We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Majala

Riad Majala
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Majala
Save Saved
You added Riad Majala to your Saves list
72, derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Riad Majala is tucked inside the Medina, yet is very quiet. While it is a bit of a trek from the closest road open for auto traffic, we were able to find our way by following left turn, right turn, left, right...etc. The rooms were comfortable, and the baths were very nice. While not super upscale, it served our purposes nicely. We slept peacefully there and enjoyed the attentive care provided by both the day and evening house keepers. One night we requested a dinner made by the house keeper, which was fresh, lovely and delicious. It was perfect after a hot, tiring day to dine peacefully in the courtyard. And the cost was very reasonable, especially compared to some of the mediocre tourist trap restaurants nearby. We look forward to returning to this small, peaceful riad.

Room Tip: Upstairs room on the side- less sunny, and therefore cooler, in late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
249 hotel reviews
Reviews in 235 cities Reviews in 235 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Apparently this building is not a restored old riad, it is all new. Rooms are large, well equipped and very clean. Bathrooms have good showers and are clean, as well. The riad is located in the thick of things, but at the end of a small maze of alley and therefore it's quiet. Breakfast was good, too. We had dinner at the riad, one night. It was OK, but nothing to rave about as other reviewers did. Maybe the chef changed...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I wrote a review about our wonderful stay here on the sight for Riad Majala's sister riad (Riad Magellan), but wanted to add a specific review and recommendation regarding the dinner we had at Riad Majala. We had arranged for a private dinner at the Riad the night we arrived, BEST IDEA EVER. The setting was beautiful, the food was simple but incredible and it was nice at least for the first night to return to the tranquil walls of the riad for dinner instead of searching for a place while still getting acclimated to the city. I believe the meal was less than 50 euro, but regardless of cost the food was wonderful, definitely the best meal during our week stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Perfect location, half way between the souks and Jemaa El Fnaa; there is a somewhat intrepid 3 minute walk from the main street to the riad, down tiny alleyways and one especially dark tunnel. This does mean it's nice and quiet. Opt for an airport taxi; a car will drop you a 5 minute walk away and a man with a trailer will take your bags to the front door.

My girlfriend and I were there out of season (in early March) and were the only people staying, so I can’t comment on what it’s like having other guests around. It is relatively new, and as you can see from the number of reviews here it is less well known compared with other riads which have hundreds of reviews.

An excellent, filling breakfast is included: fresh fruit & yoghurt, bread and jam, tea, coffee & juice and a further option that changed every day (pancakes & banana cake were the best.) It is served on the roof terrace, which is surrounded by the greenery of a royal garden. We were told by Philippe, the owner of another riad (Magellan) that this was unique and that all other riads have views of other buildings. It's a really lovely spot.

Youssef was very friendly, spoke good English and was on hand at all hours to help us work out what to do each day: which hamman to go to, the best time to visit Jardin Marjorelle, how much we should expect to pay for all kinds of things, which food stalls to chose in the main square. Day trips to Essouira and Ourika Valley can also be arranged.

The room was very clean and tidied every day, as was the whole riad. The bathroom and shower were also very good, though I should add that, while I got a hot shower every time, I never really understood how!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Everywhere you go in Marakesh, you are asked 'where you from' and after you tell them the same response 'big welcome'. The people here in general are kind and generous and specifically that is the case at Riad Majela. The website description of the riad and its location is accurate; it is a quiet oasis amid the delightful chaos of the medina and one we returned to to regroup during the day. Youssef welcomed us each evening and each morning,served delicous, simple breakfasts on the roof terrace and brought us cold beers when we returned shattered after a hard day of getting lost. I would return to this lovely location if I were lucky enough to be back in Marakesh.

Room Tip: If you are big on locking doors and high level seurity, the curtained doorway and no keys to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days and had a wonderful experience. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They even walked us to the local hammam to make sure we didn't get lost. Rooms were well equipped and very pretty. Great breakfast. Riad is very good value for money. Would recommend the airport pick up as it is in heart of medina and hard to find. Roof terrace is perfect for chilling after a day in the medina!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

An excellent Riad right in the heart of Marrakech Medina. We had arranged an airport transfer throught the hotel and right from being met at Arrivals we felt we were really being looked after. An excellent meal was waiting for us on our arrival and the room was beautiful, with the comfiest bed!
The manager suggested some restaraunts for our second night and we weren't disappointed with some excellent tagines and couscous at a small place at Djemma el Fna that we would probably have overlooked.
In summary an excellent Riad and a little bit of affordable luxury.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Majala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Majala

Address: 72, derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Medina in the charming and sought after Mouassine district, the Riad Majala provides an oasis of peace and tranquillity. A total restoration and refurbishment was completed in 2011, providing all modern comforts, whilst preserving all the historical and cultural features of a traditional Riad. In this exquisite setting the staff at Riad Majala will warmly welcome you and ensure that your stay here is truly memorable. In this calm setting, just a 5 minute stroll to the place JEMAA el FNA and to the avenue Mohamed V, your stay at the Riad Majala will enable you to enjoy all the aspects of the Medina. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Majala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.