We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“guardian angel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shambala

Save Saved
You added Riad Shambala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Shambala
Derb Sidi Messaoud 111, Arest Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #63 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“guardian angel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at this wonderfull place for one week and I`ve been deeply touched especially by the staff, who take care of their guest like you are family. The hotel manager received us with the words: I am you "guardian angel" from now on, and indeed, he was. He explained, organized, showed us everything we needed. Always attentive and listening.

They prepared the place, the rooms with mindfullness, taking care of any detail...like rosepetals on the stairs, leading you up to your room, accompanied by the smell of orange blossom.

The wonderfull breakfast was served, when and where you wanted to take it.

You really arrive first in "a dusty little street" and when you passed the "beautiful black door" you find yourself in a oasis of stillness. A realm of relaxation, woven into a feeling of being protected.

Congratulations to Carlos for this wonderfull place and his great staff, which gives this place its heartfull flavour.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice and each one is different from the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, CO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've stayed at a variety of places around the world and to many to count in America, rarely do reviews. We stayed at Riad Shambala for 5 days the 2nd week of March 2013 and were very happy with our choice. We liked the location in the medina as it was easy access to areas outside the Medina and about a 20 minute walk to the center square. In this area you would rarely have someone trying to sell you something as it is less touristy as you get closer to the Souks and square the more you are approached. What makes this place truly great is Mohammed and the rest of the friendly staff. Having someone like Mohammed to give you directions and other advice was key to us having the great vacation and experience that we had. He speaks English, Spanish , French, Arabic and Berber. The rooms are very clean with great hot water in the shower. We had one of the smaller rooms which was fine for us, they also have mini suites and larger suites if you need more room. i saw all the rooms. There is also wireless. The wireless was intermittent in the room, but world great in the lobby area. Great little terrace with great views on roof. The breakfast was good, yogurt, fruit, different breads etc, orange juice and good coffee which was nice, you never know what kind of coffee your going to get around the world or in America for that matter. We ate dinner at the Riad twice and had the same thing both times. The honey tagine chicken. It was the best thing I ate in Marrakech, very good the way it caramelized in the pot. Normally would not have eaten the same thing twice, but it was so good we had to have it again. Who knows when or if I will ever get back here? If you are going to eat dinner you should let them know ahead of time or earlier in the day so they can prepare for it. It's not a restaurant. They emailed me the menu prior to our arrival. There are cheaper options for tagine all over town, but this was by far the best we had so I would recommend it once. Probably a good idea for the night of your arrival as after a long trip especially when it is dark it was nice to relax and get familiar with the area the next morning.
We always felt safe everywhere we went in Marrakech.
A couple side notes, in the center square food stalls try the sausage at stall 32. Many of the locals were there eating the sausage which was great, we had read other reviews about it. A day trip to Essaouira which Mohammed recommend as far as day trips was also good. The place is beautiful, you could consider spending one night there as it is easier to shop then in Marrakech, one day was enough there for us, but again if you want to spend more time shopping you could stay over night. If you go to Essaouira you have to eat the prawns at the food stalls near the port that you read about. They are the best I have eaten anywhere in the world, we also had them in Barcelona at the market where they are recommended on this trip, they were good, but not as good as in Essaouira.
There was a couple from Spain and a couple from England also staying at the riad while we were there. We all talked about how much we loved the place and what a good choice it was. Again we loved staying here and if we went back would stay nowhere else. Thanks Mohammed and the rest of the staff for a wonderful stay! We would stay nowhere else when coming to Marrakech! The reason for 4 instead of 5 stars on sleep quality is because of noise, but I am a light sleeper, call of prayer which wasn't to loud, roosters, birds etc, but this is everywhere in Marrakech. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. My girlfriend never heard a thing, but she can sleep through anything. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthWest England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have just returned from a five day break at Riad Shambala in Marrakech with my partner and our 2 kids (10yrs &3yrs). When you first arrive you walk down this dusty little street to this beautiful black door with brass knocker. You tap the knocker on the solid door and it gently opens and you are greeted warmly by the manager or one of the attentive members of staff. Once inside you are in a beautiful oasis of calm and tranquility. Gentle lighting, soft music and comfy sofas & chairs surround a small central plunge pool. Off to the side is a charming little sitting room with open log fire. We were met by Mohamed who sat us down and greeted us with welcome tea and sweets. He sat with us and told us all about Marrakech and what to do and what to avoid and also made it very clear he was available any time day or night and for whatever reason. He made us feel incredibly welcome, safe and looked after.
He then took us to our room which was on the first floor over looking the pool and courtyard, and what a lovely room it was too. Great big raised bed with luxury duvet and pillows to one side and sink, toilet and shower to the other. Lots of fresh quality towels too. The kids loved the Riad and the staff were great with them ( we were definately the loudest family in the Riad). I to be honest was not expecting much from the breakfast and how wrong was I. Fantastic fresh fruit salad, yogurt, toast, pancakes, pain au chocolat, eggs, fresh juice, coffee all individually served. Absolutely delicious !!
We had a truly amazing holiday in Marrakech and loved the place and we also loved Riad Shambala... We can't recommend it enough !! Great location out of the hustle and bustle of the centre, but close enough to walk back from the central square too day or night. (10mins)
Overall 10/10

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I visited Marrakech last November 2012, and I stayed at the Riad Shambala for a full week. This Riad is quite new. It was built from the ground up by his owner a couple of years ago, but it was designed like an "old Riad" so it has lots of charm and charisma. The whole Riad was built by local artisans, everything was done manually, the rooms, the windows the doors etc, so it is appointed like a piece of art built with excellent craftsmanship.

