We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Brahim

Chez Brahim
Jamaa El Fna Rue Derb Dabachi N 86-87, Marrakech, Morocco
0650236204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 590 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Listed as having air conditioning but it comes out as a haze which wets everything, especially the rose petals on the table which then go soggy and can appear in your meal at some stage. Service is good, food nice, entertainment not too noisy or intrusive - there are two restaurants quite close to each other - Chez Brahim 2 slightly cheaper

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    310
    80
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the waiters asking you to try their restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We read about this place in our guidebook and decided to try it. It was very busy inside but we got a seat at the window so we could watch the crowds go by. There is live music that wasn't too loud and added to the atmosphere. We tried the 100dh set menus which were quite good value for money and arrived quickly. Try the beef tagine if you go here as it was very soft and tender. It also had the mist spraying above which helped cool us down which was by much needed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Enjoyable And Inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We particularly went early so it was not too busy. Good quick friendly service, food was good we had the chicken pastille and beef tagine. Both very tasty. Would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
2 reviews
“Chez Brahim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

delicious marrocain specialities, good service, cosy design in marrocain style. Plates to be tried: couscous, tajine, marrocain soup (there s a name which i forgot but it's very known)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“OK, but so many better options.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We gave in... After walking past the tout outside for 4 days and being pestered every-time, my wife and i finally found ourselves on an evening where we wanted dinner and didn't want to walk far in the crowds... and Chez Brahim was only steps away from our Riad. ...so we gave in...
The eating room on the top floor was quite packed, the tables are very close together (they had to move them to let people in and out), and we immediately did not want to sit where they indicated (basically the middle of a long, full table). We said no and made to leave, ...eventually they "let" us sit at a table at the back of the room for 3. Perhaps this set us up for poor service - who knows.
The menu is very extensive, and the food was actually very nice. We had a tagine and a pastilla - both taseted fine... not the best we had in Marrakesh, but just fine for a mid-level place.
I guess my biggest criticism though is getting back to the service. The guys working there seemed to concentrate of getting as many people packed into the place, and then getting them through dinner as quickly as possible. There were no niceties, we did not feel welcome or that they were happy we were there, ...once we were in the door it was a race to see how quickly they could get us through and then to get the table filled again.
Would I recommend this place... not sure. It is clean, the food is tasty, and it will appeal to tourists (the only people in the place),... but given all the choices in the area, I am sure that there are much better and less expensive places that truly want you to be a guest, and are happy to let you know it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Brahim also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Brahim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Brahim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.