We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden getaway from crowds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cherihane

Save Saved
You added Riad Cherihane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Cherihane
42,derb j'did Bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Hidden getaway from crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Riad with family atmosphere, with extremely helpful staff, very clean and comfortable place to stay, indeed. We've enjoyed the room, breakfast, free wi-fi and most of all the roof top terrace. It's a bit off most hectic part of medina and I must admit that after sunset it was not so easy to find. But we were offered airport transfer, and I definitely recommend to take it to avoid leeching local "guides", which "surely know" when this Riad is based... but this is not fault of this lovely Riad at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you are looking for a fancy riad, this is not the place to go. But if you want a home away from home, then this is it. The living spaces are not like a hotel but more of a very nicely done home. There wasn't a nice open courtyard to hang out in unlike another Riad we stayed at. However, this was compensated by the bedroom being the best we stayed in during our trip. Nice comfy bed and beautiful bathroom as well. Nezha was quite friendly and very helpful. Alain was not very friendly but we assume that it is because he does not speak English. In general though, it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Karima double room and loved it. Would recommend that to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2013 and loved it. The riad is beautifully decorated in traditional Morrocan style and run by a French couple who are very hospitable. Our room was immaculate and well equipped. Breakfast was delicious and Nezha cooked a wonderful traditional meal for us on our first night. I am pleased we decided to book the 12 euro transfer as I am sure we would not have found it otherwise so please don't try to save money by making your own way there, its really not worth it. Its a decent walk into the main square but it was nice to be tucked away somewhere quit and peaceful. All the tourist attracations are situated nearby. I can highly recommend this property if you want to be where it all happens in this wonderful cultural city!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Iona, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Hidden away in a narrow alleyway Riad Cherihane is a wee gem - run by a very friendly young couple who will have spent time and effort to make this place an experience to stay.
Our room was spacious and very clean, with lovely decor.
We had breakfast (amazing Moroccan flat bread, jams, croissants, fresh orange juice and coffee) in the tastefully decorated lounge. The artwork exhibited throughout the house is very varied and refreshing to study.
We loved the terrasse - full of plants, little pots of herbs, comfortable seating and amazing views over the city and to the Atlas mountains.
The riad is quite well situated - with Djeema el Fna being about 10 - 15 min walk away, and other Marrakech landmarks quite nearby. Definatly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartt99
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This Riad is run by Alain and Nezha one of the nicest couples we have met on our travels.

This is a beautiful home with lots of little touches to make your stay feel special.

We arranged to be picked up from the airport for EUR 12 which was effortless. This is the best approach as the Riad may be a little hard to find on a first visit.On arrive we were offered mint tea and pastries which were very acceptable.We stayed for 4 nights in two different rooms of which both were very comfortable and clean.

Breakfast was included in our stay which was a selection of pastries, tea ,coffee orange juice, ect which was served in the lounge or on the roof terrace in the warmer months.

We would highly recommend staying here as both Alain and Nezha were excellent hosts. It has has a very relaxed atmosphere and both were on hand when needed.

The Riad itself is about a 20 minute walk through the Souks to the main square with lots to see and buy on the way.

We highly recommend this Riad and would not hesitate to stay again on our next trip

Room Tip: In the colder months choose a room in the middle of the Riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This riad is just lovely, with lots of small touches in decoration combining to make an amazing ambience in both the communal rooms and the bedrooms. The owners have a wonderful eye for aesthetics. The bed was large and comfortable, the room very dark at night. I have problems sleeping normally but slept really well all 3 nights I stayed here. The breakfasts were a selection of pastries every day which were nice, but some fruit or hot food would have been a nice touch. The rooftop terrace where they pipe out relaxing music is a wonderful place to watch the sun go down and listen to the calls to prayer at the end of the day, it feels very spiritual.

If you do book with this riad, please get in touch with the owners beforehand as we got totally lost and had a bunch of undesirable local young men take us into what felt like a trap and we had to seek refuge in a local shop where they phoned the riad on our behalf to come and pick us up. I would also say the riad is more like 30 minutes' walk from the Jemaa al Fna square. But overall this is astonishingly good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

You cannot find this riad by yourself. There is no riad sign. Owner has to come to a nearby square to guide you. Lady owner has artistic flair and rooftop terrace is a lovely garden to sit and relax. Breakfast provided was poorest of all breakfasts we had in three weeks travel in Morocco. Scott33

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Cherihane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherihane

Address: 42,derb j'did Bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cherihane is a cosiness house ,quiet and combining modern and tradition, it offers you a quality accommodation. Its ideal location in one of the best squares in the Medina, offers proximity to the all importants monuments of the city. this Riad has 5 beautiful heated and air-conditioned rooms, quiet and refined with king size beds 180/200 inviting you to relax ...Its magnificent high terrace with a beautiful garden in flower where you can enjoy your breakfast or diner with the 360° view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Budget Places and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Cherihane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cherihane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.