We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful in every regard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Princesse du desert

Save Saved
You added Riad Princesse du desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Princesse du desert
No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful in every regard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Riad Pincesse du Desert for two nights at the end of a 9 night stay in Morocco and absolutely loved everything about our experience there. The Riad is beautifully restored with exquisite craftsmanship combined with modern comforts (which was not true in some of the other Riads we stayed in Morocco), the food is delicious and prepared by lovely and kind chefs and perhaps best of all are the warm and inviting people who own and run the Riad. It is a family business and when we first entered we were greeted Yousef who told us "we want you to feel as if you are a guest in our house " which by the end of our short stay we amazingly came to feel. Our conversations with he and his cousin Samira and the warm hospitality they extended to us enriched our experience in Morocco in a way a traditional hotel never could . I can't recommend this Riad highly enough and my only regret is that we didn't have more time there. .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
89
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

A bit off the beaten path, but I saw this as a plus because seeing the people and beautiful doorways is worth the extra time meandering to the souks and back. It is very private, peaceful, and beautifully decorated. Service was outstanding. I highly recommend the cooking class...an authentic "home cooking" experience. We also did the massage (done at one of their other riads nearby), which was very enjoyable. Great rooftop terrace for lounging.

Overall a very enjoyable experience, I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the turquoise room, which as excellent. Bed is large. Mattress is very firm. Quiet enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This riad is one of the very best we stayed in during our three week tour of Morocco. Wonderful staff, including those doing the excellent cooking. Rashly eating out one day in the mountains, I came down with a digestive complaint. The riad gave just the help needed: a good soup diet, omelettes for breakfast to reduce sugar intake, assistance from the very affable and highly competent Youssef in getting back to our transport to Casablanca. The staff of the riad turned on a spectacular performance of Berber dances, including belly dances, during our stay. We were impressed with their phenomenal flexibility and agility, put to everyday use, no doubt, by their daily work in the riad. Stay there, eat only there and you will be happy in Marrakech. Suggestions? I would welcome hand-grips and soap holders in the showers.

Room Tip: Probably choose a room on the first floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent 2 nights in Riad Princesse du desert in November and they were our favorite 2 nights in Morocco. Khadijah, Simo, and everyone else we met were exceptionally accommodating and kind. The riad is impeccably clean and quiet, despite being in the bustling Medina. It was a short walk to Jemaa El Fna and the Kotoubia Mosque as well. My husband and I scheduled a hamam through the Riad and were escorted by Khadijah and Simo. We had the most relaxing, wonderful time and then enjoyed a 5 star meal prepared by Khadijah. The beef tagine and chicken pastilla were the best we had in Morocco. We frequently reminisce about our time spent at Riad Princese du desert and wish there was a way to transport the team to the United States! We cannot recommend this Riad highly enough and are confident that every guest will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent four nights at La Princesse du desert at the end of a three week tour of Morocco and were delighted with the welcome we received. It’s a small riad, tucked away at the end of a long, winding laneway in the medina but not really hard to find once you’ve been shown the way, although it is quite a long walk from the nearest gate into the medina, so hire a barrow-man to take your suitcases for you. The public rooms and bedrooms are very prettily decorated, with lots of colour and texture in a modern version of classical Moroccan style. Our bedroom was quite petite but very elegant. The bed was made up with hand-embroidered sheets and the doors and windows were draped with bright velvet and sheer silk curtains, and also had wooden shutters for privacy. The little bathroom had a hair dryer, soap and a bottle of verveine bath gel, the bath towels were large and thick and there was plenty of toilet paper. There were power outlets well placed for re-charging our technology and the wifi from the reception area reached into our room, which was nice. We ate breakfast and dinner in the riad every day and found the meals to be lots better than average. We were there for Christmas and were treated to a surprise Christmas Eid party! The owner did belly dances and the male staff did dances from their home regions and we were served dinner by candle light with rose petals scattered on the tables: not your usual Christmas dinner, and lots of fun. The staff were absolutely charming and welcomed us like family. When my husband became sick they were tremendously supportive and helpful, found medical advice and brought his food to the room so he could rest in bed and gave me lots of reassuring hugs, among other kindnesses. I can’t recommend La Princesse du desert highly enough and am sure others will appreciate it as much as we did.

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful but they are small and there may not be enough room for open suitcases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here this week, and its a terrific place to stay. It is a bit inside the medina, but they have a porter who can transport your bags from Bab Laksour. Easy walking distance to the Square. Superb service by Simo, Khadija, and others. They are wonderfully attentive to all guest needs, and go out of the way to arrange experiences (decorating hands with henna, for example). Their meatball tagine is outstanding, as are the crepes they serve at breakfast. On our last day, which involved our having to leave the riad at 6:45 am, the staff got up early to prepare and serve us a hot breakfast at 6 am, and the porter arrived at 6:45 am to take our bags to our SUV. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The riad is located some distance from the entrance of the medina. However, it is quite easy to get use to the walking distance especially to the Jemaa El Fna after a few times.

The room is very comfortable especially during the winter. Plenty of hot water for shower and they provide nice fragrant lemongrass shower gel. I guess the ground floor room may be noisy but those rooms on upper floor are great. We stayed at the upper floor.

Our breakfast is well taken care of as well as our yummy dinner of chicken with figs targine.

We are very appreciative of our host, Simo, who is helpful and accommodative to our requests and make our stay memorable. Of course, a special thank you to the ladies who keep the place neat and tidy.

We definitely recommend you to stay at this riad.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Princesse du desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse du desert

Address: No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad (Princesse Du Desert ) Samira opens her new oasis in the heart of the medina Just a few meters from Jemaa El Fna, you will cross a few streets to the famous souk area "Mouassine" to arrive at the Riad. The charming home of Samira and her team will give you immediately the feeling of being with family. You will experience magical moments, like a tale of 1001 nights,The geographical position of Riads is perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad Princesse du desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Princesse du desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.