We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The White House - fit for a president.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar White

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar White to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar White
98 Derb Hammam | Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #138 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The White House - fit for a president.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

As long time devotees of Dar One (we've stayed there 8 times) we were incredibly excited to visit Dar White and finally discover what magic Jean had created there. We had supreme confidence that this too would be a very special haven and arrived with high expectations. Our visit took place towards the end of September, the first week that this new riad was open to guests. Following the phenomenal success of Dar One it would have been the safe and easy option for Jean to simply replicate his winning formula establishing nothing more than Dar One Junior. But that wouldn't be Jean. At the risk of sounding sycophantic, I believe it is fair to say that Monsieur Peres has an innate sense of style, enviable creative flair and an incredible eye for detail - a winning combination when it comes to designing a stunningly beautiful boutique hotel. And this is indeed what Dar White is.

In the naming of his new venture, Jean has provided a major clue as to his decorative theme. The entrance is unassuming but once the white wooden door is opened and you step inside, you are transported to paradise. The decor, furniture and fittings are modern, stylish and luxurious and although there is a predominance of white, splashes of colourful interest are provided by the soft furnishings, candles, flowers and artwork. I'm not going to make comparisons with Dar One as this is an entirely separate entity deserving of being judged on its own merits. However, I will say that both riads have extremely high standards in everything they do and have similar proximity to Djemaa el Fna and the souks. If you are able to secure a booking at either of these outstanding riads then you can consider yourself extremely lucky and can be assured of a truly memorable stay in Marrakech.

We stayed in the Mykonos room on the ground floor. We saw the other three rooms in the riad and they are all very similar so don't worry about which room you chose - they are all equally lovely. The only significant difference is that Mykonos has a shower over a large bath and Portofino, St Tropez and Ibiza have large walk in showers (without bath).

Our wonderful friend Hicham heads up the team at Dar White and is supported by the lovely Kamal and the delightful Meriam. They are all dedicated to providing exemplary service and nothing you ask for will be too much trouble. Despite not speaking any English, or I should say despite me not speaking any French, Meriam gave me some marvellous cooking lessons when we communicated using mime and found that laughter is indeed a universal language. My husband is Muslim and I am not but I can honestly say that nobody we have encountered in Marrakech on our numerous visits has ever treated me any differently from him.

Dar White translates into English as The White House. Dar White is certainly fit for a president. Thank you Jean, Hicham, Kamal and Meriam. We absolutely loved it and hopefully will be back inshallah.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
37
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is an excellent and well situated Riad in the Kasbah area which is a short 5 minutes walk to the main square. We found this area very safe and had no problems walking around late at night. There are 4 rooms which are all lovely and very very clean. It also offers an outdoor Jacuzzi facing the Atlas Mountain which we used during our stay. The decor is modern and must say that Jean has very good taste.

We wanted to stay at Dar One, but as it was fully booked we decided to stay at the Dar White and am so glad we did.

We loved our stay here and Kamal and Hisham are wonderful hosts. On our first day, Hisham very kindly helped us create our itinerary and also booked all our excursions for us. One of our excursions was a tour to the Atlas Mountain with Hassan, which included lunch with a Berber family. We highly recommend this tour as Hassan is an exceptional guide and the lunch was some of the best food Marrakesh offered us. Make sure you charge your camera as we got some excellent scenic photos.

Kamal always made sure we were comfortable and anything we wanted was arranged instantly by him. He really helped us find our way around Marrakesh and even came with us to places we were unsure of in the souks. The staff at this riad are really nice genuine people and really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. We enjoyed Kamal and Hisham’s company very much.

The breakfast was amazing, Meream and her colleague made some really nice dishes. We had something tasty and different on each day. Our personal favourite was the Moroccan soup...we can go as far as saying it is the best soup we have ever had. Also try the mint tea!!!!!!

