We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar White

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Dar White to your Saves list
Riad Dar White
98 Derb Hammam | Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“Great location, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Riad Dar White in late December. This was our first time in Marrakech and our first experience staying at a riad, so we didn't know what to expect. Dar White exceeded our expectations and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a luxurious, quiet, safe haven in the bustling Medina of Marrakech.

A week or so before arriving we contacted the Riad to request a driver to/from the airport. This was a great thing because it would have been very challenging finding the place on day 1 with our luggage. Upon arrival, Jean and Hisham greeted us. Right off the bat we felt welcome and excited for our stay. Throughout our stay the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Hisham and Kamal gave us wonderful recommendations to restaurants/shopping/hammans. Each day we had a packed itinerary (thanks to their great insights).

The breakfast at the riad was consistently delicious; each day with a slight variation. Plenty of different kinds of breads, yogurt, tasty fig and other exotic jams/spreads. Their mint tea is very tasty too. The Riad is in a great location close to many of the attractions.

We hope to travel back to Marrakech someday, and hope to stay at Riad Dar White the next time!
Jean, Hisham, Kamal - thanks for your hospitality, you helped make our trip truly special :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
37
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were welcomed to Dar White by the lovely Hicham with open arms and a huge smile, this was just the start of such a warm and wonderful stay with the "family" of Dar White. The staff of Dar White went above and beyond the call of duty to make our visit to Marrakech perfect.

Excellent resturant and bar reccomendations (Le Foundouk, Jack is Back, KosyBar), advice and directions. There is a staff member there 24 hours a day. One of the staff members, Kamil took us, in his personal time, to a reputable argan oil merchant so we wouldn't be ripped off. (on Bab Agnaou). Jean-Pere, the owner, kindly went all the way to a restaurant in the Nouvelle-Ville to leave a deposit on our behalf so we wouldn't miss out on a New Years Eve reservation.

Breakfast was served at any time of the day, we chose to have our on the terrace in the glorious morning sunshine, yummy cake, pancakes, yoghurt, bread, cream cheese, jams, excellent coffee, orange juice, TOO much delicious food!

We spent a morning in the jakuzzi and on the sun lounges on the rooftop, so nice to have such a luxury in winter in Marrakesh, as its not quite hot enough to appreciate an un-heated plunge pool!

The cleanliness is oustanding, one of the cleanest small boutique style accomodations I have EVER stayed in. It is quite clearly a focal point for them. The linen was new and crisp, the bathroom immaculate and the floors spotless.

The rooms were on the smaller side, but I believe this would be the case across most Riad's in Marrakech, the Riad's are a luxurious "home away from home" not a grand hotel. The size of the room didn't bother us, especially considering there are so many other areas of the Riad to enjoy, the rooftop for breakfast in the sunshine, and the lounge and fireplace downstairs for a little pre-dinner drink-perfect!

The location is excellent! Actually the map on Trip Advisor in incorrect, so probably best to get Jean Pere to organise the driver to pick you up from the airport rather than trying to use a map to get here. Once you've arrived, its is easy to navigate your way around. Marrakesh is an excellent walking city, flat and actually quite a small city, you can walk EVERYWHERE.

Dar White is about 10 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna, 1 minute to the Saadian tombs, 5 minutes to the El Badi Palace and 1 minute to Les Bains de Marrakech. Les Bains de Marrakesh is probably the most expensive hammam, but so clean, and professional we thought it was worth the 550MAD. (cheaper ones are approx 300MAD, but can be dirty).

This clean, modern, bright Riad was a lucky find! We will most certainly be recommending Dar White to all our friends.

Good luck to Jean Pere, he seems to be leading the way in fine boutique accomodation in Marrakech. Thank you again for such a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: I believe it is always best to stay on the second level of a Riad as it is usually brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our first visit to morocco & we where recommended to stay at Dar White or Dar One.We where blown away with Dar White.Its clean,quiet & very well looked after.Our room on the second floor was comfortable & done to a very high standard.So much better than a hotel breakfast can be taken at a time to suit you on the roof terrace even in january is perfect.Hicham looked after us every day with arranging taxis,restaurant recommendations,guides.This was the perfect start to our holiday & we are looking forward to going back hopefully with some of our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just stayed at Riad Dar White and loved it. It's small - just four rooms - but the standard is amazing. The hotel is tucked away in a side alley, perfectly located for Les Bains de Marrakech and not far from Jemma al Fna. The rooms are done to a very high standard - clean, lovely furniture, excellent bathrooms and comfy bed. The staff really make the hotel - Jean (the owner) responds to mails quickly and his day and night staff are brilliant. Hicham makes you feel as though anything is possible and can arrange almost anything as soon as he picks up the phone. Breakfast is fabulous - you can have it anytime you like and anywhere in the hotel (I recommend the terrace). Gorgeous yoghurt, coffee, and fresh breads (we loved the cinnamon-y eggy bread ones). There is a lovely jacuzzi on the terrace and the bedrooms have shutters that blocked out the light completely (perfect for sleeping in!) The hotel is marvellous - the service, attention and staff are what really set this hotel apart. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to any friends and family.

Room Tip: We had Portofino on the third floor - a long narrow room but really comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have rarely been so well looked after. I read a few reviews of this Riad and its sister, Dar One and they all said how spectacularly good the service was and they weren't wrong. The place was really well designed, with lots of modern furniture and fittings, but also very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty special too. Every morning they produced a huge spread of food, from pancakes to fresh orange juice, honey drizzled pastries, a fantastic drink of cucumber and milk (which sounds horrid, but believe me, was anything but), toast, fresh coffee etc. It was slightly different each time and was regularly the best meal of the day!

It was very well located, Its important to have a haven of peace and tranquility in the madness that is Marrakech and that's exactly what it provided. The staff took time to help us find the best places to see and to eat and I am definitely planning to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this small riad for just 2 nights - wish we could have stayed longer. The location is convenient, about a 10-minute walk from the Djemna el Fna, the main plaza. What really makes this place great is the personal service. From the owner Jean, who took the time to stop in and introduce himself, to the wonderful cook and the guys who arranged our outings, it was first class! We took dinner on the terrace our first night. It ended up being our favorite meal of our stay in Morocco! The entire place is SPOTLESS and quiet. The only downside I could think of is that the rooms are a bit dark and have a closed-off feeling. I suppose this is due to the architecture of riads, with the whole internal courtyard thing, but my partner found this conducive to getting good sleep. You have hundreds of choices for places to stay in Marrakech - you will not be disappointed if you choose this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haddon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

8 of us booked all 4 rooms out for a 40th Birthday weekend trip. The staff accommodation and staff were tremendous! Nothing was too much trouble - our own "staff" of 3 for the weekend made it feel truly luxurious! Great authentic cooked dinner on the first night and drinks delivered by waiter srevice onto the rooftop terrace - fantastic!

Room Tip: There one room on the ground floor and 3 on the 1st - all were graet bt we'd go for one on the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar White

Address: 98 Derb Hammam | Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar White is a new very design and contemporary riad very well located in the Kasbah area in front of the King palace, 5 mn from Jemma el Fna (main square). You'll enjoy it great terrace with a bar and a jaccuzzi. Try a unic experience in a riad that could be your home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar White reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar White, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.