We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech to your Saves list
Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech
Derb Raouia No. 18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hostel is located 5 to 10 min from the square actually easy to find but make sure you know the number of the house since there are no signs on the outside saying that this is the hostel...
warm welcome with tea, the owner yussef is a really nice guy who will help you with all kind of things ( going out, booking trips etc.) and takes his time to sit with the guests of the hostel on the terasse or in the lobby to have good conversations and maybe music and drinks... rest of the staff is just as open and helpful as him..amazing breakfast...tasteful interior design in the rooms, lobby and terasse... small working kitchen with all the stuff you need for cooking...Rooms and bathrooms are clean ( unlike it's said in other reviews here)... in Mama Marrakech you get a great hostel for low coasts.. great atmosphere beacause you get to know other people and have great evenings but you can find a quiet place to relax if you wish to

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    6
    8
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
4
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Mama Marrakesh is the perfect place to stay for single travellers. Youssef and Karim are very welcome to every guest so when staying there you directly feel like being part of a bigger family. I really enjoyed the time at Mama Marrakesh, the amazing mint tea, the delicious breakfast and the nice conversations we had. I can defininetly recommend this hostel to everybody who appreciates a warm-hearted place and nice conversations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hostel is really cute! Situated in an atmosfearing street and near the central place.. You can drink tea everytime you want, the beds are comfortable and the staff very helpfull. Go there, people!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hostel is by far the best I have stay in yet and considering the amount of hostels I've stayed in my four months of travelling south america and in Morocco, that speaks volumes.
It nice to have the privacy, there is no sign up on the door so they is no beggers outside or even knocking on the door at all hours - which is something i have experienced when there is signed indicating where the hostel is from the main street. The decoration of the hostel is all original Moroccan design, which in great to experience culture from the place you are staying. There are lockers in every room with your own key, comfortable beds, bed sheets are changed every other day I think, 3 showers and 4 toilets one more of each if you count the en suite in one of the bedrooms, its among the cleanest i have stayed in, breakfast is 3 and is practically 3 courses with omelette, bread, jam, a large flat Moroccan pancake kind of thing, that is coated in honey, slices of orange with Moroccan coffee or tea which ever you prefer. Mint tea is always free all day and night and always being made for the guests.
The best thing about this place is the atmosphere. Its so chilled and relaxed, really is like being at home chilling in the living area or the roof terrace. the terrace is always a sun trap all day for the sun bathing enthusiast.. The staff are amazing, Kareem who make breakfast is very sweet and speak good english and is on hand to help you with what ever when ever you need it. The owners Yusif and Crystal also don't have the word no in their vocabulary either and are on hand or at the end of the phone should you need anything.
Overal I woud strongly recommend staying here if you are in morocco. All the above aside, the location is perfect, being only 5 min walk from the square and bus routes, its quite at night, and all day, but the madness of Marrakech is not far away. There are really cheap places to eat and shop on the street the hostel is on, nothing is to far away.. THIS PLACE IS AWESOME!!!

Room Tip: there are different price of rooms, the most expensive being the one with the en suit, then there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The bedding in this hostel is basic. A mattress on the floor with some warm blankets and ok pillows. I slept well in the hostel and felt safe and happy. We stayed for three nights, with a night out in the Sahara in the middle of our stay. Lockers are provided in the rooms and a great breakfast was served each morning. Bathrooms were fine, 2nd floor bathroom probably the best. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the roof area, and the free mint tea. Staff were friendly and the location was quite good, - a short walk to the marketplace square Jamaa el-Fnaa. Would recommend to travelers who are ok with roughing it ever so slightly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is one of 3 Riad's we stayed at in Marrakech. Most people have mentioned that it is hard to find - it is like that with a large majority of riads, even if they do have signs the Marrakech numbering/lane way system is odd. The staff are so welcoming and try their hardest to make you feel at home.
What we liked best about this Riad though is how traditional it is. The low tables, beds, chairs etc make for a great vibe and make you feel as if you are experiencing the real Morocco. On top of this the Moroccan breakfast is awesome and the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I visited Mama Marrakesh on an "off" day. The reviews were great and I booked three days. However my stay was anything but pleasant.

The story goes: I was woken up on my first night to a yelling match between: the owner Yusef and neighbours who had complained about noise, then Yusef and 4 Australian twenty-somethings who had been causing disruption on the roof for the 3rd night in the row, Yusef and his staff/wife Crystal, then the owner and the whole neighbourhood. Yelling and cursing and pushing and shoving. The whole hostel was up into the wee hours of the morning waiting for the fight to finish.

He justified the situation that night and the next morning but never actually apologized. Crystal was mostly apologetic but didn’t offer any solutions to the problem.

