We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do I start?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech
Derb Raouia No. 18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Where do I start?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Finding Mama was just awesome! I needed to take the train to Tangier in less than an hour and just had enough time to get the quick tour through the hostel and leave my backpack there to go to the train station. So I had the chance to enjoy all that is Mama when I came back a couple of days later. Karim is the greatest host ever!

The location of the hostel is also great, you can go to Jamaa El Fna by foot within minutes, and get a taxi to wherever you want to go. There are good places to eat around, and the hostel has a kitchen if you prefer to cook your food. Beds are comfortable and you can have warm/hot showers with abundant water. Moroccan breakfast as soon as you wake up and mint tea all day long!

I enjoyed chatting with other guests from all over the world and the environment of the hostel helps you to do it, starting with the staff which will make sure you feel at home. Im planning on going back to Morocco soon and for sure I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    12
    6
    8
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
4
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I cannot deny that my friend and I were very nice welcomed in the hostel when we arrived. As soon as we arrived, the host brought us a very nice breakfast free of charge, he didn't even know if we were staying there yet! It is a very friendly clean place, home for world travelers, and the showers were awesome. We left our bags there for 3 nights and nobody charged us for it! ON THE OTHER HAND, the only night we slept there, I got terribly bit by bed bugs. You should have seen my back afterwards. So, you can stay here, they are nice and friendly and the place is cozy, great value for budget travelers, but please bring your own sheets or sleep in your sleeping bag!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for only one night in the 5 bed dorm. The scene was pretty cool when I got there- a bunch of kids playing guitar and smoking hash, telling travel stories. Pure backpacker haven. The riad is set around a central room where everyone hangs out (late into the night...), and all of the bedrooms are off this area. So, it can be really loud- you have to be prepared for that.

I woke up at 4am itching like crazy. My first thought was no no no, bedbugs. I turned on the light and sure enough, two bedbugs running around the bed like crazy. I immediately hopped off the bed and went to talk to the manager to let him know and ask for another bed and he laughed me off. The place is pretty dirty and it was super cheap, so I should have expected that. Also, when I left and got to a new hostel (Waka Waka, which was really nice and had a friendly staff), I reached into my bag and a cockroach was running around. The only place it could have gotten in there was from Mama Marrakech in the locker, so, that's gross. Beware if you stay there. Check your bed and check it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have been told about this precious place by a close friend of mine just before leaving my country to travel through Marocco. Well, I have been very lucky because Mama Marrakech is definitely a magic place, and as a magic place it's able to attract interesting people. I really enjoyed the time i spent there with Karim, Younes, Abi and Youssef as well as all the travellers i met there in the days.

I hadn't planned my trip so much and i wanted to go to Essaouira but didn't know where, "no problem" they told me about another cool place in Esssaouira where i went for a few days, after that i missed Marrakech and the guys so bad that i didn't hesitate a second before deciding to spent a few more days with Mama. They are very friendly and willing, i found their attitude kind like MI CASA ES TU CASA, "No problem. You're my friend come when you want, leave your stuff here!".

The only negative aspect i have to admit is that in Mama you could spend more days than expected, cause it's such a good time. If you're in Marrakech just try it, chill, have fun, meet new people and you'll probably be like me... planning for a second time. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcazar de San Juan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Easily one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. I've never wanted to spend so much time chilling in one place. The hostel is spacious and comfortable, the staff were helpful and a great laugh and I met some awesome people. Truly a safe haven in the middle of a crazy city. I didn't want to leave and I don't have a bad thing to say. If you're a solo traveler, this is the place to come.

Room Tip: Sleep on the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, chilled out common area. Visit was great for a large group as part of a tour, however as its a raid and can get hot, can be noisy if you aren't one of the ones socialising in the common room/area. Toilets/showers are good for Morocco budget hotel/hostels.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The dorm room we stayed in was right next to the common room and because of the heat we had to keep the window open, so all the noise from the common room was right under our ears. Some people didn't stop talking (quite loudly) even after we spoke to them and I think the staff should have intervened. We didn't ask them to, true, but still.

Other than that, the breakfast was not that great, with an omelette and some bread split between 2 people. Toilets were also not the cleanest I've seen, but at least there was hot water. The location was really good though, close to the main square.

There's a pretty good choice of riads in Marrakech, I wouldn't stay here again simply because of the noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

Address: Derb Raouia No. 18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description of Property and Hostel: Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech is a warm friendly place that welcomes travelers and backpackers, ages 18 and over, from all the far corners of the world. We have a tremendous amount of experience in the hospitality industry. Collectively, we are native English, French, Arabic and Spanish speakers so we can understand what travelers need during their stay in a place that may or may not be familiar. As our guest, you can relax on our beautiful garden terrace and drink free mint tea all day if you desire. If you are feeling social, mingle with other guests listening to music in our comfortable ground floor salon and even feel free to cook yourself a meal in our kitchen, using the wonderful spices you may have just gotten from the Souks. We can also help you set up the adventure of your life with day and night trips to other cities… Go to the beach for the day in Essaouira, take a hike on the trails and waterfalls in the mountains of Ourika Valley or even go camel riding and spend some time in the Sahara… After a few days of adventure, you may want to relax, come back to Mama Marrakech and sense that this hostel is your home away from home. We desire that you to feel that this experience is one you want to tell your friends about or feel safe enough to come back alone, because you are a part of our extended family! Accomodations: Three large mixed dorm rooms available: Dorm One- 5 single beds with bathroom en-suite Dorm Two- 6 single beds, Dorm Three - 6 single beds. All dorms have a bathroom a few feet away from the room and all clients have access to the bathroom and shower on the terrace. There are 3 nice European style bathrooms with hot water showers in the hostel. Prices: 120 Moroccan Dirhams per person per night for dorm 1 with 5 beds and bathroom in the room (approximately 12,50 Euros), 100 Moroccan Dirhams per person per night for dorm two and three (approximately 9,00 Euros). Private rooms are possible for groups that can fill the accommodation desired room or entire hostel. Prices can be arranged by email based on the needs of each party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.