We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel for travelers on a budget!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Rue el Ksour | Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel for travelers on a budget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hostel is nicely tucked away from the chaos of Marrakesh in the backstreets of the Medina, and is only 2 minutes walk from the Jemma el-Fna...once you know the way it's really easy to find. The guys from the hostel are so so lovely and really make you feel at home, they collected us from the taxi up the road and then made us some lovely mint tea and biscuits when we got there.

The hostel itself is bright, colourful and clean, and the beds are comfy. There was also a fan in our room as it's so hot at night time. There is a beautiful little roof terrace with comfy seating and if you're lucky someone will have a guitar and you can have a sing song at night time :) The guys at the hostel let us sleep up there one night which was fun! If you want to do excursions to the desert or to the Cascades they can arrange this for you too.

Downsides? Not really any! There's only 3 toilets/showers but we didn't really have any issues with this as there was never really any queues. Overall an excellent hostel for travelers/backpackers of all ages...lovely hostel, lovely staff and lovely atmosphere..go for it!

Room Tip: Ask to sleep on the rood terrace if possible, especially in June/July/August
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We are students staying in marrakech for two weeks and spent three nights in this hostel, despite seeing one cockroach in the downstairs bathroom, there was nothing else I complain about. The service there was delightful, as was the breakfast, we felt welcome the whole time in the relaxed environment. We sat and had shisha one night and invited our friends over, they're very easy going. They have music playing and is a great place to chill out after a hot day in the city. Definitely would reccomed, and would stay here agin, funky and unique place:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

very nice hostel, very close to the main square. cheap and friendly staff. wifi. breakfast included, would recommend. only down side is its quite hard to find, yuo may have to pay a local to guide you there

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's hard to rate this hostel as it was the perfect place except for bed bugs. We only discovered them 3 days into our 5 day stay when the bites appeared. It made it difficult to sleep for the last 2 nights. Having had bed bugs before I recognised the signs but of course it was too late. When I returned home I found 2 live bugs on my case so I washed EVERYTHING at 60c and quarantined (in black plastic bin liners) the things that couldn't be washed for 5 weeks in the 25-30c sun. I suffered from extremely itchy bites for about a week after as did my 2 companions. I wouldn't have stayed there if I had known about them because bed bugs are the biggest pain ever and so hard to get rid of.
Apart from that the hostel is brilliant. The workers couldn't do enough for you and served mint tea the moment you walked through the front door. They wouldn't let you lift a finger and were very helpful with prices and helping us get into the local hammam for a good price. They even went to buy things for us that we never would have got at the same price being European.
The common room area is great (as is the terrace) for meeting people. The rooms are pretty small and we didn't spend much time in them. They don't assign you a bed so I would sometimes return to find someone else in the bed I'd been sleeping in. With only 3 bathrooms you had to form a queue sometimes. The breakfast was plentiful and there was so much we had to ask to take it with us.
We always felt safe and though there were no lockers people left valuables lying around and there were no problems but we were all young students so I guess it depends on the type of people.

Room Tip: It's preferable to get a room on the upper level because if you are on the fround floor next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hostel and it's great value for money. The location is brilliant, very central. We only stayed for a day and 2 nights, but i think that was enough for us, we had a great time and saw a lot! The staff were really nice, and there was a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The rooms and eating area were clean enough. Highlight was the lovely, colourful roof garden! :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pros:
- Clean hostel
- Right in the heart of the Medina and less than 5minute walk from Jemaa el Fna
- Very friendly staff and available 24hours
- Excellent free breakfast every morning

Cons:
- we only had 1 power outlet in our room which had to be shared between 5 people
- Our 5 persons' room was overcrowded, (other rooms seemed to be bigger)


Conclusion:
For the price we paid, it was a real bargain and would definitely consider it again if I'm going again to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a great stay at this vibrant and friendly hostel in a fantastic location (5 minute walk to the Jemaa al Fina square). Having already organised an airport transfer, the arrival went smoothly. We were picked up and guided to the entrance of the Waka Waka - good job as it was quite tucked away. The staff were all lovely, Mohammed et al made us feel very welcome. The rooms were clean, simple and, although the beds were small, they were comfortable enough. One of the evenings there was a dinner and show organised for a very good price, the food was delicious and the singing and dancing was fun. A popular place for back packers, it was easy to meet people from all over. We had a great time and would recommend it to other travellers. Thank you for a lovely stay!
P.S. would definitely recommend a good, authentic scrub and massage for 70 dh at the Hamman (traditional Moroccan baths) just around the corner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Address: Rue el Ksour | Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 169 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.