I would definitely without doubt return to this riad....excellent location, clean and lovely staff. Thank you Kamal and Hisham for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent two nights at Riad Dar White in November 2011. It was a fantastic experience. They made us feel very special with their attention to detail. Everything looked new and clean. Very stylishly furnished. Rooms were comfortable and calm. Breakfast was included and was delicious. Our hosts (Hisham and Kamil?) helped with making reservations and scheduling transportation whenever we needed it. Perhaps the only criticism I can think of is that there is a wood-burning fireplace in the common area on the main floor. This imparted a great campfire-like aroma to the place, and was very nice, but it was a little bit overpowering at times. I'm being nit-picky, but it would have been nice to be able to tone that down a bit.
The place really is beautiful overall, with a sort of mod-cool vibe.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much in the new Riad Dar White which belongs to the same owner as Dar one.

Just perfect.a beautiful Riad in the Medina , perfect location ,

......................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

In 2009, we had stayed at Jean's other riad, Dar One. Because we were SO happy with our previous stay, we just had to stay at Dar White on our return to Marrakech. I am AGAIN extremely pleased with my stay and highly recommend that everyone stay here!!

Location - extremely well located in the medina. Not too far from Djema el Fna, but not too close!

Decor - outstanding! As with Dar One, I felt I was on a second relaxing honeymoon :) Jean definitely has excellent taste when it comes to decor - in fact, one of my favourites!

Breakfast - AMAZING! Very wholesome and delish!

Jacuzzi - we had spent every night in the jacuzzi with a sheesha pipe by our side. Amazing!

Service - We were blessed to have Hicham by our side again... he is EXCELLENT and will really help you to find your way around Marrakech. Kamal - our first time with him, but nonetheless, he was also very good!! Everyone was SO kind and we felt very safe with their guidance around the city.

Overall, EVERYTHING was great! Besides home, this is one of my favourite spots in the world :)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are really good! One of the rooms is a tad bit bigger than the rest, but they are A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at Dar white and Dar One, which is Jean's more traditional and longer running Dar.
We enjoyed our stay here - staying in the largest room of the Dar.
The styling was chic French modernism.

The rooftop terrace was great and the hot tub was nice touch. The hot tub was excellent during the hot day, was a little too cool for comfort in the cooler evenings.

Location was excellent walk back into main square
The mosque although very close and the calling to prayer mineret was viewable we did not once have a problem with the prayer time.

The service was very good and the breakfasts were good choice more so then we felt at Dar One.

Due to some issues with noise uncontrollable by Jean, we were offered extras without even having to complain.

As a Muslim man, I felt that Hisham was giving me a lot of attention, and perhaps ignoring my Caucasian partner, which she found irritating.
Especially as she's the boss ;-)

Overall the decor and the location was excellent, the experience was very good but given a choice between both his riads we would choose Dar one without question.

Please see my review of Dar One to back this up.

I would still recommend this Dar and would consider returning here.

Now Jean, please for me Dar Black !!
Your final Riad !

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Located in the Kasbah area, it might seem a bit far out in the beginning but as soon as you venture out in the area and go to the Medina (a delightful 5 min walk) you will notice how perfectly located this modern and charming Riad is!!
We loved our stay there and the Staff (Meream, Kamal, Hisham and Jean) were so accommodating and helpful. Whenever we took a taxi somewhere, either Kamal or Isham would go out and talk to the taxi driver in order to set the price and see that everything was ok.
Everything was very clean and comfortable. Meream did excellent breakfasts, she's also a very sweet lady.
We recommend this Riad without hesitation. Spotless!! We will come back! Inshallah

Graciete and Leandra

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar White

Address: 98 Derb Hammam | Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar White is a new very design and contemporary riad very well located in the Kasbah area in front of the King palace, 5 mn from Jemma el Fna (main square). You'll enjoy it great terrace with a bar and a jaccuzzi. Try a unic experience in a riad that could be your home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar White reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar White, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;