We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimilist - Modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mooi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mooi Hotel
Save
You added Mooi Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Avenue Echouada | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #321 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Tetouan, Morocco
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Minimilist - Modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Staying in a traditional riad in Marrekech is always lovely however, recently I had the opportunity to overnight at Le Mooii Hotel. This small boutique hotel is only a couple of years old and its’ design is very much minimalist. Rooms are spacious and light, with a wall of windows and sliding doors opening onto a small balcony. The decor was white with soft grey accents. I had a single room booked which to my pleasant surprise had a king size bed, not often the case in Moroccan hotels, as well as beautiful linen and dreamy pillows. Another pleasant surprise was a complimentary platter of fruit and plate of Moroccan pastries.

I also loved the spacious bathroom with its generous’ walk-in shower space and large cascading shower-head.

Rececption staff are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and efficient. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and served in the bar/cafe/restaurant next door (adjoining & part of the hotel). Breakfast consisted of fresh orange juice, good coffee, basket of fresh bread & pastries, served with butter, cheese & confiture.

Within a short walking distance is an ATM, Carrefore Supermarket, the excellent Cafe Extrablatt, Comptoir Darna & Theatro.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Mooï Hotel because of its location in the new town's Hivernage District. The hotel is located a 20 minutes' walk away from the Medina (Jemaa el-Fna Square). The location is great (quiet but close to trendy bars and restaurants, an ATM and a Carrefour).

In order to guarantee the reservation, we had to e-mail a copy of our credit card and passport. When we arrived, the gentleman at the reception told us that we would have to pay cash, as their credit card machine didn't work. We tried to insist paying by card, based on the bureaucratic reservation process mentioned above, but were told it's not possible. Instead of welcoming us with a glass of mint tea, we had to negotiate our form of payment - that's not how you make your guests feel at ease...

The room's decoration is a bit sober (all white, there is not one painting on the walls). Otherwise the room was spacious, clean and had a good bed. We missed a hair dryer in the bathroom...

You can choose between Continental and Moroccan breakfast (which we were only told on the second day) and while we were alone in the restaurant, the service was quite slow.

Don't get tricked by the pictures of the pool on the rooftop. You won't be able to swim in it... Nevertheless, it's nice to sit next to it and appreciate the view of the city.

We were quite disappointed with our choice, as we didn't experience the typical Moroccan hospitality in this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 5 night stay at hotel Mooi. It's in the Hivernage district so around a 5-10min walk from the Medina walls and not too much further into the square and the souks!

Hotel is super clean and the staff were excellent. We had lovely breakfast on the rooftop terrace which has amazing views of the city! The terrace also has a pool.

Very good value for a great hotel just a little bit out of the busy streets in the Medina!

For restaurants nearby - would recommend Table du Marche which is only 5mins away.

Only imrpovement that could be made would be to have tea/coffee facilities in the room but this is hardly a criticism as the hotel was excellent.

Thanks again for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We came here as a last resort looking for a pool in the heat of Marrakech after we were duped by the person who rented teir house to us saying they had a pool when they didn't! They were the only ones who let us in and for free if we ate in the restaurant! Needless to say we had a meal there and it was very nice and reasonably priced too, then spent the afternoon at the pool. Thanks to everyone at Mooi for making our trip to Marrakech a little better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I can highly recommend the Mooi Hotel in Marrakesh. The staff, especially Siham and Ashraf, are excellent, and the rooms are beautiful. The location near Djema al-fna and other great sites is exquisite. Great choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, clean, charming and located in the best area of Marrakech (i.e. a few minutes from the medina, from the shopping center and from the most trendy clubs). Rooms are huge compared to any other places i have been to (trust me i travel a lot!). The top floor offers a nice terrasse with a swimming pool where you can enjoy your breakfast with a view of the city and of the mountains!

The staff is welcoming and will help you to find your way or to organise any kind of trips you are willing to experience.
I have nothing better to say than "go for it"!!!!!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is not a hotel you should go to if you want to get a moroccan feeling. It will be as if you are somewhere in Europe or the US.

The hotel is very conveniently situated in the Hivernage quarter, where many other high end hotels are located, it is close to the main square with a mini taxi. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, with very modern and minimalist decor. It is clean (although it could be cleaner). The reception/concierge services however were not really up to speed: communication was difficult (even though we spoke good French) and not very helpful in booking an excursion to the desert.

All in all, a decent hotel in a great area - prices during New Year's are pretty high for the value, but during other less busy times I guess it is good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mooi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooi Hotel

Address: Avenue Echouada | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mooi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Mooi" Hotel is a part of a boutique hotel concept and consists of 15 rooms and suites, restaurant and bar lounge music.Located in the Hivernage avenue in gueliz - “Mooi” hotel is at 15 meters from the medina and historic sites.In a clean, both modern and warm, the strengths of "Mooi" are undoubtedly its location and exceptional terrace in the winter, offering a panoramic view of the mountains of the Atlas and Koutoubia. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mooi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.