We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close enough to the centre but far enough away to retreat to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Africa to your Saves list
Riad Africa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Close enough to the centre but far enough away to retreat to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with a group after being in the atlas mountains for a week. On arrival we were blown away with the peace and tranquility of it all in the middle of marrakech. You would not realise what was just a short walk away. Rooms awesome. Staff great and had the pulse of the group right on arrival. Breakfast on rooftop garden completed an incredible stay. Nick and his team were brilliant and already planning a return with family

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    32
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
47
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Riad Africa is the perfect basein Marrakech and was thoroughly enjoyed by our expedition group after they'd spent a week in the Atlas mountains. The building is stunning and immaculate, the staff are welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The Riad is right in the heart of the city and yet you feel like you are in a different world once you leave the hustle and bustle of the city behind and close the door. I really couldn't recommend this riad highly enough and we'll certainly be returning with more of our teams next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My father and I really enoyed our time at the Riad Africa. Marrakech is an interesting city full of unique sights and smells (and tastes!) and it was great to experience them all and then return to a calm, serene spot at the Riad Africa.

The manager, Tod, and the other staff were all very accomodating and helped make the experience a wonderful and memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have just come back after spending 5 days with my sister at Riad Africa for my 40th Birthday and all I can say is Amazing!!! we fell in love with this place and it was lovely to be able to stay away from the chaotic and madness of the Jemma El Fna Square even though we were just around the corner. The staff and management could not do enough for us and were all really wonderful and actually are the one's that makes this place so special. We loved sitting on the terrace and just being able to relax and read and also just sit an chill out by the dipping pool. Tod who is the manager there was great in recommending and showing us some amazing cafe/restaurants which we would have not found ourselves. I could go on forever but I would highly recommend Riad Africa to anyone wishing to come to Marrakesh. I will definitely stay here again if and when I travel to Marrakesh in the future. It is home from home and such a calm and serene Riad.

Room Tip: The new Bwindi room on the ground floor is lovely it is right opposite the pool - it is a large twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had a brilliant few days here with my Mam and Sister in early September. I cannot say enough about both the staff and management at the riad who went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one, we were made to feel so welcome and at home during our stay. We ate at the riad on one of the evenings and the food was excellent. We had tanjia which we ordered the evening before and which was slowly cooked in the ashes at the community oven for 6 hours. Delicious. The dipping pool, as with the rest of the riad, was always spotlessly clean and was much appreciated to cool off in after sunbathing on the terrace. Value for money was excellent especially considering its proximity to the square and the souks. It was our first trip to Marrakech, which we had been a little apprehensive about, we now can't wait to return with the rest of our family in the new year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

12 girls went out to Riad Africa for a hen do this year and it was absolutely fantastic. We hired out the whole riad which I would probably suggest for larger groups as we got to choose what we wanted to do and when. The first night we ate on the roof terrace and they prepared some tajine's for us which was lovely, and having worked closely with the owner as well as the staff there, we arranged for a dancer to come during dinner and she arrived with a tray of candles on her head which was so unusual but really got everyone involved and having a great time!
The staff there are so very helpful, they really took care of what we needed to do. I had pre-arranged a lot of the trips and transport with Nick the owner who was absolutely brilliant considering how much we faffed around in the organising process. It all went so smoothly when we were out there and my sister was thrilled.
The Riad itself was so clean and well-maintained. When we first arrived we pulled up in a market area and had to get out and walk through it to the Riad, I was really nervous of what we'd let ourself in for but as soon as you walk in you feel like you're in the most peaceful part of Marrakech! It's so quiet and tranquil. Having never been to Marrakech before, we were unsure what to expect. I would definitely recommend doing it the way that we did, make sure you know some nice restaurants to go to and ask the staff to help you out in any way as they will go to great lengths to ensure you have a great time.
I am hoping to go back with girlfriends next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a fabulous week here with our 10 and 12 year old at the beginning of August staying in the Lalibelia suite. The Riad is gorgeous, with very glamorous fixtures and fittings and kept spotlessly clean as is the pool, which was properly big enough for the kids to enjoy. It was a lifesaver in the heat! The food we ate was fantastic, and very generous. The suite was well equipped with AC and a fan. The location was excellent being just a few minutes from lots of the sites and the staff couldn't have been any nicer or more helpful. Would come back here as a couple and do some of the day trips to the mountains or possibly the longer ones to the sahara at a cooler time of year.

My only very minor complaints, are that the bed had a firm surface and I think needs some sort of a topper pad and that the electrics around the tv in the suite need a look over.

Room Tip: If I was coming back as a couple I would choose a room on the 1st floor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africanick, Owner at Riad Africa, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us Bridget, and for your feedback. We will buy a topper for the mattress on the 4-poster bed and investigate the sockets next to the TV in the attached salon room. We hope to welcome your family back to Riad Africa one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#110 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#98 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#51 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Silsila
Dar Silsila
#141 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#42 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#120 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.