We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical 40th Birthday at Riad Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Africa to your Saves list
Riad Africa
94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magical 40th Birthday at Riad Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have just come back after spending 5 days with my sister at Riad Africa for my 40th Birthday and all I can say is Amazing!!! we fell in love with this place and it was lovely to be able to stay away from the chaotic and madness of the Jemma El Fna Square even though we were just around the corner. The staff and management could not do enough for us and were all really wonderful and actually are the one's that makes this place so special. We loved sitting on the terrace and just being able to relax and read and also just sit an chill out by the dipping pool. Tod who is the manager there was great in recommending and showing us some amazing cafe/restaurants which we would have not found ourselves. I could go on forever but I would highly recommend Riad Africa to anyone wishing to come to Marrakesh. I will definitely stay here again if and when I travel to Marrakesh in the future. It is home from home and such a calm and serene Riad.

Room Tip: The new Bwindi room on the ground floor is lovely it is right opposite the pool - it is a large twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
39
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had a brilliant few days here with my Mam and Sister in early September. I cannot say enough about both the staff and management at the riad who went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one, we were made to feel so welcome and at home during our stay. We ate at the riad on one of the evenings and the food was excellent. We had tanjia which we ordered the evening before and which was slowly cooked in the ashes at the community oven for 6 hours. Delicious. The dipping pool, as with the rest of the riad, was always spotlessly clean and was much appreciated to cool off in after sunbathing on the terrace. Value for money was excellent especially considering its proximity to the square and the souks. It was our first trip to Marrakech, which we had been a little apprehensive about, we now can't wait to return with the rest of our family in the new year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

12 girls went out to Riad Africa for a hen do this year and it was absolutely fantastic. We hired out the whole riad which I would probably suggest for larger groups as we got to choose what we wanted to do and when. The first night we ate on the roof terrace and they prepared some tajine's for us which was lovely, and having worked closely with the owner as well as the staff there, we arranged for a dancer to come during dinner and she arrived with a tray of candles on her head which was so unusual but really got everyone involved and having a great time!
The staff there are so very helpful, they really took care of what we needed to do. I had pre-arranged a lot of the trips and transport with Nick the owner who was absolutely brilliant considering how much we faffed around in the organising process. It all went so smoothly when we were out there and my sister was thrilled.
The Riad itself was so clean and well-maintained. When we first arrived we pulled up in a market area and had to get out and walk through it to the Riad, I was really nervous of what we'd let ourself in for but as soon as you walk in you feel like you're in the most peaceful part of Marrakech! It's so quiet and tranquil. Having never been to Marrakech before, we were unsure what to expect. I would definitely recommend doing it the way that we did, make sure you know some nice restaurants to go to and ask the staff to help you out in any way as they will go to great lengths to ensure you have a great time.
I am hoping to go back with girlfriends next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a fabulous week here with our 10 and 12 year old at the beginning of August staying in the Lalibelia suite. The Riad is gorgeous, with very glamorous fixtures and fittings and kept spotlessly clean as is the pool, which was properly big enough for the kids to enjoy. It was a lifesaver in the heat! The food we ate was fantastic, and very generous. The suite was well equipped with AC and a fan. The location was excellent being just a few minutes from lots of the sites and the staff couldn't have been any nicer or more helpful. Would come back here as a couple and do some of the day trips to the mountains or possibly the longer ones to the sahara at a cooler time of year.

My only very minor complaints, are that the bed had a firm surface and I think needs some sort of a topper pad and that the electrics around the tv in the suite need a look over.

Room Tip: If I was coming back as a couple I would choose a room on the 1st floor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africanick, Owner at Riad Africa, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us Bridget, and for your feedback. We will buy a topper for the mattress on the 4-poster bed and investigate the sockets next to the TV in the attached salon room. We hope to welcome your family back to Riad Africa one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed in the Lalibela Suite - family of 4. Great room with a local feel in the furniture and fittings and the two rooms were ideal for a family. The location was ideal for us close walking distance to the sights and Souks - even in the August weather - although the alleyways around the hotel were very dark with no street lighting in places and our one tip would be pack a small torch. Booked directly from the website which was friendly and helpful despite me making a mistake in initially accidentally requesting the wrong dates. Many Thanks to Radounewho was a great host and Todd for a creating a calm oasis in the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africanick, Owner at Riad Africa, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Many thanks for spending the time to write a review - we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay at Riad Africa. Following your comment about the alleyways around the riad being dark, rather than guests taking their own torch - we will buy some dynamo-torches for each bedroom for guests to use and will install additional wall lights on the external wall leading to the front door of Riad Africa. On the two access streets leading to Riad Africa there are a couple of street lamps but the bulbs are sometimes blown and take a while to be replaced. Thanks again for your feedback - Nick Anstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Beautiful place, fabulous location - felt safe, secure and extremely well cared for by the staff who couldn't do enough for us. So quiet and tranquil, yet only a stone's throw from the hussle and bustle of the city. Good food, romantic setting for a couple - but would happily take my young family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at Riad Africa in May and absolutely loved it. It was our first trip to Marrakech and this was the perfect place to stay. In such a great location, yet absolutely tranquil amongst the bustle of the city. The roof top terrace, pool and rooms were all beautiful. The staff were very friendly and very helpful, and the spa was lovely (all 4 of us were introduced to the delights of a hammam!) I'm hoping to go back to Marrakech next year and will definitely stay there again. Thanks for such a wonderful introduction to such an amazing city! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.