We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RIad Al Loune

Save Saved
You added RIad Al Loune to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RIad Al Loune
77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is an absolutely fabulous place to stay in Marrakech Medina - I would recommend it to anyone. We stayed as a group of 4 friends, but this would equally suit single or couple travellers. The rooms are beautiful and very well equipped with lovely (if unlabelled!) toiletries. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and big enough to set you up for the whole day. The staff were very accommodating, taking our collective desire for more savoury items at breakfast in their stride and providing delicious omelettes as a result. We ate there the first night and the set menu they served was superb from start to finish. Very much a friendly, family run affair, the staff all made you feel extremely welcome - even up to springing an unrequested surprise birthday cake on one of our party. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Take care on the marble floors - particularly when the plants have been watered!

Room Tip: Whilst the riad itself is very quiet, the downstairs rooms do suffer from arrival / departure noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
72
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This Riad is an amazing oasis in the chaotic Medina of Marrakech. It has six beautiful bedrooms, each of them decorated with a special charm. On the terrace, there are some deck-chair where you can lay and enjoy the sunset and the view of city heart and surrounding mosques.
The breakfast is delicious and plentiful. “Thé a la menthe” with some great cookies is served whenever you like to. We also had dinner (that you need to pre-order) in the fantastic courtyard. The food was exquisite, the atmosphere pretty romantic (and at a great price too)!!!
The service is really awesome. Simon and Kadija go beyond your expectations, always happy to help you with whatever you need.
I totally recommend the transfer from the airport as well since the Riad is in a small alley and not easy to find.
Before our arrival, we got an email from the general manager Cecilia with useful information and things to do before getting to the Riad.
Summing up…a wonderful Riad with awesome people in it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fantastic Riad. From the moment you walk into the Riad you feel relaxed. The owner is very helpful and ensure that everything you need is arranged. If you want breakfast on the terrace but then five minutes later you decided it's too hot and want it by the pool, it's no problem. The rooms were cleaned beautifully. The breakfast was plentiful and the dinner was wonderful. We will definitely be recommending it to friends.

(Probably would not recommended for a single female traveller as location is down some narrow allies, however the owner am sure could arrange safe escort to souks)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Riad Al Loune certainly lives up to expectation. The service you receive from the team, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave is amazing - attentive but not overpowering. Nothing was too much trouble. The Riad is kept in fantastic condition - beautiful toiletries provided in the bathroom. We ate at the Riad twice - pre-ordering our meal in the morning. The food was lovely and traditional and served with a glass of wine. The lovely colourful Breakfast set you up for the day. This Riad certainly offers you a serene calm base which is needed after a day in the madness of Marrakech. Congratulations Riad Al Loune!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What an amazing place is this Riad. You can't believe that behind a door of a narrow 'derb' (allie) you will find such a beautiful building. The whole Riad is so grand and it has been decorated with such great taste. It was a pleasure to come back every day to this oasis after visiting a hectic and busy Marrakech and enjoy a ‘thé a la menthe’ in the courtyard. The place is kept spotlessly clean and in perfect condition.

Our room ‘Vert’ was incredibly beautiful, every little detail was special. Mohammed and Kadija were always eager to help and organised a lot of things for us such as reservations to restaurants and taxis.

Breakfast was excellent and abundant, and it was different every day!

I’m also very grateful for the emails I received from Cecilia, the general manager before we arrived, with very useful information. Booking our transfer from the airport to the Riad with them was a very good decision as we arrived quite late and knowing that somebody was waiting for us was really reassuring.

I would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms in the Riad and they are all amazing. We chose the Vert simply because i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This Riad is the best! We just returned as a couple and we felt so relaxed during our stay here. It's such a serene place with personal attention. You really feel like they take good care of you. The 'mama' cooks delicious! Her artichokes are out of this world!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscheid, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The service and the atmosphere in this Riad is incredible!!! After booking, we received a friendly email with all the details on how to get there and an offer to book a transfer organised by the Riad, what we finally did. We were picked up by taxi at the airport and then guided by a friendly staff member on the short walk through the Medina to the Riad. Once there, we were in the middle of the peaceful and lovely oriental atmosphere of the Riad Al Loune. Fresh mint tea and delicious Moroccan cookies were offered to us and we were asked to feel like home. This was not difficult! The staff looked after us in such a friendly way that we really felt like home.

The building and the rooms are in an oriental style and there are so many details in decoration that you just cannot believe how beautiful it is. You can choose if you want to have breakfast on the terrace or in the patio and you will get a rich Moroccan breakfast with pancakes, pastries, cake, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad.... We can also recommend to have an original Moroccan menu in the Riad cooked by the very friendly cook Rachida. A massage in the Riad is a must. It is done with Argan oil (be careful, in the Souks, the quality of Argan oil is not that high, but you can buy a bottle of good quality Argan oil in the Riad).

The Riad is located at the eastern end of the Souks, so you can be in the middle of the Souks after 2 minutes walk. The beautiful previous Koran school "Medersa Ben Youssef" and the Museum of Marrakech are reachable within 5 minutes walk. The famous square Djemaa el Fna is around 10 minutes walk away and on the way to it you will pass the beautiful spice market "Place des Epices". As the streets around the Riad are not allowed for cars you can take a taxi to visit places/have diner outside the medina directly from the Djemaa el Fna square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RIad Al Loune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIad Al Loune

Address: 77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad is located in Marrakech Medina's heart, a few steps from the Ben Yousseph Madrassa;few minutes walking distance from Djemaa el Fna square. The Riad has 7 rooms ( with air conditioning/heating, bathtub/shower, hairdryer),solarium,swimming pool,hammam, SPA (massages etc), relax zone,indoor moroccan dinners and parties on request (local food, music,dance).Upon request airport pick-up and drop-off.Walks and guided tours.Wi-fi ADSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your RIad Al Loune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIad Al Loune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.