We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 144 Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad 144 Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad 144 Marrakech
Derb Sidi Ahmed el Barj No 93 Kaa Sour | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

"We have chosen wisely"... this sentence we have said to each other a few times after we left Marrakech to our home country, the Netherlands. At first, our attention was drawn by the wonderful decorated rooms and of course, the good comments on tripadvisor. We finally decided to book the Royal Moucharabieh Suite and the Rouge Chambre. Both beautiful rooms to stay, so it seemed.
We asked Jean, the manager, to have a dinner prepared for us on the evening of our arrival and we were pleasantly surprised by Touria's effort in the kitchen, so we decided to have all our evening meals at the Riad and enjoyed a wonderful lunch in the sun before departure.
The rooms were clean and met all our expectations; the beds were comfy and the warm welcome, hospitality and information given by Jean and this team were wonderful. Staying in Riad 144 is staying in a little gem in Marrakech, with excellent location in the Medina. A true home away from home. The only problem you will face when you are seriously interested in making reservations at this Riad is that it is hard to decide in what room one would like to stay. Each room has its own beauty. The Carbon room and Rouge room are conveniently located on the ground floor; Beldi and Secret Suite on the 1st floor and the Royal Moucharabieh Suite is situated on the top. There is no elevator in the building. Royal Moucharabieh Suite is very spacious and gives you a nice view over Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains and is located at the same level where breakfast/luch is being served and only one staircase away from the roof terrace. There is no need to look further in the innumerable list of Riads; as said before .... "we have chosen wisely!" We hope you do too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
72
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Riad 144 is a perfect place to stay, with amazing rooms, great view from the roof. Touria's food will want you to have more! And of course, Jean, is the best host ever!
Riad 144 feels like a home away from home, a quiet place in the very busy Medina of Marrakech.
I highly recommend the Riad 144, it is the best place in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I was looking for a perfect place for our romantic getaway and out of hundreds of Riads in Marrakech, I chose this one.
First of all I fell in love with the decoration, the owner (Jean) has really beautiful taste... he pays attention to even the smallest details.
Our favorite part of the day would be breakfast on the rooftop... you can see the beautiful view of the Medina while enjoying Touria's Pain perdu...hmmmm.. we just can't get enough of it!!!!
We had a wonderful time, and will definitely go back :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The riad owners Jean and Ståle combine an eye for style and sophistication
with hospitality to create an oasis of comfort in Marrakech`s wonderful lively medina.
They are fantastic hosts and great guides for what the city has on offer.

The cooking is just superb and you can breakfast on the roof terrace with a spectacular view over the city to the Atlas mountains. We also took advantage of the hammam and the great massages that the riad offers.

Riad 144 and its team makes a special city that bit more unforgettable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The new Riad 144 is just the best, coolest and most relaxed place in the Medina of Marrakech. It's like staying at your best friends home an enjoying a caring attention by the little management team around Jean. The Riad itself ist dreamlike. They must have spent nights and days to decide how to restore the several centuries old little palace. All new suites are highly desirable. It's regardless which they offer you due to availability: They are all cool, affectionately furnished and offer both space and style. What else to say? Perfect roof top with magnificent view onto the roofs of the median. At evenings Tuira, probably the best private cook in the Medina, serves typical Morrocan style food of highest qualtity. We've been there 7 days, really each day included a joyful breakfast and dinner. We've never had any problems with our stomachs - a real big plus in that town.

What shall I say finally? There are only reasons to go there. But prepare for a waiting list: We've heard that the are allready fully booked at some time next year.

Best wishes for the future!!! Enthusiastical regards from Munich/ Germany!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed at Riad 144 over a weekend (3 nights). It was simply incredible in every way. My first impression of the riad was how tastefully it was decorated and designed - it even had a baby grand piano and massive chandelier! I stayed in the "secret suite", which was spacious and cozy.

The chef, Toriea, cooked amazing meals. Her tajines and couscous were fantastic, not to mention the great pancakes in the morning.

A great feature of the riad is the fact that it is one of the tallest structures in the medina. This makes for nice sunsets on the rooftop lounge. There is a hammam in the riad as well, which is an added bonus. My wife got massage and really enjoyed it.

The only challenge is that the riad is tucked away deep in the medina, but this wasn't a problem because I was picked at the airport, the porters carried my luggage, and I was guided to the riad. After a day or so, you know your way around.

The hosts were also very friendly and helpful. I stay at many 5 star hotels and this is some of the best (and most personal) service I have received. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I left Marrakech wanting to return immediately. Riad 144 is not only beautifully decorated with a Moroccan chic feel, but the staff and the hosts make this Riad a true home away from home. In the three days that I spent there, I was able to enjoy breakfast in a breathtaking terrace overlooking the Medina, was guided through the city with an excellent and trustworthy guide provided by the Riad, and enjoyed a relaxing massage on the last night (also provided by the Riad). The hosts, Jean and Stale, truly take pleasure in accommodating their guests, and their passion for their Riad clearly transcends through the way they've furnished and carefully adorned this place- it is magical. I look forward to returning, and recommend this place as a sure choice for anyone's stay in Marrakech.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad 144 Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 144 Marrakech

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed el Barj No 93 Kaa Sour | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical medina of Marrakech, Riad 144 is an intimate and relaxed full service boutique hotel with only 3 suites, a mini-suite and one standard bedrooms all with private bathrooms, plus a living room, a winter garden and a spa with hammam and massage facilities. The large patio has a heated plunge pool under the lush palm trees. The terrace with 360 degrees view over the medina and the Atlas mountains is the perfect spot to catch the best sunset of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad 144 Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 144 Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.