We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls holiday - fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Africa

Save Saved
You added Riad Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Africa
94 - 95 Derb Sakka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Girls holiday - fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at Riad Africa for my sisters birthday and eleven of us hired the whole Riad for a long weekend. Fantastic value with breakfast every day. The staff could not do too much for us, and were always there and helpful. Organised trips, anything we needed, they even picked us up from the airport and arranged food in the first evening. The rooms were spacious air conditioned and so clean. The Moroccan style bathrooms were amazing.. Some of the girls had some treatments which they really enjoyed. The centre court pool was a welcome at the end of the day, with a lounge to relax in. I highly recommend this to anyone and it is just a short walk to the main square. The staff even walked us there to make sure we were safe. Fantastic short stay and amazing staff and food.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the top room with access to the terrace was my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    26
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
32
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at Riad Africa for one night after a week trekking in the Atlas mountains although it was so enjoyable it felt like a lot longer. The rooms and general decor are of a very high standard and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Nick has done a fantastic job of renovating the place - care and attention has clearly been paid in all areas. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely and the free wi-fi was a bonus after a week 'offline'. We were made to feel extremely welcome and I will undoubtedly be back the next time I stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is a lot of choice when you are considering Riads in Marrakech but this one really does deliver.

We stayed after a week trekking in the Atlas and the welcome we received was fantastic. The whole group couldn’t quite take in the high standard of the place. Whether it was the; rooms, breakfast on the roof terrace, the friendly and attentive staff, location or just the overall ‘feel’ – everything just seemed to click into place.

It is close to the square yet far enough away to feel like a retreat from the hustle and bustle. The walk into the main square is as straight-forward as you are going to get in Marrakech and is along an interesting street with restaurants, stalls, etc.

I’m already planning to return with my partner. Thanks to Nick and the team.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here with a group after being in the atlas mountains for a week. On arrival we were blown away with the peace and tranquility of it all in the middle of marrakech. You would not realise what was just a short walk away. Rooms awesome. Staff great and had the pulse of the group right on arrival. Breakfast on rooftop garden completed an incredible stay. Nick and his team were brilliant and already planning a return with family

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Riad Africa is the perfect basein Marrakech and was thoroughly enjoyed by our expedition group after they'd spent a week in the Atlas mountains. The building is stunning and immaculate, the staff are welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The Riad is right in the heart of the city and yet you feel like you are in a different world once you leave the hustle and bustle of the city behind and close the door. I really couldn't recommend this riad highly enough and we'll certainly be returning with more of our teams next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My father and I really enoyed our time at the Riad Africa. Marrakech is an interesting city full of unique sights and smells (and tastes!) and it was great to experience them all and then return to a calm, serene spot at the Riad Africa.

The manager, Tod, and the other staff were all very accomodating and helped make the experience a wonderful and memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have just come back after spending 5 days with my sister at Riad Africa for my 40th Birthday and all I can say is Amazing!!! we fell in love with this place and it was lovely to be able to stay away from the chaotic and madness of the Jemma El Fna Square even though we were just around the corner. The staff and management could not do enough for us and were all really wonderful and actually are the one's that makes this place so special. We loved sitting on the terrace and just being able to relax and read and also just sit an chill out by the dipping pool. Tod who is the manager there was great in recommending and showing us some amazing cafe/restaurants which we would have not found ourselves. I could go on forever but I would highly recommend Riad Africa to anyone wishing to come to Marrakesh. I will definitely stay here again if and when I travel to Marrakesh in the future. It is home from home and such a calm and serene Riad.

Room Tip: The new Bwindi room on the ground floor is lovely it is right opposite the pool - it is a large twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has ten spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa’s most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, a local mobile phone (for contact with riad staff when out and about), bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, hammam, evening bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.