We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech
Derb Raouia No. 18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic but great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The bedding in this hostel is basic. A mattress on the floor with some warm blankets and ok pillows. I slept well in the hostel and felt safe and happy. We stayed for three nights, with a night out in the Sahara in the middle of our stay. Lockers are provided in the rooms and a great breakfast was served each morning. Bathrooms were fine, 2nd floor bathroom probably the best. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the roof area, and the free mint tea. Staff were friendly and the location was quite good, - a short walk to the marketplace square Jamaa el-Fnaa. Would recommend to travelers who are ok with roughing it ever so slightly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    12
    6
    8
    14
See reviews for
Families
0
4
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is one of 3 Riad's we stayed at in Marrakech. Most people have mentioned that it is hard to find - it is like that with a large majority of riads, even if they do have signs the Marrakech numbering/lane way system is odd. The staff are so welcoming and try their hardest to make you feel at home.
What we liked best about this Riad though is how traditional it is. The low tables, beds, chairs etc make for a great vibe and make you feel as if you are experiencing the real Morocco. On top of this the Moroccan breakfast is awesome and the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I visited Mama Marrakesh on an "off" day. The reviews were great and I booked three days. However my stay was anything but pleasant.

The story goes: I was woken up on my first night to a yelling match between: the owner Yusef and neighbours who had complained about noise, then Yusef and 4 Australian twenty-somethings who had been causing disruption on the roof for the 3rd night in the row, Yusef and his staff/wife Crystal, then the owner and the whole neighbourhood. Yelling and cursing and pushing and shoving. The whole hostel was up into the wee hours of the morning waiting for the fight to finish.

He justified the situation that night and the next morning but never actually apologized. Crystal was mostly apologetic but didn’t offer any solutions to the problem.

While I understand conflicts happen, people get rowdy and problems occur, as a business owner – act professionally. And if you can’t do that, at least stick up and apologize for it. Own the problem and give your guests a reason to stay.

As for cleanliness, it was sub-par. Cockroaches roamed quite free.

I was deeply disappointed with the lack of professionalism and manner in which they dealt with a difficult situation. I would not recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal G, Owner at Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
As you stated Mate, our reviews and reputation are great for a reason. Our clients for the most part, really enjoy their time with us and we love hosting their stay in Marrakech!

You have mentioned this incident on several websites now and since you keep mentioning our reviews are great proves that this was an occurrence not normal to anyone’s stay at Mama Marrakech. Once again, we are very sorry that your stay with us was not pleasant but you left and never allowed us the opportunity to “offer you a reason to stay”. We “owned the problem” by removing the guests from the hostel that night, but as you saw, they did not want to leave easily which is what made the additional noise.

It is not enough, we see now, that you are telling this story over and over but now you are embellishing. What you did not mention on the other hostel site and are mentioning here is the comment of cleanliness and cockroaches that is really not true. We have lived and work in the hostel and I, Crystal, can assure you because of our full-time cleaning staff and my honest fear of “cockroaches”, we have never had them and nor do we have them now or ever will. So you are really upset about what happened and you find it not enough to tell the story but are trying to truly damage our reputation.

As for the conflict, you booked for 3 nights but only stayed one (that night), so you did not see the pleasant time of the other guests who were there with you. They did not see a reason to write about this, (as you did-more than once), had a wonderful free tagine dinner to explain the situation they experienced, apologize again, get to know each other and us and overall have reviewed a wonderful stay.

As you keep mentioning online, yes, night one our neighbors called the owners about the drunken rowdiness of our 4 guests and we asked them “professionally” and calmly to respect the hostel, our other guests and the neighborhood. They said okay and again on night two, the same thing occurred, which you may have heard them admit to on the last night, that we spoke to them for the 3rd night in a row, getting out of bed to come and address them and the night staff at the hostel. The “solution to the problem” was that they needed by leave the facility, in which they did…eventually but not easily.

I am deeply disappointed at your lack of understanding considering I spent quite some time with you explaining, apologizing, as you mentioned and you agreed they needed to leave and said, more than anyone, that you understood. Then before you left the next day for what you said was a night in Essaouira, you lied to me saying that you were returning but you never did come back. Now you write as if you stayed your entire booking and your entire stay was one unprofessional act after another.

As you mentioned, things happen, but the city of Marrakech and our hostel hosts guests from all over the world, being open and doing an extraordinary job of giving the tourists who visit a memorable and wonderful time. Respect has to given on both sides. It is our relationship with our neighbors that help to facilitate that wonderful and safe time for you. We cannot allow our guests to disrespect them and nor would we allow anyone to disrespect our guests. For that reason, you experienced that unusual night.

Mama Marrakech Owners and Staff
Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed here with girlfriend for around a week. Both 23 and travelling alone together. We booked out a dorm room to have for ourselves.

