We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RIad Al Loune

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added RIad Al Loune to your Saves list
RIad Al Loune
77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fantastic Riad. From the moment you walk into the Riad you feel relaxed. The owner is very helpful and ensure that everything you need is arranged. If you want breakfast on the terrace but then five minutes later you decided it's too hot and want it by the pool, it's no problem. The rooms were cleaned beautifully. The breakfast was plentiful and the dinner was wonderful. We will definitely be recommending it to friends.

(Probably would not recommended for a single female traveller as location is down some narrow allies, however the owner am sure could arrange safe escort to souks)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
79
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandbach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Riad Al Loune certainly lives up to expectation. The service you receive from the team, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave is amazing - attentive but not overpowering. Nothing was too much trouble. The Riad is kept in fantastic condition - beautiful toiletries provided in the bathroom. We ate at the Riad twice - pre-ordering our meal in the morning. The food was lovely and traditional and served with a glass of wine. The lovely colourful Breakfast set you up for the day. This Riad certainly offers you a serene calm base which is needed after a day in the madness of Marrakech. Congratulations Riad Al Loune!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What an amazing place is this Riad. You can't believe that behind a door of a narrow 'derb' (allie) you will find such a beautiful building. The whole Riad is so grand and it has been decorated with such great taste. It was a pleasure to come back every day to this oasis after visiting a hectic and busy Marrakech and enjoy a ‘thé a la menthe’ in the courtyard. The place is kept spotlessly clean and in perfect condition.

Our room ‘Vert’ was incredibly beautiful, every little detail was special. Mohammed and Kadija were always eager to help and organised a lot of things for us such as reservations to restaurants and taxis.

Breakfast was excellent and abundant, and it was different every day!

I’m also very grateful for the emails I received from Cecilia, the general manager before we arrived, with very useful information. Booking our transfer from the airport to the Riad with them was a very good decision as we arrived quite late and knowing that somebody was waiting for us was really reassuring.

I would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms in the Riad and they are all amazing. We chose the Vert simply because i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This Riad is the best! We just returned as a couple and we felt so relaxed during our stay here. It's such a serene place with personal attention. You really feel like they take good care of you. The 'mama' cooks delicious! Her artichokes are out of this world!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscheid, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The service and the atmosphere in this Riad is incredible!!! After booking, we received a friendly email with all the details on how to get there and an offer to book a transfer organised by the Riad, what we finally did. We were picked up by taxi at the airport and then guided by a friendly staff member on the short walk through the Medina to the Riad. Once there, we were in the middle of the peaceful and lovely oriental atmosphere of the Riad Al Loune. Fresh mint tea and delicious Moroccan cookies were offered to us and we were asked to feel like home. This was not difficult! The staff looked after us in such a friendly way that we really felt like home.

The building and the rooms are in an oriental style and there are so many details in decoration that you just cannot believe how beautiful it is. You can choose if you want to have breakfast on the terrace or in the patio and you will get a rich Moroccan breakfast with pancakes, pastries, cake, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad.... We can also recommend to have an original Moroccan menu in the Riad cooked by the very friendly cook Rachida. A massage in the Riad is a must. It is done with Argan oil (be careful, in the Souks, the quality of Argan oil is not that high, but you can buy a bottle of good quality Argan oil in the Riad).

The Riad is located at the eastern end of the Souks, so you can be in the middle of the Souks after 2 minutes walk. The beautiful previous Koran school "Medersa Ben Youssef" and the Museum of Marrakech are reachable within 5 minutes walk. The famous square Djemaa el Fna is around 10 minutes walk away and on the way to it you will pass the beautiful spice market "Place des Epices". As the streets around the Riad are not allowed for cars you can take a taxi to visit places/have diner outside the medina directly from the Djemaa el Fna square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

fantastic staff, well located, great price/quality. no hesitation in recommending highly. if you go try the small restaurant nearby, Naima. just a a family run place but best couscous we had in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston via Newfoundland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at Al Loune the week of 18-Mar and thoroughly enjoyed our time there! The staff was extremely helpful (Marrakech can be little difficult manage your way around at first and helped us get town initially), the meals were scrumptious, and the brown room way exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay there again if we ever make our way back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RIad Al Loune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIad Al Loune

Address: 77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad is located in Marrakech Medina's heart, a few steps from the Ben Yousseph Madrassa;few minutes walking distance from Djemaa el Fna square. The Riad has 7 rooms ( with air conditioning/heating, bathtub/shower, hairdryer),solarium,swimming pool,hammam, SPA (massages etc), relax zone,indoor moroccan dinners and parties on request (local food, music,dance).Upon request airport pick-up and drop-off.Walks and guided tours.Wi-fi ADSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your RIad Al Loune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIad Al Loune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.