We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Warmest Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shambala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Shambala to your Saves list
Riad Shambala
Derb Sidi Messaoud 111, Arest Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #59 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Warmest Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech. We stayed here for 4 nights and chose this Riad based on previous reviews. We are so glad we made the right choice. Mohammed and his team gave us the warmest welcome we ever experienced and were always available to see to our every need. Even the security guard waited for us every night just to make us our English tea ! Breakfast is served at any time and any request is met with a smile. Mohammed also advised us on routes to the markets and gave us a useful map. Both the girls (Ihlaam x 2) were also very obliging. This is why we chose a Riad, its so different to a hotel as the staff make you feel so welcome and its much more flexible with regards to check in/out times. Excellent Riad.

Dear Mohammed and team, we really miss you all and the Shambala! Salaams from all of us. From Bilal, Najma and Zaheer.

Room Tip: We had the suite with a bath tub, advisable if you have children. If you are going by taxi, the nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was travelling with my mother to Marrakech for the first time and what a brilliant time we had. But I can honestly say that this is down to Riad Shambala and it's wonderful host, Mohammed.

We had read the reviews about how helpful he would be and we were not disappointed. He was wonderful! Travelling as two women alone, and having never visited Africa before we were quite apprehensive! Especially when we arrived at the Medina wall and saw how busy and confusing the place was! But step through the Riad doors and you're greeted with gorgeous smells and beautiful, tranquil surroundings. Our room was perfect for us and the terraces were a lovely place to relax before heading out into the chaos of Marrakech! Mohammed made us feel really special and when he found out it was my mother's birthday he went out of his way to get a cake for her and the staff all sang happy birthday in Berber! We won't forget this kind gesture.

When we arrived Mohammed talked us through where to go, where not to go, who to avoid, how not to get ripped off/hassled.... and thank god he told us all of this! The guide books and what I'd read online were not nearly as helpful as he was. He also recommended us a great restaurant which we highly recommend - Jad Mahal - where you'll find a stunning low lit restaurant with belly dancing and a great atmosphere. Mohammed arranged taxi's for us when we went out in the evening and we would get escorted to the restaurant door which we really appreciated as Marrakech can feel a little threatening at times. Although all in all, it's a pretty safe place and the Moroccans are so friendly, with a great sense of humour!

The Riad is extremely quiet at night and in the morning you're woken by little tweeting birds which is lovely. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. It really did feel like a home away from home.

I highly recommend Riad Shambala. I honestly believe we would have had a different trip had we not met Mohammed and his team.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in this Riad for 2 nights. On arrival, Mohammed the owner explained everything we needed to know about the city, giving us tips on where to and where not to go. Mohammed gave us a map and his mobile number offering us a contact point at any time. The room itself was great, everything you need to relax after a day exploring in the city. I would recommend this Riad to anyone staying in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We had read all the good references, but nothing prepares you to the kindness of Mohammed and the rest of the team. The riad is simply beautiful, our room fresh, spacious, with great details and the beauty of the moroccan deco. The spaces cute, terraces with hammocks and fans, straw hats and shadows, cushions and the small swimmingpool to chill out. The breakfast perfect with the best of west and east, detailed and served when and whereever you want. But the very best is the team, they care of you, they help you and advice you, but you never feel is too much. Just too perfect to be true, so perfect that when you leave you just need to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wooow it's hard to start because I'm speechless of how we got treated. My best friend and I decided to do an Eurotrip plus Morocco as we always wanted to come here, I tried to search for a good Riad as for us, two girls we thought it wouldn't be easy to get around Marrakech, I booked Riad Shambala and when we got there we felt as if we just arrived at our own little castle. The staff was amazing we were received with tea and pastries, the Riad is absolutely beautiful with a lot of beautiful details we loved, Mohammed explained the city to us, gave us a map and told us the city was really safe. We felt like home, and we felt really safe with the staff, they treated us like princesses. I never thought we would never want to leave, we really wanted to take the Riad and the staff home with us. They were always taking good care of us. And the best was that Mohammed went to say good bye to us at the airport, we really felt as family. We are absolutely coming back and bringing all our families and friends. Thanks Mohammed for a great Marrakech experience. See you soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Where to start?! We chose Riad Shambala because it looked beautiful and we were able to rent it exclusively for us 6 ladies - perfect for my bachelorette trip with girlfriends. We were truly spoiled the entire time! Starting with the airport pick-up, it was very comfortable and we were greeted at the Medina gate by Mohammed who had prepared a bouquet of roses for my arrival. The entire trip was full of special, personal touches like this. All of the staff was really friendly and we had a 24-hour watchman with us at the Riad who would walk us to our restaurant or to the taxi area and negotiate a good price. You can't beat that! Mohammed was also very sweet to buy our spices and beauty products for us, bargaining a "local" value, whereas I'm sure we would have paid double. He also organized a Berber drummer band with my friends and spoiled us each with local product gift baskets. All of the restaurants he recommended were delicious and we enjoyed our evenings out thanks to him. Thanks for a wonderful stay and for making this special trip something to remember for a lifetime!

Room Tip: I was lucky enough to stay in the suite - it was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Not only is this Riad lovely, but the staff is wonderful. Mohammed took very good care of us and also made this weekend very special for my friend who is getting married. She was showered in rose petals by all of us as a singing group played for her, which the staff helped us to arrange. Mohammed made excellent dinner reservations for us, our breakfasts were very nice and we all felt at home. Thanks for such a lovely trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Shambala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shambala

Address: Derb Sidi Messaoud 111, Arest Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful RIAD is located within the walls of Marrakech Medina or, as it is also known, the ancient part of the city.Inaugurated in September 2011, the hotel represents the realisation of Carlos, its owner´s, dream."Carlos' Dream" as it is known (which is inscripited in Arabic on the door of the Riad) brings to life his artistic interpretation and vision of a traditional Moroccan Riad.Every single detail, from the construction, the location, style & furnishings of the Riad are recreated in the classical & traditional manner which is typically Moroccan and one that the locals would recognise and admire as a typical Moroccan RiadThis vision enables the guests to engage themselves and appreciate the beauty and passion of this beautiful city with surroundings that bring to life of an era long forgotten but brought to life by the traditional settings of the Riad.During the Riad's construction only traditional Moroccan materials were used, such as Tadelakt plaster (concrete hand polished stone), Bejmat (baked clay), all of which was hand produced individually using traditional tools producing a complete piece of artisan work.Relax and enjoy drinking cocktail's or mint tea in its lounges or by the swimming-pool; far away from the hustle and bustle of the streets in the heart of Marrakech Medina, with the backdrop of the magnificient snowed Atlas mountains, or watch a beautiful sunset over the city at the end of the day, the choice is entirely yours.Do not miss the romantic experience of arriving at night at the Riad and going up to your room with a traditional candle lighting the way, whilst in the morning awake to a wonderful breakfast which can be taken in any of the Riad's charming locations or terraces.If you wish so, book your evening dinner at the Riad, you will certainly not forget the experience of tasting wonderful original Moroccan food on the patio or one of the many terraces, all set in a complete relaxed atmosphere enabling you to forget about the worries of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Shambala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shambala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.