We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RIad Al Loune

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added RIad Al Loune to your Saves list
RIad Al Loune
77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
surrey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Peaceful riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were 3 couples wanting to relax after trekking in the Atlas Mountains. The riad was an oasis of peace and tranquility away from the bustle outside in Marrakech. Our bedroom was very comfortable , a large bed with white linen. We had a shower. Pretty rose petals scattered on the bed. The breakfast was plentiful. There was a roof terrace for sun bathing. The location is difficult to find at first but we did eventually get our bearings. A member of staff kindly acted as a walking taxi, we followed him to various restaurants and he came back for us on the first night. Staff very friendly and helpful when needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Never review places where I stay, but thought that my spectacular stay at Riad Al Loune warranted a marvellous one! The moment we stepped in we were treated by the managers and staff with the utmost care and respect - welcomed with pastries and mint tea.Always willing to help you with anything whether it be showing you through the alleys and souks of Marrakesh or simply booking excursions and taxis. The hotel is lovely - both traditional yet modern. We stayed in the spacious Grey Room which is on the second floor. The pool in the courtyard provides excellent respite and the roof terrace is lovely - offering panoramic views over the Medina. On my birthday my girlfriend and I were greeted by the staff with a lovely birthday cake to accompany our delicious breakfast - comprised of breads, pastries and preserves. The location of the Riad may seem daunting at first but it is located very close to all the main attractions - being only 5 minutes from the square, and Mohammed who works at the Riad can provide you a map and show you the way. Would definitely recommended the Riad to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

From the moment you cross the threshold of this beautiful property you will be transported to a bygone age of beauty, comfort and simple pleasures.

The manager and his staff will take care of your every need (including in our case meeting our taxi and guiding us on the 10 minute walk through the crowded streets to the front door). The tea provided on arrival sets the tone for your stay, nothing is too much trouble and all requests for assistance are met with a calm confidence that reassures you that you are in safe hands.

Breakfast was a feast and set us up properly for the adventures of the day.

Marrakech is a hot, vibrant, bustling city whose sights and sounds (and occasionally smells) can over power the senses. By contrast Riad al Loune is an oasis of calm into which you can retreat, regroup and refresh ready for the next adventure.

I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a/c. Pick a 1st floor room for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

A beautiful luxury riad in Marrakech Medina. Nice bedrooms, comfortable public rooms, swimming pool and hamman.
We were treated so well by the staff from the moment we arrived to the moment we went back home.
This is a wonderful Riad, the best place we have ever stayed at, and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Our visit to Riad Al Loune out surpassed our expectations. After a very warm and friendly Moroccan welcome with traditional tea and small pastries we were shown around the Riad and from the top terrace given an insight to its location in respect to the sights of Marrakech. Very useful in getting your bearings in what is an extremely difficult city to navigate! We stayed in the red room on the first floor which opened out onto its own private terrace looking down onto the inner sanctum below which is especially magical in the evening when lit by candle light. We would thoroughly recommend a stay at Riad Al Loune

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Beautiful and peaceful riad a few minutes walk from the sqare. Beautiful rooms, very clean and nice beds. Breakfast is very good even if the coffee could be better... The place is magic by night with many candles. Many riads can be resonsive because of thin doors towards the garden, and so is also this, but people genrerally spoke quitely so we where never disturbed by noice. The staff is very helpful and kind in all ways. The only thing we didn´t like was the music, mostly the same track, played again and again, but the staff turned it of when we asked, so there was not a problem.

Can really recommend this riad, and hope to be able to come back! It´s a great experience, like a fairytail, to stay here.

Room Tip: The Brown room is Beautiful, with entrance right to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Riad al Loune is a gorgeous riad, restored very beautifully and with very much attention to detail.
The inner patio with the plunge pool is very cozy, it also has a lounge room and is designated for breakfast also. We stayed in the brown room, which is better in real life than in photos, has a lot of space and has a huge bathroom. What I particularly appreciated was the heating of the room, which in January is much appreciated.
The top terraces are simple and have a stunning view of the Atlas mountains (especially at sunset). Staff is helpful with anything you need and breakfast is quite diverse.

2 things to consider when choosing this riad:
The location - it takes about 3 minutes to get there from the closest square and can be a bit challenging to get back to. After 2 says you get the hang of it and on the plus side you can always call someone from the riad to come pick you up, especially at night when there are few people in the street.
In the morning and at night it can be a bit noisy, especially if you have a room on the ground floor as we did. There is a strong echo because of the shape of the building, but this is something which probably happens in many riads.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a superior floor to get more privacy and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RIad Al Loune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIad Al Loune

Address: 77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad is located in Marrakech Medina's heart, a few steps from the Ben Yousseph Madrassa;few minutes walking distance from Djemaa el Fna square. The Riad has 7 rooms ( with air conditioning/heating, bathtub/shower, hairdryer),solarium,swimming pool,hammam, SPA (massages etc), relax zone,indoor moroccan dinners and parties on request (local food, music,dance).Upon request airport pick-up and drop-off.Walks and guided tours.Wi-fi ADSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your RIad Al Loune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIad Al Loune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.