We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad !! Won't be disappointed. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RIad Al Loune

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added RIad Al Loune to your Saves list
RIad Al Loune
77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great riad !! Won't be disappointed. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Such an amazing stay. Once you open the door to the riad you are in an absolute oasis. Great service and atmosphere. The riad only has a few rooms so it's very relaxing and feels like a home. Muhammad was very accommodating and gave us his cell number in case you ever had any issues. It was a bit hard for us to find but I think you can say that about any place in the medina. Follow Muhammad's advice and look for landmarks not street names. Also don't rely on GPS to find your way around :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
79
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked the Riad al Loune based on other great reviews and I can only agree.
Beautiful Riad, lovely staff- thanks to Muhammed who even got out to buy us a bottle of wine after we couldn't find a store selling it.
So calm and inviting and a very good location just close enough to the souks.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for seven nights in the brown room. The riad is breathtakingly beautiful, our room was sumptuous, clean and comfortable. The staff are so friendly, hospitable and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was plentiful, enough to keep you going all day. We asked for fried eggs on a couple of mornings for a change. This wasn't a problem at all.

Returning to the riad after a hectic day in the medina, avoiding scooters, cyclists, donkeys, sellers, beggars and tourists is just what you need to relax.

The lanes can seem a little confusing to start with, but its all part of the fun. We never felt unsafe. The locals like to know where you're from and welcome you to their country.

I would recommend this riad to anyone wishing to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I just came back from Morocco, and stayed 3 nights at Riad Al Loune. I have to say the best part of this riad is the staff. From the emails sent prior to our arrival letting us know important logistics, airport transfers, etc, to the extremely attentive service we received throughout our stay, the service was top notch. As all reviews mention the riad's beauty, etc I won't get into those details, but definitely agree with them all.
Overall, I would have given the riad a 4/5, but didn't want to as I didn't want to take the chance at lowering their rating, as they deserve to be well ranked. The two issues we had were;
1- The breakfast was ok, but could be improved. It was all breads, starches etc. I stayed at other riads during my trip in Morocco, and many had a little more variety including yogurt, fruit, occasionally eggs, etc.
2- The location is deep in the heart of the riad, which leads to a very authentic experience but unfortunately had some safety issues when coming home late at night. One of our first nights, we took a wrong turn in the medina and were lost. A teenage boy offered to show us the way home and brought us to our riad. When I tried to give him a tip (20DH), he got angry, saying it was too little. In the end we gave him 100DH to satisfy him, (as we were 2, and he was quite big, we wanted to avoid conflict). Obviously this is not the riad's fault, but unfortuntely the location is such that getting lost is a very good possibility and at the mercy of someone else to guide you home.
Again, the riad was wonderful, I would highly recomment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First of all, I want to Thank all of the wonderful staff for accommodating our every need during our recent stay here. The service, unlike other hotels was genuine and we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. The Riad is beautiful - understated on the outside, unexpected and magical inside.
Every last detail has been carefully considered to reflect contemporary and traditional Moroccan culture. It is a perfect, romantic getaway which is complete by birds singing and stunning picturesque views from the Terrace.

The Riad is situated in the centre of the Medina, 10 minutes from the Souks, 15-20 minutes from the Jemaa el-Fnaa. The medina is mysterious and magical in itself, once explored your route home won't be forgotten. We never felt any threat coming back late at night, and after an action filled day it was always a pleasure to enter this tranquil space and enjoy a coffee by the plunge pool.

We stayed in the green room, which again, was stunning. The room is spacious and the interior is creative and perfect. All rooms are equipped with air-con and complimentary water.
As our flight back wasn't until 6pm and check out was 12pm we were kindly allowed access to the red room to get ready/store our belongings, and may I add this is another stunning room with unique features and insightful photography.

Stay here to experience the real Marrakech, you won't be disappointed!

Well done on maintaining your Riad to such a high standard,
Thank-you again

Keep up all of the hard work,
Becky & George
England

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The helpfulness of the Riad al Loune began as soon as I had booked it when they sent me an email offering lots of information and helpful advice. They arranged pick up from the airport and guided us to the Riad which was brilliant as this was our first time in Marrakech and the streets of the Medina are bewildering to begin with. Entering the Riad is a wonderful experience - dusty streets one side of the door, an oasis of calm and beauty the other side! The central courtyard is lovely and our rooms were all very comfortable - just what we wanted and we really appreciated the air conditioning. There is a lovely roof terrace which was brilliant for sitting out in the evening. As this was our first night we had arranged for a meal to be served which was great and was served in the lovely courtyard by the small pool. This really was a good way to begin our time in Marrakech.

The staff at this Riad were really helpful and did everything to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. We only stayed one night because we had booked a villa just outside the city but we could easily have stayed a lot longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

As a young couple visiting Marakech, we were amazed by the beautiful comfortable and romantic room and common areas of Riad Al Loune. The service was excelent. Kadhija and Mohamed were extremely helpful and gentle with us, we are really impressed by the quality of the service. We regretted to have planned other things and not staying more days just to enjoy the Riad. Food was delicious and the terrace for breakfast was really cozy. We had a great time there and would like to go back for sure just to be at the Riad.
Thank you for everything Cecilia Silva, Kadhija and Mohamed, you made our trip unforgettable. Sol and Stephane

Room Tip: We tried one of the suites in the first floor and was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RIad Al Loune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIad Al Loune

Address: 77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad is located in Marrakech Medina's heart, a few steps from the Ben Yousseph Madrassa;few minutes walking distance from Djemaa el Fna square. The Riad has 7 rooms ( with air conditioning/heating, bathtub/shower, hairdryer),solarium,swimming pool,hammam, SPA (massages etc), relax zone,indoor moroccan dinners and parties on request (local food, music,dance).Upon request airport pick-up and drop-off.Walks and guided tours.Wi-fi ADSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your RIad Al Loune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIad Al Loune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.