We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn’t ask for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Majala

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Majala
Save
You added Riad Majala to your Saves list
72, derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Couldn’t ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Perfect location, half way between the souks and Jemaa El Fnaa; there is a somewhat intrepid 3 minute walk from the main street to the riad, down tiny alleyways and one especially dark tunnel. This does mean it's nice and quiet. Opt for an airport taxi; a car will drop you a 5 minute walk away and a man with a trailer will take your bags to the front door.

My girlfriend and I were there out of season (in early March) and were the only people staying, so I can’t comment on what it’s like having other guests around. It is relatively new, and as you can see from the number of reviews here it is less well known compared with other riads which have hundreds of reviews.

An excellent, filling breakfast is included: fresh fruit & yoghurt, bread and jam, tea, coffee & juice and a further option that changed every day (pancakes & banana cake were the best.) It is served on the roof terrace, which is surrounded by the greenery of a royal garden. We were told by Philippe, the owner of another riad (Magellan) that this was unique and that all other riads have views of other buildings. It's a really lovely spot.

Youssef was very friendly, spoke good English and was on hand at all hours to help us work out what to do each day: which hamman to go to, the best time to visit Jardin Marjorelle, how much we should expect to pay for all kinds of things, which food stalls to chose in the main square. Day trips to Essouira and Ourika Valley can also be arranged.

The room was very clean and tidied every day, as was the whole riad. The bathroom and shower were also very good, though I should add that, while I got a hot shower every time, I never really understood how!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Everywhere you go in Marakesh, you are asked 'where you from' and after you tell them the same response 'big welcome'. The people here in general are kind and generous and specifically that is the case at Riad Majela. The website description of the riad and its location is accurate; it is a quiet oasis amid the delightful chaos of the medina and one we returned to to regroup during the day. Youssef welcomed us each evening and each morning,served delicous, simple breakfasts on the roof terrace and brought us cold beers when we returned shattered after a hard day of getting lost. I would return to this lovely location if I were lucky enough to be back in Marakesh.

Room Tip: If you are big on locking doors and high level seurity, the curtained doorway and no keys to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days and had a wonderful experience. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They even walked us to the local hammam to make sure we didn't get lost. Rooms were well equipped and very pretty. Great breakfast. Riad is very good value for money. Would recommend the airport pick up as it is in heart of medina and hard to find. Roof terrace is perfect for chilling after a day in the medina!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

An excellent Riad right in the heart of Marrakech Medina. We had arranged an airport transfer throught the hotel and right from being met at Arrivals we felt we were really being looked after. An excellent meal was waiting for us on our arrival and the room was beautiful, with the comfiest bed!
The manager suggested some restaraunts for our second night and we weren't disappointed with some excellent tagines and couscous at a small place at Djemma el Fna that we would probably have overlooked.
In summary an excellent Riad and a little bit of affordable luxury.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011 via mobile

Great Riad with great food and very friendly informative people

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was out first time to Marrakech and Raid Majala helped make it a wonderful one to remember.

The Riad is situated near the Souks, down what can only be described as a maze of dark and narrow alleyways. I won't lie it was a little scary in the dark with a baby in the buggy. But DON'T let this put you off, for a palace awaits behind the wooden door.

We arrived late and had pre-booked a dinner. It was a very good meal. Just what was needed after our flight.

The Riad Consists of a number of rooms around a central courtyard. Our room was very clean and even had a cot for our daughter. Noise carries far, but all Riads are like this so it's not really a complaint, more an observation.

The staff in the Riad are very very good. Friendly, Helpful and in general always on hand if you need them.

The Majala also features a nice, split level roof garden. With a plunge pool, a Sauner and a covered area for when it gets that bit too hot. Inside there is a Lounge with a large TV and a dining area. You can also dine in the courtyard.

Location wise, You are right in the thick of the old town, The main square, the Souks and many other attractions are only a few minutes walk away (if you don't get lost).

In summary, this is a very good Riad. I would recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Majala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Majala

Address: 72, derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Medina in the charming and sought after Mouassine district, the Riad Majala provides an oasis of peace and tranquillity. A total restoration and refurbishment was completed in 2011, providing all modern comforts, whilst preserving all the historical and cultural features of a traditional Riad. In this exquisite setting the staff at Riad Majala will warmly welcome you and ensure that your stay here is truly memorable. In this calm setting, just a 5 minute stroll to the place JEMAA el FNA and to the avenue Mohamed V, your stay at the Riad Majala will enable you to enjoy all the aspects of the Medina. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Majala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.