We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable hostel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hostelworld.com
and 1 more site!
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Rue el Ksour | Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Malaga, Spain
1 review
“Friendly, comfortable hostel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a fun, relax and comfortable hostel. The hostel is cheap and really close to the Soukh. The hostel has Wifi and great mint tea served all day. For questions about Marrakesh or Morocco or anything else you can always go to Rachid, he can help you with everything!The staff is really friendly and make your stay very comfortable.The hostel is hard to find in the Medina, but with the Youtube description on their website or with help from the local people you can easily find it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canarias, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I keep returning to this place. It's really cheap, the staff is amazing and the atmosphere is perfect. I'm a single traveller and I've had no problems whatsoever meeting new friends and finding people to talk to. The host is very welcoming and imediately brings you a cup of good moroccan tea when you arrive. They help you sort out any trips you would like to take, hang out with you, feed you a good breaky. The location couldn't be better, it's located right in the souk. A bit hard to find, but managable. It gets cold at night, but with a good jumper it's not a problem. Definitely recommendable for the single traveller who likes to have fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a fun, laid-back hostel that is a great value for the money. If you stay there, I hope you are pretty relaxed about bed times, because there can be some pretty untimely noise. But this is more than made up for by the helpful staff, who don't rush you to pay them. Rachid (he bears an odd resemblance to jack sparrow) is the absolute best and made our stay so relaxed! Kind of hard to find deep in the medina, but I believe there is a youtube video you can watch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This gem tucked away in the streets of Marrakech is a fantastic place. Once you find it and enter through its low door way you find a colourful, authentic Riad. The staff are great offering all advice on a number of things from things to do in town to tour, and further travel in the country. All guests congregate in the main sitting area and all get to know eachother and there is a ncie laidback atmosphere, which is welcoming after a long day exploring the town. The best thing for me though was the home cooked food. It is very good and there is loads of it! It also offers better value than you would pay in town. The only issue i had was that at night it is very cold so make sure you wrap up warm and the beds are on the harder side. But highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evora, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The breakfast is giant and delicious, the people who works there are amazing!
If you need directions or any type of help the people who work there will help you.
It's safe and couzy.

Abdul you're the man!

Room Tip: You can sleep on the rooftop in the summer, it's very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The exterior of this hostel definitely doesn't hint as to what delights lie await inside!!! (Namely the crudely written sign - in chalk on the side of the wall. Hilarious) This is like no hostel I've ever stayed in before; it is more like staying in somebody's house and having a big sleepover every night with people crashing in the living areas, rooftop its very laid back and fun! There was a group of 15 of us staying and the owners made us feel very welcome and were so friendly. The roof terrace is amazing to chill on during the day when its too hot or in the evenings when its cooler. If you are offered a home cooked tagine or cous cous make sure you say yes because its delicious! As somebody who has travelled Morocco for a month a few years ago, its impressive that this Hostel beats any i stayed in previously! What a gem. Made our holiday.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Waka Waka is my favorite hostel that I have visited. The staff was very friendly and helped me and my friends get acquainted with the city. They served us delicious mint tea every time we came back from exploring. The breakfast is included in the very reasonable price and it was definitely not lacking! The environment was friendly and social; I met new people every day I stayed there. The roof top terrace is a great place for chilling out after a crazy day in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech

Address: Rue el Ksour | Derb Sabai, 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 169 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.