We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henna Cafe

Henna Cafe
93 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 656-566374
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Nightlife in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Coffeehouse, Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Henna Cafe in Marrakech is a Cultural Association registered in Morocco. It provides: A multi cultural meeting place; a community cafe; a henna salon which offers an educational henna experience to visitors; a gallery of art by local aspiring artists and runs a weekly kids club offering free creative activities to the children of the Bab Doukalla area of the city. All of the profits from the cafe and the henna experience are used to provide assistance in Marrakech in the form of free education and supportive projects. We currently run a full timetable of lessons and educate 300+ people per week. We also offer funds to support worthwhile projects in Morocco, Details of our recent charitable activity can be seen at our website
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must visit........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The three of us have just been to the Henna cafe and we are all of the same opinion, amazing! The food is great, amazingly good value, really friendly people, not forgetting that it is for a good cause and finally, the most talented henna tattoo artist at such a reasonable rate, much cheaper than the square and individual spectacular designs. Thank you Henna cafe for the most relaxing evening so far of our trip to Marrakech.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    31
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing, authentic Henna Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a relaxing, calming and friendly small rooftop cafe, tasty fresh flavoursome food and a selection of Moroccan teas.

A perfect, no pressure, chilled place to get your chosen henna tattoo done by local girls and women, excellent value for money. They won't rip you off here, and you know that all your money goes to a good cause.

A definite must if you're after a henna tattoo and an authentic Moroccan meal at sun down.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cafe, delicious food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Simply delicious food, visited twice during our stay in Marrakech, recommend the lamb sandwich and Marrakech sandwich and the falafel. Easy to find as it's marked on the tourist map that hotels give you. Had a henna tatoo, was 150 Dirhams for one medium sized design on one foot. It's natural henna too so much better than the stuff they put on you in the square. It's probably not going to last as long as I would like but then I've probably not looked after it as well as I should. The staff are very friendly and it's just a lovely chilled out, hippy style place to be in Marrakech

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved the hand made items for sale here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very reasonably priced wooden plaques for sale here. We loved them. Also bought a few henna pictures for souvenirs. Highly recommended as all profits go to help the local people. Great food as well though slightly relaxed service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inexpensive, perfect day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend came to marrakech for a few days and I wasn't leaving until I had henna. The hotel claimed that the souks were the only place to have henna but the women put a lot of chemicals to make it black which can lead to a chemical burns and scaring. They also try and get more money despite an agreed upon price. So after findin the gem that was Henna Cafe I was so surprised that they were charging 150 MAD for an organic and original design!

The young girl is very talented and many Marrocan women commented that it was beautiful. We also decided to get some food which cost around £8 for two inc drinks. The staff are beyond kind and friendly so please tip well as all their profits go to help those in need....

An amazing place!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna Cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Henna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henna Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.