We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Riad in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 144 Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad 144 Marrakech to your Saves list
Riad 144 Marrakech
Derb Sidi Ahmed el Barj No 93 Kaa Sour | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Best Riad in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The overall experience was superb. The hosts are attentive without being intrusive, and the service excellent. Eating in is just as good as eating out. We will definitely make a return visit as Marrakech cannot be appreciated in a single week.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
76
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I chose Riad 144 because it already came highly recommended and yet it still exceeded all expectations. The location is great - tucked away enough to feel mysterious but within easy walking access of anywhere you want to see in Marrakech. The Riad is obviously a labour of love and this comes through in every part of your stay - the homemade jam each morning, the fabulous decor and most importantly, the amount of help and hospitality the wonderful Jean gives all of his guests. Marrakech is a city for exploring and Jean gives you all the right information to do this, as well as providing a place you just can't wait to get back to! If you're looking for a beautiful and relaxing place to stay in Marrakech, with a very friendly welcome, Riad 144 ticks all the boxes. I would go back in a flash!

Room Tip: Each room is individual and beautiful - you can't go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

It's very rare for me to spend much time inside accomodation whilst overseas but Riad 144 is a hard place to leave. The 1st thing you'll notice is the location. Right in the heart of the city and the confusing souks you have access to everything you could want in Marrakech and amazingly it's relatively easy to re-locate once you venture off. Also the airport pick up is incredibly cheap and it covers the return journey if you're flying in and out! Then, you'll meet Jean and his wonderful staff. Probably the most hospitable owner I've ever met. He's happy to help with anything and everything and you'll quickly realize that you're getting the 5* treatment without paying the price. The rooms are incredible and unique and it's hard enough to leave those. But once you do there's a lovely plunge pool, an incredible hammam and massages to take advantage of or you can enjoy some mint tea (Jean's is some of the best around) on the stunning roof terrace. However many days you're planning on spending in Marrakech, make sure you budget an extra one for all the time you're going to want to spend enjoying everything this fantastic Riad has to offer! P.S. This is my 1st and perhaps only ever time writing a rewiew but I felt I had no choice such was the level of service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The riad144 is an oasis, a haven of peace and beauty. The service is perfect and characterized by deep human warmth and personal attention. Each room is different and unique and Jean is the best host one could wish for. We felt "at home" in the best sense of the term. Explore the medina, take a day trip out… or just stay in and enjoy tea on the roof terrace, the hammam and massage, and the company of friends. Thank you for this very special time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having just returned from staying in Riad 144 I was rather reluctant to leave a review because this is truly one of those places that you want to keep secret. On arrival we were greeted by Vivienne, the owner's mother and she gave us lots of helpful advice and maps etc. The Riad is beautifully furnished, the staff can't do enough for you and the food is exquisite - 5 stars all round. We had a Hammam and massage in the Riad which was a wonderfully relaxing experience. We had breakfast served to us in the morning sunshine of the roof garden, overlooking the city. A real oasis of calm amongst the hustle and bustle of the city. This Riad would suit all ages and you will come away feeling that you have made good friends that you will hopefully see again. Cannot recommend enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Secret Suite which was wonderful but, having seen the other rooms, they all have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Jean was the perfect host and the Riad was beautiful. The Riad offers a peaceful paradise in the middle of a busy city.

The service from Jean and the other employees was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble to ask for. You can arrange transfers, massages and dinner at the Riad.

Jean was happy to show us the easiest and most direct way into the main square in Marrakech which was helpful. Jean also arranged a meal one evening for us, the other evenings we ate out at his recommendation at a wonderful restaurant in the city centre.

The design of the rooms is down to the finest detail encompassing comfort and relaxation with stunning Moroccan design.

We will definitely return here, and have already recommended it highly to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Having only had the pleasure of staying in the Carbon Room, we did manage to glimpse a few of the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our first time in Marrakech and every aspect of our stay was truly delightful. Jean, the owner and host had organised our airport transfers and met us from the taxi. He took the time to show us the easiest route in and out of the Medina, which would prove to be a huge help for the days to come - it can be very easy to get lost.

Arriving at the Riad after a day of travelling was one of the highlights of our trip. I am struggling how to describe quite how beautiful it is is - Jean has thought of every possible detail. His eye for design is just amazing, beautiful books, candlelight, great music - just a wonderful atmosphere where you feel as if you have escaped from every stress of life and the outside world.

We stayed in the Secret Suite - such a romantic multi-layered room with a huge, elevated bath-tub surrounded by beautiful Moroccan lanterns. You couldn't wish for a better standard of comfort, the rooms are spotless, there is complementary wifi and bottled water, good air-con, comfy beds. The Riad reaches every expectation of European standards with the elegance and beauty of Moroccan design.

Jean makes you feel as if the Riad is your home. You can roam around freely - sunbathe on the terrace and order in house-dining if you wish. He will tell you where to shop, where to eat, how to bargain and will even organise you a private traditional bath and massage in the Riad's own beautiful Hammam. We only stayed for three days but wished that we had allowed longer just to have more time relaxing in the Riad. It truly is a little paradise and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad 144 Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 144 Marrakech

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed el Barj No 93 Kaa Sour | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical medina of Marrakech, Riad 144 is an intimate and relaxed full service boutique hotel with only 3 suites, a mini-suite and one standard bedrooms all with private bathrooms, plus a living room, a winter garden and a spa with hammam and massage facilities. The large patio has a heated plunge pool under the lush palm trees. The terrace with 360 degrees view over the medina and the Atlas mountains is the perfect spot to catch the best sunset of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad 144 Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 144 Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.