We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supreme stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RIad Al Loune

Save Saved
You added RIad Al Loune to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RIad Al Loune
77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
sandbach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Supreme stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Riad Al Loune certainly lives up to expectation. The service you receive from the team, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave is amazing - attentive but not overpowering. Nothing was too much trouble. The Riad is kept in fantastic condition - beautiful toiletries provided in the bathroom. We ate at the Riad twice - pre-ordering our meal in the morning. The food was lovely and traditional and served with a glass of wine. The lovely colourful Breakfast set you up for the day. This Riad certainly offers you a serene calm base which is needed after a day in the madness of Marrakech. Congratulations Riad Al Loune!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
71
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What an amazing place is this Riad. You can't believe that behind a door of a narrow 'derb' (allie) you will find such a beautiful building. The whole Riad is so grand and it has been decorated with such great taste. It was a pleasure to come back every day to this oasis after visiting a hectic and busy Marrakech and enjoy a ‘thé a la menthe’ in the courtyard. The place is kept spotlessly clean and in perfect condition.

Our room ‘Vert’ was incredibly beautiful, every little detail was special. Mohammed and Kadija were always eager to help and organised a lot of things for us such as reservations to restaurants and taxis.

Breakfast was excellent and abundant, and it was different every day!

I’m also very grateful for the emails I received from Cecilia, the general manager before we arrived, with very useful information. Booking our transfer from the airport to the Riad with them was a very good decision as we arrived quite late and knowing that somebody was waiting for us was really reassuring.

I would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms in the Riad and they are all amazing. We chose the Vert simply because i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This Riad is the best! We just returned as a couple and we felt so relaxed during our stay here. It's such a serene place with personal attention. You really feel like they take good care of you. The 'mama' cooks delicious! Her artichokes are out of this world!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscheid, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The service and the atmosphere in this Riad is incredible!!! After booking, we received a friendly email with all the details on how to get there and an offer to book a transfer organised by the Riad, what we finally did. We were picked up by taxi at the airport and then guided by a friendly staff member on the short walk through the Medina to the Riad. Once there, we were in the middle of the peaceful and lovely oriental atmosphere of the Riad Al Loune. Fresh mint tea and delicious Moroccan cookies were offered to us and we were asked to feel like home. This was not difficult! The staff looked after us in such a friendly way that we really felt like home.

The building and the rooms are in an oriental style and there are so many details in decoration that you just cannot believe how beautiful it is. You can choose if you want to have breakfast on the terrace or in the patio and you will get a rich Moroccan breakfast with pancakes, pastries, cake, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad.... We can also recommend to have an original Moroccan menu in the Riad cooked by the very friendly cook Rachida. A massage in the Riad is a must. It is done with Argan oil (be careful, in the Souks, the quality of Argan oil is not that high, but you can buy a bottle of good quality Argan oil in the Riad).

The Riad is located at the eastern end of the Souks, so you can be in the middle of the Souks after 2 minutes walk. The beautiful previous Koran school "Medersa Ben Youssef" and the Museum of Marrakech are reachable within 5 minutes walk. The famous square Djemaa el Fna is around 10 minutes walk away and on the way to it you will pass the beautiful spice market "Place des Epices". As the streets around the Riad are not allowed for cars you can take a taxi to visit places/have diner outside the medina directly from the Djemaa el Fna square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

fantastic staff, well located, great price/quality. no hesitation in recommending highly. if you go try the small restaurant nearby, Naima. just a a family run place but best couscous we had in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston via Newfoundland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at Al Loune the week of 18-Mar and thoroughly enjoyed our time there! The staff was extremely helpful (Marrakech can be little difficult manage your way around at first and helped us get town initially), the meals were scrumptious, and the brown room way exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay there again if we ever make our way back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
457 helpful votes 457 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I am afraid this is likely to be a long review. Lots to report.
Firstly the riad. It is truly delightful, a real haven from the madness of the soukh. Gorgious bedrooms with wonderfully comfortable beds covered in the highest quality of - we think - Egyptian cotton. Decor is delightful and at times inspired. Mohamed, his wife and the staff could not be nicer or more helpful and we can certainly see where the previous reviewers are all coming from. Breakfast is a real treat, especially if the weather is not too inclement and it can be taken on the rooftop terrace. The public spaces are also wonderful. Yes five out of five.
However the four of us - staying in separate lovely rooms - all felt that the wondrous riad though has some negatives also which we wondered whether even to mention. However, for the sake of balance, it is better that potential visitors are fully aware.
Firstly the riad - unusually in our experience - is dry and they do not serve alcohol, despite their very best efforts to secure a permit. This could be a major setback for some, who like us love to relax on the rooftop terraces of Marrakech riads with a bottle of delicious and very cold white Moroccan wine. And some wine or a cold beer with our meals were also missed. That having been said, the food here is delicious and you must sample at least one main meal.
The second negative, is the position of the riad which is the longest walk we have ever had to make from the Djmaa el Fnaa, especially because you cannot really avoid a very long stretch of soukh, which at times can be very slow work. Going in the other direction the first point at which you can get a drive or a taxi is equally far away. This could be reversed into an asset if you want to get lost spiritually into the depths of the medina.
Cecile really is running an efficient inspired operation and is herself obviously aware of the drawbacks and which can be inherent in any riad.
To conclude though, ou won't find a prettier more delightful place run by better staff.

Now to Marrakesh!
The story here is not so good. Bear in mind that I have been coming to Morocco for 45 years and know it like the back of my hand. You can go to Essuoirea, Ourzazatta, Casablanca and certainly to the Southern towns of the Sahara fringes and really enjoy this wonderful country. However, Marrakesh is truly awful once you have taken out the visuals and the excitement. Everyone and I mean everyone on our plane seemed clear that they would never return. The money grabbling attitude here in this town is truly deplorable and most of all absolutely stupid. The experience for the visitor is truly horrific and this comes from someone who has been to every corner of Morocco. In particular, the nasty attitude to women, needs some real attention. OK, they see rich foreign tourists there for the picking, but unlike most other parts of the country, here, they have a dreadful approach to their trading and to their interraction with these same tourists. The aggression, the hassling, is beyond belief. Personally, it is not a problem and I can handle it, but to most, it is downright horrific and shows the Moroccan in a dreadful unacceptable light. The most important point to make, is that in Essouirea our friends finding the soukh a quiet pleasant undemanding place to buy, have spent almost a thousand pounds on purchases, yet spent virtually nothing in Marrakesh, which they would never return to. This was a story retold by many who we talked to.
There is no excuse for such boorish behaviour and I shall write to the tourist board pointing out the stupidity of it all and how much it needs to be knocked on the head.

Room Tip: If you have dodgy legs then make sure you get a ground floor room. The place is VERY quiet throughou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RIad Al Loune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIad Al Loune

Address: 77, Derb el Kadi | Azbezt, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad is located in Marrakech Medina's heart, a few steps from the Ben Yousseph Madrassa;few minutes walking distance from Djemaa el Fna square. The Riad has 7 rooms ( with air conditioning/heating, bathtub/shower, hairdryer),solarium,swimming pool,hammam, SPA (massages etc), relax zone,indoor moroccan dinners and parties on request (local food, music,dance).Upon request airport pick-up and drop-off.Walks and guided tours.Wi-fi ADSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your RIad Al Loune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIad Al Loune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.