We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome from Riad Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Africa to your Saves list
Riad Africa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A warm welcome from Riad Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A friend and I recently travelled to Morocco. We chose to stay at Riad Africa based on the trip advisor reviews. We were welcomed by Redouan and made to feel very comfortable. We were expecting to be accommodated in a twin room and this was quickly modified by temporarily placing us in another room and was then rectified the following day. We found the room to satisfactorily accommodate our needs. We were located on the ground floor which I was led to believe by other guest a better option for full wifi connectivity.

The room was equipped with a small television (we didn't find the time to watch it), it had a safe in the wardrobe (could have easily been carried away and therefore should have been secured) and there were was no where to hang your wet towels or to place your shower toiletries. I would suggest travelling with a power board as there were limited power adapters to accommodate our need to charge multiple technology devices on a daily basis.

We found the Riad to be a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the streets and the souks. The pool area allowed for a refreshing cool down from the heat and the roof top a tranquil place for some sun bathing and reading.

The staff, in particular Redouan did everything possible to make us feel comfortable and to ensure that we felt like we were at home. He was keen to learn of our daily experiences and next adventures.

We found the location of the Riad in the Medina to be ideal. We stayed at Riad Africa twice during our visit to Morocco and stayed in the same room on both occasions. The second stay was unplanned. It was tucked away in a small lane which initially was difficult to find. And yes, as mentioned in some other reviews on some evenings it appeared a little dark, but as two female travellers we felt safe and the hotel did have torches available if need be.

The greeting drink, first dinner and breakfast were served with a smile ensuring that all could be done to make our stay comfortable.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable, comfortable and safe.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms have better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africanick, Owner at Riad Africa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for your comments and for choosing to stay at Riad Africa. We now have WiFi range extenders in the two areas of the riad where signal dropped off due to the 1 metre thick walls so all rooms should offer same signal strength. The safe is now attached so cannot be carried away. More hooks have been added to the bathroom of your room. The street light outside Riad Africa is serviced by Radeema, the local electric company - when a bulb blows it can take weeks to get fixed (this is Africa...) so we provide torches when requested. The Riad Zitoun Lakdim area around Riad Africa is safe though - even late at night. We are delighted our staff made your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to you staying with us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    32
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
43
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Well placed Riad near the main square, quiet and comfortable. Lovely pool and roof terrace ideal for escaping the busy city. We were well looked after by Redouin and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rooms comfortable, clean and with excellent air con.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Riad Africa was a good to average stay in Marrakech. The location was not the greatest as the Riad was located at the end of some really small, dark streets which didn't feel too safe at night, but Djema El Fna is within walking distance. The Riad seemed a bit dreary to us and there didn't seem to be too many other guests there when we were there. The breakfasts were average. We had dinner there one night and found it to be very expensive. The manager, Rithwan, tried to be friendly and helpful, but was often not able to give us good advice about restaurants, etc. The kids loved the small pool in the courtyard and used it every day to cool off after we had been walking around in the Marrakech heat for hours during the day.

Room Tip: Stayed in Lalibela suite which is very private and good if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Arriving in Marrakech for the first time is a strange and wonderful experience but with Nick and his colleagues at Riad Africa there to provide the welcome, you immediately feel at ease. The hotel itself is down a back street or two off the beaten path but very near the heart of the old city. Within its courtyard, there is a sense of calm with a relaxing atmosphere and staff who look after you very well. And if you get the opportunity, please sample the food - it's fantastic! Nick also arranged an excellent itinerary for us to go up into the High Atlas and Anti-Atlas Mountains with a guide and driver who were world class. We felt like missing old friends when we parted several days later. We had a five-star experience at Riad Africa - we're sure you will too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A peaceful oasis in the middle of the color and excitement that is Marrakech Riad Africa was a great accommodation choice. Radoun is an excellent host and goes out of his way to ensure the comfort of his visitors. All staff were absolutely delightful as is the Riad which is cool, comfortable and quite luxurious with an authentic Moroccan flare. Just beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Highly recommended place to stay. Great quiet location. Great staff. Good value. Riad is located in southern part of Marrakech close to Palais El Badi. Djema El Fna is within walking distance. Riad is a little difficult to find off main road (Rue Zitoun el Kadim) and it is best to arrive during day if first time. Staff were very friendly, attentive, and helpful, particularly Redouan. Breakfast and dinner at hotel were good. Riad is well kept although there are some minor things in room that would help such as a little more room lighting, towel hooks in bathroom, and soap stations in shower. None of these take away from the Riad as a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Riad Africa in Marrakech. From the minute we arrived the Riad has more than exceeded our expectations. As soon as you step through the door you are transported into a world of tranquillity away from the hustle and bustle of the streets of Marrakech. The lovely pool in the court yard with beautiful lounge music playing in the background is a great place to relax and cool down after a day out. The rooms are clean, spacious and beautifully decorated in traditional moroccan style whilst still having all mod cons. The one thing that does make this Riad stand out though is the staff especially Tod who really made us feel at home and couldn't have been more helpful.

Jana, London

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.