We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech to your Saves list
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Rue el Ksour | Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 233 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hostel and it's great value for money. The location is brilliant, very central. We only stayed for a day and 2 nights, but i think that was enough for us, we had a great time and saw a lot! The staff were really nice, and there was a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The rooms and eating area were clean enough. Highlight was the lovely, colourful roof garden! :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElisheaDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pros:
- Clean hostel
- Right in the heart of the Medina and less than 5minute walk from Jemaa el Fna
- Very friendly staff and available 24hours
- Excellent free breakfast every morning

Cons:
- we only had 1 power outlet in our room which had to be shared between 5 people
- Our 5 persons' room was overcrowded, (other rooms seemed to be bigger)


Conclusion:
For the price we paid, it was a real bargain and would definitely consider it again if I'm going again to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dejmjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a great stay at this vibrant and friendly hostel in a fantastic location (5 minute walk to the Jemaa al Fina square). Having already organised an airport transfer, the arrival went smoothly. We were picked up and guided to the entrance of the Waka Waka - good job as it was quite tucked away. The staff were all lovely, Mohammed et al made us feel very welcome. The rooms were clean, simple and, although the beds were small, they were comfortable enough. One of the evenings there was a dinner and show organised for a very good price, the food was delicious and the singing and dancing was fun. A popular place for back packers, it was easy to meet people from all over. We had a great time and would recommend it to other travellers. Thank you for a lovely stay!
P.S. would definitely recommend a good, authentic scrub and massage for 70 dh at the Hamman (traditional Moroccan baths) just around the corner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved this hostel!! Friends and I stayed in a 5 person dorm and had a great stay. The beds were a bit hard but it was clean and a great value. The mint tea and breakfast were both delicious and we met some cool people. It is also in a great location and although hard to find, is a gem in the busy city.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahSAS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. The beds are kinda rough but the staff more then makes up for it. They were willing to help you with anything (and they didn't expect to be paid for it). The breakfast was freshly made every morning with plenty of coffee for everyone. However, it's really hard to find this place and you most likely will either wander around the markets streets forever or pay someone to take you there. You might think you are at the wrong place because the name of the hostel is written on the wall outside with chalk - don't worry about it - just ring the bell. This is a hostel for single or friends traveling together. There is a party atmosphere and smoking inside and very little privacy.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor - the first floor rooms open into the common room and it can get nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marysadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a fun, relax and comfortable hostel. The hostel is cheap and really close to the Soukh. The hostel has Wifi and great mint tea served all day. For questions about Marrakesh or Morocco or anything else you can always go to Rachid, he can help you with everything!The staff is really friendly and make your stay very comfortable.The hostel is hard to find in the Medina, but with the Youtube description on their website or with help from the local people you can easily find it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thu_Yen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I keep returning to this place. It's really cheap, the staff is amazing and the atmosphere is perfect. I'm a single traveller and I've had no problems whatsoever meeting new friends and finding people to talk to. The host is very welcoming and imediately brings you a cup of good moroccan tea when you arrive. They help you sort out any trips you would like to take, hang out with you, feed you a good breaky. The location couldn't be better, it's located right in the souk. A bit hard to find, but managable. It gets cold at night, but with a good jumper it's not a problem. Definitely recommendable for the single traveller who likes to have fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionanynneandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
#43 of 233 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
#41 of 233 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Kif Kif
Hostel Kif Kif
#40 of 233 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
#51 of 233 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Young and Happy Hostel
Young and Happy Hostel
#15 of 233 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dream Kasbah
Dream Kasbah
#17 of 233 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Address: Rue el Ksour | Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 233 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing