We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Henna Café, great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henna Cafe

Henna Cafe
93 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 656-566374
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 530 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Henna Cafe in Marrakech is a Cultural Association registered in Morocco. It provides: A multi cultural meeting place; a community cafe; a henna salon which offers an educational henna experience to visitors; a gallery of art by local aspiring artists and runs a weekly kids club offering free creative activities to the children of the Bab Doukalla area of the city. All of the profits from the cafe and the henna experience are used to provide assistance in Marrakech in the form of free education and supportive projects. We currently run a full timetable of lessons and educate 300+ people per week. We also offer funds to support worthwhile projects in Morocco, Details of our recent charitable activity can be seen at our website
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Henna Café, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great little café and learning centre close to the palace in Dar El Bacha. I'm learning Darija there with Youssef, taking three hours a week. Very friendly and polite. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    26
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic food at henna cafe-all for charity helping underpriviledged women and kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a private arabic lesson and it was great really set me up for the holiday. food lovely aspecially the kefta sandwich.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best hummus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We found this spot when we were wandering the area close to our riad. This lovely Hennacafé/restaurant/language-lesson-"school" in definately worth a visit or five!
Friendly staff, a nice roof terrace and the best hummus. And it's for a good cause as well!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Henna Café is a great experience... I had delicious typical food, I met local people and had lovely chats about cultur and travelling ideas in Morocco. I did a wonderful traditional Henna - shukran bezaf to Fatima... It's a place where you can feel the real Marrakech :-) I will come back soon... for sure!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Got to Marrakech and had looked up this brilliant cafe that does red henna for charity...so easy and good quality in a relaxed, albeit small, indoor space. I had both palms done, and a small design on the back of my hands, the price was 500 dirhams, a bit pricy, but a small price to pay knowing that the ink was real red henna. A note: the cafe opens at 11am, so don't go in the morning (we went past at 10:30am and it was shut). The lady doing the henna clocks off at about 4-5pm...so time your trip right. It takes about 15-20 min per full hand (palm) to do. They also provide fabric bags to wrap your deign in. You should leave it about 8 hours, so go later in the afternoon to wear overnight, but buy some type of oil ( they recommend olive oil, but I used Argan oil that I bought as a hair oil) to rub the dry henna off in the morning. The places where the design flaked off in the evening were just as dark in the morning...brilliant. Highly recommended!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna Cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Henna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henna Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.