our rooms were great, and the manager Redouan and his staff could not have been more attentive. We would have preferred a local style breakfast to croissants, and we found the three course dinner overpriced and underwhelming (there are many better places to eat just a short walk away).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has ten spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa’s most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, a local mobile phone (for contact with riad staff when out and about), bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, hammam, evening bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.