Each room is designed and decorated to be unique, so you feel that the accommodations are specially designed for you. The rooms are not only beautiful but very comfortable. The shared areas in the Riad are like a little Moroccan palace, extremely well appointed and charming. The patios at the top of the Riad are great locations to enjoy time for a drink or dinner and watch the sunset with fantastic views of the medina.

The Riad is located inside the medina, so it is a short walk from any place at the medina and the local market, and there is easy access to a nearby gate to exit the medina and find taxis if you need to travel to visit other places of the city. The Shambala is located in a safe neighbourhood. I never noticed any sign of disturbance in the streets around the Shamnala, just the contrary, the area around this Riad was very authentic, and beautiful. Once you exit the main gate of the Riad into the streets you will mingle with the locals living a normal everyday life.

The service and customer attention are excellent. The general manager is always at the facility and he is extremely polite, useful and kind to provide anything you can imagine. The food is excellent and they will cater fantastic dinners if you like to enjoy a relaxing time at the end of the day overlooking the medina from one of the Riad's patios.

In general I think this is a fantastic Riad and a great value, for people traveling alone, couples and families alike.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had booked this Riad for 4 nights but when we arrived at 9PM, it turned out there was a mix-up with their booking office in Spain and there were no rooms available for us. My wife and I were very angry and upset. The staff called the manager, Mohamed, who immediately came over to the Riad to help fix the situation.

Mohamed was extremely apologetic. Since there was no possibility that they could give us a room, he helped us find another Riad that was available. He negotiated a 20% discount for us, and even paid for one of our 4 nights at the other Riad. The next day he invited us for breakfast at Riad Shambala. He gave us a map of the city, a booklet of restaurants, and then spent 30 minutes giving us recommendations about things to see, where to shop, and where to eat. He said we were welcome any day to come relax at Riad Shambala and have free tea.

The following day, we asked Mohamed where we could buy some Moroccan spices for gifts, and he insisted that we let him buy the spices for us. We tried to tell him we did not want to trouble him, but he would not let us say no.

The mix up was not Mohamed's fault, and he did not really have to help us. But he truly did everything he could to fix things so that we had a wonderful time in Marrakech. I'm sure that his attitude reflects the service of the entire Riad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadShambalaMarrakec, Propietario at Riad Shambala, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Michael,
you were right, we have a problem with the booking system (never happened before) and we got a duplicate reservation. Sorry for that.
Mohamed and me were all time taking care of you, and from the beginning I arrange other Riad for you with best price possible for you.
Please forgive us, and visit us next time!

Team Shambala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This riad is a little gem within the walls of the Medina, a haven of peace after the day's fatigue and the bustle of the streets and pushy merchants. A small team of friendly and charming people. We are delighted with the good advice, details and explanations about Marrakech gastronomy that Mohamed gave us, the luxury of charming conversation and time you would not find in a bigger hotel. I recommend it and hope to return.

Merci bien Mohamed, à bientôt je l'espère bien!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I really feel, I was living in Marrakech rather than visiting. This is an authenthic Riad but with all the conforts that you would expect in a small western boutique hotel. It was so nice to come back every afternoon after go around busy Marrakech, and enjoy the confort and hospitality of the profesional and extremily frendly staff. Breakfast was great and a couple of nights we didnt feel, like going out and they organice a dinner for us, wich was, I have to say the best of our trip. Even though is quiet a central location, the area is very quiet. . Highly recomended!!

Room Tip: Wherever I stay, I prefer top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Shambala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shambala

Address: Derb Sidi Messaoud 111, Arest Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful RIAD is located within the walls of Marrakech Medina or, as it is also known, the ancient part of the city.Inaugurated in September 2011, the hotel represents the realisation of Carlos, its owner´s, dream."Carlos' Dream" as it is known (which is inscripited in Arabic on the door of the Riad) brings to life his artistic interpretation and vision of a traditional Moroccan Riad.Every single detail, from the construction, the location, style & furnishings of the Riad are recreated in the classical & traditional manner which is typically Moroccan and one that the locals would recognise and admire as a typical Moroccan RiadThis vision enables the guests to engage themselves and appreciate the beauty and passion of this beautiful city with surroundings that bring to life of an era long forgotten but brought to life by the traditional settings of the Riad.During the Riad's construction only traditional Moroccan materials were used, such as Tadelakt plaster (concrete hand polished stone), Bejmat (baked clay), all of which was hand produced individually using traditional tools producing a complete piece of artisan work.Relax and enjoy drinking cocktail's or mint tea in its lounges or by the swimming-pool; far away from the hustle and bustle of the streets in the heart of Marrakech Medina, with the backdrop of the magnificient snowed Atlas mountains, or watch a beautiful sunset over the city at the end of the day, the choice is entirely yours.Do not miss the romantic experience of arriving at night at the Riad and going up to your room with a traditional candle lighting the way, whilst in the morning awake to a wonderful breakfast which can be taken in any of the Riad's charming locations or terraces.If you wish so, book your evening dinner at the Riad, you will certainly not forget the experience of tasting wonderful original Moroccan food on the patio or one of the many terraces, all set in a complete relaxed atmosphere enabling you to forget about the worries of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Shambala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shambala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.