We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hottest little cool spot in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henna Cafe

Henna Cafe
93 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 57 shopping in Marrakech
Type: Specialty Shops
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Our Cafe in Marrakech provides: A meeting place Working space for Henna artists An exhibition space A classroom for the young people of Marrakech HennaCafeMarrakech supports projects and charities providing sustainable employment and education in Marrakech and other regions of Morocco
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hottest little cool spot in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I love this little cafe for the atmosphere, food, henna and local education programs. It is a nice meeting place on the well worn path between Bab Doukkala and Dar El Bacha. This area is a little less touristy and busy with every day life. After stopping by for a pot of mint tea, some lovely henna work and a Drop In Darija language lesson, there's plenty of opportunity to try your new skill at the various little shops and markets along the street. A small donation is all they ask for any of the classes offered for non-locals, so they can support free education for the locals! It is a good feeling to participate in the community.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Henna Café, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great little café and learning centre close to the palace in Dar El Bacha. I'm learning Darija there with Youssef, taking three hours a week. Very friendly and polite. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic food at henna cafe-all for charity helping underpriviledged women and kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a private arabic lesson and it was great really set me up for the holiday. food lovely aspecially the kefta sandwich.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
“The best hummus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We found this spot when we were wandering the area close to our riad. This lovely Hennacafé/restaurant/language-lesson-"school" in definately worth a visit or five!
Friendly staff, a nice roof terrace and the best hummus. And it's for a good cause as well!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Henna Café is a great experience... I had delicious typical food, I met local people and had lovely chats about cultur and travelling ideas in Morocco. I did a wonderful traditional Henna - shukran bezaf to Fatima... It's a place where you can feel the real Marrakech :-) I will come back soon... for sure!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna Cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Henna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henna Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.