We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 144 Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad 144 Marrakech to your Saves list
Riad 144 Marrakech
Derb Sidi Ahmed el Barj No 93 Kaa Sour | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Tangier, Morocco
1 review
“A Very Good Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I honestly don't know where to begin my review of Riad 144, was it the exceptional service, the amazing food,This place is one of the best riads in Marrakech. I was there for only two night, unfortunately, but that was so relaxing and much needed after having traveled for a week already.

Room Tip: Secret Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
76
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The fact we have returned to Marrakech in less than 6months was partly due to this amazing Riad and the service we received last time.

This time we returned with friends from Boston and yet again had a seamlessly lovely stay.

Jean, the owner, was forever charming, helpful and a joy just to chat to. We arrived on our first evening with another amazing meal prepared for us and set out on the stunning rooftop terrace with twinkling lanterns and a beautifully decorated table. The quality of food served was, again, one of our best meals during our 4 day stay.

This time we stayed in the Beldi Suite which was a delight. Cool, beautifully designed and an absolute pleasure.

We were all actually surprised at how comfortable the weather was considering you read so many reports that August is unbearably hot.

Jean again organised for the driver to take us on a day trip - this time to the Kasbah du Toubkal in the Atlas Mountains with a stop off at Richard Branson's Riad Tamadot for a hammam and afternoon cocktails.

Jean knows all the best places to eat and drink and used his contacts to get us on reservation lists and tables.

We shall be returning - thank you Jean

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

we rented out the whole riad for the 12 of us. It was absolutely stunning! Perfect location for us. Very close to all the tourist sites but the actual riad was situated in a more residential area. It was beautiful inside, quiet serene calm and very very clean. The breakfast on the terrace was lovely, apart from the buzzing of wasps as we had such lovely homemade jam and honey on our table! Would next time take breakfast in the courtyard, or better yet in the bedroom. The top terrace was stunning. Views were lovely, but most importantly the sunbeds and hammock was comfy!

Jean and all the staff were fab, so accommodating and really made our holiday special. Abdul is such a fun person to be around and gives brilliant service that i havent experienced elsewhere.

All in all, come here if you are going to Marrakech. Beautiful clean riad coupled with excellent staff makes is all that special!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but the The Royal Moucharabieh Suite is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The best place to be.
Not only to sleep, but also to eat. Jean, Abdul and Touriya thank you so much!
The Hammam was heaven. The Wifi connection perfect. The rooftop breath taking

Marian from Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Riad 144 exceeded our expectations. The owner Jean is one of the most helpful and genuine guys on the planet and he enhanced our stay with good food recommendations as well as helping to chart our other trips around Morocco. We felt very much at home in Riad 144 which is beautifully decorated. I would strongly recommend Riad 144 to anyone seeking a unique experience in Marrakech.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from an amazing 5 days in Marrakech which despite being my third visit left me feeling it was my favourite and one that makes me want to return ASAP and part of that is thanks to the Riad we stayed in and it's owner.

Riad 144 was a real find. A beautiful renovation with 5 very different rooms. We booked two rooms- the Carbon Room and the Secret Suite.

Carbon was on the ground floor looking into the courtyard and plunge pool. Cool, sophisticated, dark and sexy and perfectly formed. You needed nothing more from this room.

The Secret Suite was a multi-levelled affair with hints of turquoise against the white walls. The bed was a stepup from the ground lounge area, on another level was the bath overlooking the entire room, with a separate lounge (and effectively two single beds/seating areas) and a shower room towards the entrance to the room. Bright, breezy, cavernous and a real thrill.

There is also a dining/lounge area on the ground floor complete with piano plus a TV/DVD lounge space on the first floor should it rain or you just want to relax and read a book.

There is also, of course, the obligatory Riad courtyard with comfy sofas and a lovely cool deep plunge pool shadowed by two huge palm trees.

Decor throughout was beautiful, the finish was immaculate, there were lovely touches eg.free wifi, sun hats and fans. Even the normally very ugly AC was beautifully disguised as an oil painting. Some great African art can be seen everywhere which as you spend more time in the medina you realise you can buy for yourself.

Breakfast each morning was served on the roof terrace. There are two areas. One for eating/dining and another higher level for lounging/sunning in the hammock.

If the complimentary breakfast does not fill you (it will) there is a large choice of extras to add.

We arrived quite late on the first night so opted for food in the Riad. Expertly cooked and beautifully presented at the dinner table on the roof underneath twinkly candlelights and stars was the perfect start to the holiday. We were served a gorgeous selection of homemade Moroccan salads, lemon chicken tagine followed by chocolate mousse.

The best thing about the stay was the staff. Moussain: the driver who safely and brilliantly took us on day trips to the Atlas Mountains and Essaouira. Abdul: the general man-about-house who served us breakfast and stories every morning with smiles and enthusiasm at what we had planned for the day. But most of all, the owner: Jean. His Riad, his project and his mission to make sure you have the most amazing stay whether its helping you to plan a day trip, book a restaurant or walk you to it late at night so you don't get lost!

He made us feel very welcome and we all left absolutely certain we would not only return to Marrakech soon but definitely to Riad 144.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Brame
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had read the glowIng reports about the Riad & I must admit it even surpassed my expectations. This is an enchanting Riad,artistically decorated with elegance,& impeccable attention to details.A happy marriage of Marrakchi Art & design. The soft lighting& soothing music throughout create an an ambiance of tranquility which is so welcoming after the Mayhem of the Medina. we were upgraded to the Secret Room which is vast & dazzling,split into several levels,very refined& scattered with fascinating finds. All the rooms are superb & very different. The food prepared by Touria is delicious & is served on the stunning terrace for indolent breakfasts(you must try the mouthwatering pain perdu)with a 360degree panoramic view over the Medina & its minarets& the Atlas Mountains,savouring the succulent monkfish tajine under the bewitching lantern lit Bedouin tent with the haunting sound of the Muezzing echoing in the Medina.To top it all is the warm,generous hospitality of Jean who made it a memorable& magical stay.he is also very professional & a real perfectionist as well as very artistic.Nadia & Touria are adorable & Abdu a real treasure with his incredible knowledge,linguistic skills& kindness. Merci encore Jean& a bientot Inch'Allah!xxxMonic & Bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad 144 Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 144 Marrakech

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed el Barj No 93 Kaa Sour | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical medina of Marrakech, Riad 144 is an intimate and relaxed full service boutique hotel with only 3 suites, a mini-suite and one standard bedrooms all with private bathrooms, plus a living room, a winter garden and a spa with hammam and massage facilities. The large patio has a heated plunge pool under the lush palm trees. The terrace with 360 degrees view over the medina and the Atlas mountains is the perfect spot to catch the best sunset of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad 144 Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 144 Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.