While I understand conflicts happen, people get rowdy and problems occur, as a business owner – act professionally. And if you can’t do that, at least stick up and apologize for it. Own the problem and give your guests a reason to stay.

As for cleanliness, it was sub-par. Cockroaches roamed quite free.

I was deeply disappointed with the lack of professionalism and manner in which they dealt with a difficult situation. I would not recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal G, Owner at Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
As you stated Mate, our reviews and reputation are great for a reason. Our clients for the most part, really enjoy their time with us and we love hosting their stay in Marrakech!

You have mentioned this incident on several websites now and since you keep mentioning our reviews are great proves that this was an occurrence not normal to anyone’s stay at Mama Marrakech. Once again, we are very sorry that your stay with us was not pleasant but you left and never allowed us the opportunity to “offer you a reason to stay”. We “owned the problem” by removing the guests from the hostel that night, but as you saw, they did not want to leave easily which is what made the additional noise.

It is not enough, we see now, that you are telling this story over and over but now you are embellishing. What you did not mention on the other hostel site and are mentioning here is the comment of cleanliness and cockroaches that is really not true. We have lived and work in the hostel and I, Crystal, can assure you because of our full-time cleaning staff and my honest fear of “cockroaches”, we have never had them and nor do we have them now or ever will. So you are really upset about what happened and you find it not enough to tell the story but are trying to truly damage our reputation.

As for the conflict, you booked for 3 nights but only stayed one (that night), so you did not see the pleasant time of the other guests who were there with you. They did not see a reason to write about this, (as you did-more than once), had a wonderful free tagine dinner to explain the situation they experienced, apologize again, get to know each other and us and overall have reviewed a wonderful stay.

As you keep mentioning online, yes, night one our neighbors called the owners about the drunken rowdiness of our 4 guests and we asked them “professionally” and calmly to respect the hostel, our other guests and the neighborhood. They said okay and again on night two, the same thing occurred, which you may have heard them admit to on the last night, that we spoke to them for the 3rd night in a row, getting out of bed to come and address them and the night staff at the hostel. The “solution to the problem” was that they needed by leave the facility, in which they did…eventually but not easily.

I am deeply disappointed at your lack of understanding considering I spent quite some time with you explaining, apologizing, as you mentioned and you agreed they needed to leave and said, more than anyone, that you understood. Then before you left the next day for what you said was a night in Essaouira, you lied to me saying that you were returning but you never did come back. Now you write as if you stayed your entire booking and your entire stay was one unprofessional act after another.

As you mentioned, things happen, but the city of Marrakech and our hostel hosts guests from all over the world, being open and doing an extraordinary job of giving the tourists who visit a memorable and wonderful time. Respect has to given on both sides. It is our relationship with our neighbors that help to facilitate that wonderful and safe time for you. We cannot allow our guests to disrespect them and nor would we allow anyone to disrespect our guests. For that reason, you experienced that unusual night.

Mama Marrakech Owners and Staff
Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

Address: Derb Raouia No. 18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description of Property and Hostel: Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech is a warm friendly place that welcomes travelers and backpackers, ages 18 and over, from all the far corners of the world. We have a tremendous amount of experience in the hospitality industry. Collectively, we are native English, French, Arabic and Spanish speakers so we can understand what travelers need during their stay in a place that may or may not be familiar. As our guest, you can relax on our beautiful garden terrace and drink free mint tea all day if you desire. If you are feeling social, mingle with other guests listening to music in our comfortable ground floor salon and even feel free to cook yourself a meal in our kitchen, using the wonderful spices you may have just gotten from the Souks. We can also help you set up the adventure of your life with day and night trips to other cities… Go to the beach for the day in Essaouira, take a hike on the trails and waterfalls in the mountains of Ourika Valley or even go camel riding and spend some time in the Sahara… After a few days of adventure, you may want to relax, come back to Mama Marrakech and sense that this hostel is your home away from home. We desire that you to feel that this experience is one you want to tell your friends about or feel safe enough to come back alone, because you are a part of our extended family! Accomodations: Three large mixed dorm rooms available: Dorm One- 5 single beds with bathroom en-suite Dorm Two- 6 single beds, Dorm Three - 6 single beds. All dorms have a bathroom a few feet away from the room and all clients have access to the bathroom and shower on the terrace. There are 3 nice European style bathrooms with hot water showers in the hostel. Prices: 120 Moroccan Dirhams per person per night for dorm 1 with 5 beds and bathroom in the room (approximately 12,50 Euros), 100 Moroccan Dirhams per person per night for dorm two and three (approximately 9,00 Euros). Private rooms are possible for groups that can fill the accommodation desired room or entire hostel. Prices can be arranged by email based on the needs of each party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.