Very hard to find this hostel. No signposts or even markings on the building door, a completely anonymous building. Spent several hours looking for this property (bear in mind, most streets in Marrakech are unnamed/unmarked too, so left left right right left left left right etc etc becomes quite confusing when following directions from the main square). Not what you want in roasting heat in a foreign city when you’re carrying luggage. I’d only recommend staying here if you have somebody meet you and take you there.

Rooms are very basic and badly lit. Bathrooms equally antiquated, lots of damp. Beds are narrow and rock solid, no pillows just the old fashioned cushions which I’d compare to 19th century chinese corn pillows - i.e. pretty solid. The mattresses were right on the floor.
There’s a lovely terrace on the roof, with a shaded sections. Great for escaping the hustle of Marrakesh, and the midday heat.
The hostel advertises that it has a kitchen available for use. It does not. The owner said there was a plan for this to be built, either way, there wasn’t.

Breakfast was included, but very poor. A one egg omelette and a miniscule helping of bread/jam. The coffee was always watered down to being coffee tasting water. Me and my girlfriend, and other guests we noticed, would go out and get our own breakfast each day afterwards. This very minimal breakfast is normal in cheap accommodation in north Africa and also the Middle east, however when you’re paying for breakfast you expect breakfast.

The guesthouse - like most in the city - acts as a reseller for tours operated by local tour companies. Before we could get into our room the guesthouse owner asked if we were interested in any tours, we stated that we were not. But still had to sit through their sales pitch not able to get away. Marrakesh is a heckling city, if you’ve been to one you’ll know what I mean by the term. And the guesthouse you stay in is one you want to get away from hecklers.

Advertised as having English speaking staff. One in five of them were English speakers. Two could say hello and tea.

The owner was very friendly and happy to help with recommendations or knowledge on the local area. We wanted to rent bikes and the owner called around some local places and got prices for us.

You can get free tea anytime of the day, which is very nice, and a great touch of hospitality. Just what you need after a day in Marrakesh.

All in all it was a nice place, but only stay if you can get a cheap price and know that it’s not all it seems, as it’s not worth anything more than a budget price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destelbergen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hostel is an excellent place to stay when you visit Marrakech. If you book in advance, they welcome you like their own familly, and when you pop up a few day's later (unexpected) they welcome you even more, because they are so intrested in hearing your travel stories. This place is really a feel home place in a big city far away from home. On my next trip to Marrakech, I know where I will be staying. RIAD MAMA MARRAKECH (4sure)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Good price, good owner, newly open, nice riad, terraces, typical maroccain. The beds were quite narrow. but the place is quiet, little bit hard to find, we had a luck and ask the man directly infront of the hostel if he has an idea where it is. you have to knock on the door and the door were not signed. breakfast was ok, facilities clean, one bathroom on the 1st floor, one on the roof

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I had a lovely stay at Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech on my recent trip to Morocco. I can definitely see why they won an award for "Best Atmosphere." It was my first time staying at a hostel and I was quite comfortable. The hostel is beautifully decorated and is a relatively short walk from the main square. They provide free towels and breakfast each morning, which includes delicious crepes, fresh bread, Moroccan pancakes and coffee. I also enjoyed two excursions arranged for me by the owners -- to Essaouira and the Sahara Desert.

Crystal and Youssef, the owners, made me feel very welcome. They are great hosts and their staff is very friendly. In many ways, it felt like a "home away from home."

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

Address: Derb Raouia No. 18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description of Property and Hostel: Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech is a warm friendly place that welcomes travelers and backpackers, ages 18 and over, from all the far corners of the world. We have a tremendous amount of experience in the hospitality industry. Collectively, we are native English, French, Arabic and Spanish speakers so we can understand what travelers need during their stay in a place that may or may not be familiar. As our guest, you can relax on our beautiful garden terrace and drink free mint tea all day if you desire. If you are feeling social, mingle with other guests listening to music in our comfortable ground floor salon and even feel free to cook yourself a meal in our kitchen, using the wonderful spices you may have just gotten from the Souks. We can also help you set up the adventure of your life with day and night trips to other cities… Go to the beach for the day in Essaouira, take a hike on the trails and waterfalls in the mountains of Ourika Valley or even go camel riding and spend some time in the Sahara… After a few days of adventure, you may want to relax, come back to Mama Marrakech and sense that this hostel is your home away from home. We desire that you to feel that this experience is one you want to tell your friends about or feel safe enough to come back alone, because you are a part of our extended family! Accomodations: Three large mixed dorm rooms available: Dorm One- 5 single beds with bathroom en-suite Dorm Two- 6 single beds, Dorm Three - 6 single beds. All dorms have a bathroom a few feet away from the room and all clients have access to the bathroom and shower on the terrace. There are 3 nice European style bathrooms with hot water showers in the hostel. Prices: 120 Moroccan Dirhams per person per night for dorm 1 with 5 beds and bathroom in the room (approximately 12,50 Euros), 100 Moroccan Dirhams per person per night for dorm two and three (approximately 9,00 Euros). Private rooms are possible for groups that can fill the accommodation desired room or entire hostel. Prices can be arranged by email based on the needs of each party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.