We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar White

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar White to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar White
98 Derb Hammam | Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just stayed at Riad Dar White and loved it. It's small - just four rooms - but the standard is amazing. The hotel is tucked away in a side alley, perfectly located for Les Bains de Marrakech and not far from Jemma al Fna. The rooms are done to a very high standard - clean, lovely furniture, excellent bathrooms and comfy bed. The staff really make the hotel - Jean (the owner) responds to mails quickly and his day and night staff are brilliant. Hicham makes you feel as though anything is possible and can arrange almost anything as soon as he picks up the phone. Breakfast is fabulous - you can have it anytime you like and anywhere in the hotel (I recommend the terrace). Gorgeous yoghurt, coffee, and fresh breads (we loved the cinnamon-y eggy bread ones). There is a lovely jacuzzi on the terrace and the bedrooms have shutters that blocked out the light completely (perfect for sleeping in!) The hotel is marvellous - the service, attention and staff are what really set this hotel apart. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to any friends and family.

Room Tip: We had Portofino on the third floor - a long narrow room but really comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
36
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have rarely been so well looked after. I read a few reviews of this Riad and its sister, Dar One and they all said how spectacularly good the service was and they weren't wrong. The place was really well designed, with lots of modern furniture and fittings, but also very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty special too. Every morning they produced a huge spread of food, from pancakes to fresh orange juice, honey drizzled pastries, a fantastic drink of cucumber and milk (which sounds horrid, but believe me, was anything but), toast, fresh coffee etc. It was slightly different each time and was regularly the best meal of the day!

It was very well located, Its important to have a haven of peace and tranquility in the madness that is Marrakech and that's exactly what it provided. The staff took time to help us find the best places to see and to eat and I am definitely planning to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this small riad for just 2 nights - wish we could have stayed longer. The location is convenient, about a 10-minute walk from the Djemna el Fna, the main plaza. What really makes this place great is the personal service. From the owner Jean, who took the time to stop in and introduce himself, to the wonderful cook and the guys who arranged our outings, it was first class! We took dinner on the terrace our first night. It ended up being our favorite meal of our stay in Morocco! The entire place is SPOTLESS and quiet. The only downside I could think of is that the rooms are a bit dark and have a closed-off feeling. I suppose this is due to the architecture of riads, with the whole internal courtyard thing, but my partner found this conducive to getting good sleep. You have hundreds of choices for places to stay in Marrakech - you will not be disappointed if you choose this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haddon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

8 of us booked all 4 rooms out for a 40th Birthday weekend trip. The staff accommodation and staff were tremendous! Nothing was too much trouble - our own "staff" of 3 for the weekend made it feel truly luxurious! Great authentic cooked dinner on the first night and drinks delivered by waiter srevice onto the rooftop terrace - fantastic!

Room Tip: There one room on the ground floor and 3 on the 1st - all were graet bt we'd go for one on the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Dar White in September with family, wonderful Riad nicely decorated very relaxing.
Jean Pere is an excellent host as well Kamil & Mustapha, they were terrific, so helpful recommending places for Lunch & Dinner & shopping. We met Hisham on our last day at the Riad , he recommended a lunch restaurant close to the Riad very good, Hisham also a very attentive host. We would highly recommend this Riad, excellent location, quiet yet only 10 min walk to main square.
We ate 2 dinners at the Riad, Marian is an amazing cook highly recommend .
We would not recommend the Cooking class as the 4 of us felt the food was okay & certainly not worth the price we paid.

Room Tip: We had the portifino room & Ibeza on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

the service at dar white was excellent the team could not have done more for us to make our stay enjoyable. Rooms were v clean and good decor if a little small. overall it made a most enjoyable trip I would certainally return. the cookery course is a must for food lovers !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a great time at this riad. I agree with a lot of the other reviews that this is contemporary, yet far from the crowds. The location, service, and accommodations were great. Jean Peres was an excellent host and the staff (especially Kamal and Mustafa - apologies for the likely misspelling) were also very nice. Easy walking distance from the main square and the souks. The rooftop/terrace has a nice view of the surroundings.

I would definitely recommend and will hopefully be back some day.

Room Tip: The two rooms I saw were equally nice. The AC/fan setup provided nice temperature control and white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar White

Address: 98 Derb Hammam | Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar White is a new very design and contemporary riad very well located in the Kasbah area in front of the King palace, 5 mn from Jemma el Fna (main square). You'll enjoy it great terrace with a bar and a jaccuzzi. Try a unic experience in a riad that could be your home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Splendia so you can book your Riad Dar White reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar White, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.