We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad, amazing staff & treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shambala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Shambala to your Saves list
Riad Shambala
Derb Sidi Messaoud 111, Arest Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #60 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Alicante, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad, amazing staff & treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We had read all the good references, but nothing prepares you to the kindness of Mohammed and the rest of the team. The riad is simply beautiful, our room fresh, spacious, with great details and the beauty of the moroccan deco. The spaces cute, terraces with hammocks and fans, straw hats and shadows, cushions and the small swimmingpool to chill out. The breakfast perfect with the best of west and east, detailed and served when and whereever you want. But the very best is the team, they care of you, they help you and advice you, but you never feel is too much. Just too perfect to be true, so perfect that when you leave you just need to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wooow it's hard to start because I'm speechless of how we got treated. My best friend and I decided to do an Eurotrip plus Morocco as we always wanted to come here, I tried to search for a good Riad as for us, two girls we thought it wouldn't be easy to get around Marrakech, I booked Riad Shambala and when we got there we felt as if we just arrived at our own little castle. The staff was amazing we were received with tea and pastries, the Riad is absolutely beautiful with a lot of beautiful details we loved, Mohammed explained the city to us, gave us a map and told us the city was really safe. We felt like home, and we felt really safe with the staff, they treated us like princesses. I never thought we would never want to leave, we really wanted to take the Riad and the staff home with us. They were always taking good care of us. And the best was that Mohammed went to say good bye to us at the airport, we really felt as family. We are absolutely coming back and bringing all our families and friends. Thanks Mohammed for a great Marrakech experience. See you soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Where to start?! We chose Riad Shambala because it looked beautiful and we were able to rent it exclusively for us 6 ladies - perfect for my bachelorette trip with girlfriends. We were truly spoiled the entire time! Starting with the airport pick-up, it was very comfortable and we were greeted at the Medina gate by Mohammed who had prepared a bouquet of roses for my arrival. The entire trip was full of special, personal touches like this. All of the staff was really friendly and we had a 24-hour watchman with us at the Riad who would walk us to our restaurant or to the taxi area and negotiate a good price. You can't beat that! Mohammed was also very sweet to buy our spices and beauty products for us, bargaining a "local" value, whereas I'm sure we would have paid double. He also organized a Berber drummer band with my friends and spoiled us each with local product gift baskets. All of the restaurants he recommended were delicious and we enjoyed our evenings out thanks to him. Thanks for a wonderful stay and for making this special trip something to remember for a lifetime!

Room Tip: I was lucky enough to stay in the suite - it was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Not only is this Riad lovely, but the staff is wonderful. Mohammed took very good care of us and also made this weekend very special for my friend who is getting married. She was showered in rose petals by all of us as a singing group played for her, which the staff helped us to arrange. Mohammed made excellent dinner reservations for us, our breakfasts were very nice and we all felt at home. Thanks for such a lovely trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The riad is absolutely beautiful with such charm and warmth. Right in the Medina, close to all the sights, we had our own space to relax and enjoy the magical feel of Arabian nights, looked after by Mohammed with true hospitality. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was, in our family's opinion, impossible to beat. You only to have to stay in other roads to realise how perfect Riad Shambala is.

The location is really convenient, 20 minutes interesting walk to the centre of the medina and as far (less interesting walk) to la villa nouvelle. The rooms are comfortable with very restful beds, amazing plaster work and overall a homely yet luxurious feel. There are plentiful areas to sit - the terrace, poolside, balcony, dining area. The wifi is really efficient. But above all, the place is memorable for the staff.

We were a family/friends group who met up as a planned surprise for some members. The team at the road got completely involved with the mystery and plotting, getting disguises and similar sorted with joy and enthusiasm. There were endlessly inventive breakfasts, attention and advice about any requests, and Mohammed creates an intimate yet expansive world of peace within the walls of the place.

An unhesitating recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at this wonderfull place for one week and I`ve been deeply touched especially by the staff, who take care of their guest like you are family. The hotel manager received us with the words: I am you "guardian angel" from now on, and indeed, he was. He explained, organized, showed us everything we needed. Always attentive and listening.

They prepared the place, the rooms with mindfullness, taking care of any detail...like rosepetals on the stairs, leading you up to your room, accompanied by the smell of orange blossom.

The wonderfull breakfast was served, when and where you wanted to take it.

You really arrive first in "a dusty little street" and when you passed the "beautiful black door" you find yourself in a oasis of stillness. A realm of relaxation, woven into a feeling of being protected.

Congratulations to Carlos for this wonderfull place and his great staff, which gives this place its heartfull flavour.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice and each one is different from the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Shambala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shambala

Address: Derb Sidi Messaoud 111, Arest Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful RIAD is located within the walls of Marrakech Medina or, as it is also known, the ancient part of the city.Inaugurated in September 2011, the hotel represents the realisation of Carlos, its owner´s, dream."Carlos' Dream" as it is known (which is inscripited in Arabic on the door of the Riad) brings to life his artistic interpretation and vision of a traditional Moroccan Riad.Every single detail, from the construction, the location, style & furnishings of the Riad are recreated in the classical & traditional manner which is typically Moroccan and one that the locals would recognise and admire as a typical Moroccan RiadThis vision enables the guests to engage themselves and appreciate the beauty and passion of this beautiful city with surroundings that bring to life of an era long forgotten but brought to life by the traditional settings of the Riad.During the Riad's construction only traditional Moroccan materials were used, such as Tadelakt plaster (concrete hand polished stone), Bejmat (baked clay), all of which was hand produced individually using traditional tools producing a complete piece of artisan work.Relax and enjoy drinking cocktail's or mint tea in its lounges or by the swimming-pool; far away from the hustle and bustle of the streets in the heart of Marrakech Medina, with the backdrop of the magnificient snowed Atlas mountains, or watch a beautiful sunset over the city at the end of the day, the choice is entirely yours.Do not miss the romantic experience of arriving at night at the Riad and going up to your room with a traditional candle lighting the way, whilst in the morning awake to a wonderful breakfast which can be taken in any of the Riad's charming locations or terraces.If you wish so, book your evening dinner at the Riad, you will certainly not forget the experience of tasting wonderful original Moroccan food on the patio or one of the many terraces, all set in a complete relaxed atmosphere enabling you to forget about the worries of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Shambala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shambala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.