We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, clean, and nice staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Princesse du desert

Save Saved
You added Riad Princesse du desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Princesse du desert
No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sispony, Andorra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful, clean, and nice staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Positives - We came in the off-season for 4 nights and Oussama was really nice about giving us a good rate. All the ladies who work there are sweet and helpful and work their tails off to make it nice. The dinner we had there, beef and prune tagine, was absolutely delicious, and we licked every drop of sauce from the bowl, but I felt that for 30 euros (2 ppl) there should have been more than 3 pieces of beef. Breakfast was very good and comprehensive, and the breads and pancakes were delicious, as were the fig and apricot jams, and eggs done just right. The room was clean, the air conditioning was MARVELOUS and our saving grace in the July heat. the riad itself is just gorgeous. just gorgeous. and the roof terrace is comfortable, though i wish we could have seen over the high walls. our bathroom was enormous and i loved the open style of the shower and the brass sink. no noise at night, either.

Cons - i won't say "difficult to find", because everything is hard to find in the medina. it is actually quite easy to find -- get a cab to bab laksour, walk straight until the mouassine fountain, turn left just before, take your first left again, bear right around the curve and walk straight under the arch until you see the potted tree outside the door--about 5 mins walk total. i did find the hotel's airport transfer pricey at 20 euros plus tip, since you can get a taxi for between 4 and 7 euros [standard price] depending on your haggling ability. or call Taxi Vert, who are honest and use meters. for the little they actually cost, and even less for locals, i feel that airport transfers should be free for stays of 3 days or more. also, when i inquired about rental cars, i was quoted a price ten euros per day higher than i was able to find on my own; quoted 30 euros per day for an economy car with NO aircon when i found a midsize dacia logan for 25 per day, tax and insurance included, on my own. i won't speculate about why since I am sure having the right contacts was not the issue. finally, we got a bit of pushback about paying by credit card, but all was sorted in the end.

bottom line: this is a gorgeous, clean, quiet riad with great food and within 5 minutes walk from djemma el fna, close to the souks, but do your homework before booking any extra services if you do not want to overpay.

Room Tip: the turquoise room was gorgeous, amazingly comfy and firm bed, great aircon, spacious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
92
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Firstly, the prices were so reasonable that I did not expect to get as great service as we did.
The rooms and Riad are beautiful and the air conditioning at the end of a long walk around the souks most days was very welcome! We spent most days having breakfast on the roof terrace, and occasionally dinner, which was very peaceful and serene.

We then come to the food: I had tagine in three different places in Marrakech and the Riad's tagine was by far my favourite and the portion sizes were very generous.
Breakfast was lovely and was especially nice to start each day eating al fresco on the roof terrace. My only critism would be that I started to get bored of eating the same breakfast every day, although there was still some choice: Pancakes, crepes, cake (yes, cake!), fig/apricot jams, honey, yogurt, fried eggs, butter, etc and occassionally fruit.

The service from 'the girls' as we called them, was great. They couldn't have been more polite and helpful and nothing seemed to much of an effort for them. We ordered dinner one night after an excursion and they had even laid rose petals on the table, which is the attention to detail that really makes trips like this special. The only problem we had as lazy english people was the language barrier, a few of the girls spoke enough english to get by but I saw this more as a fault on our behalf that we didn't learn more of the language before we went.
You could tell the girls would have been more friendly and talkative if we could understand each other better so if you're french is up to scratch, this won't be a problem.
Oussama however, speaks English fluently and was extremely helpful in difficult situations for us (our pet bearded dragon at home had gone missing and we needed to arrange a search party but had stupidly forgotten a travel plug to charge my mobile phone) and he let me use his laptop to contact people in England and even lent us a phone for the rest of the week so that we could contact friends and family easier.
We also had an excursion booked with a different company and we asked if he could do a better deal and he knocked 12 euros off the price.
The excursion we took through him was the best day we spend in Marrakech at the Cascades L'Ouzouds.
Point being that they all went the extra mile to make our stay as hospitable as possible and I would happily reccommend this Riad to anyone I know going to enjoy Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Whilst arranging our trip to Marrakech I researched Trip Advisor with great interest trying to discern which riad had the best reviews but was still in our price range. Luckily I opted for the Princesse du dessert as it was exactly what we wanted. Brilliantly situated near to the Souks and the main square we were able to find our way around easily (once you get used to the tiny streets and alleyways that is!)

The staff were all fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they really did their best to ensure that we got the most out of our short stay. First a cooking course then a guided tour around the city was arrange both really great experiences giving us a real feel for the cuisine and an understanding of the city that we might not otherwise have had. We then arranged a trip to the Berber which was very interesting.

We didn't meet Samira but Oussama was fantastic translating everything we needed and helping us plan whatever we wanted. Breakfast was always a lovely experience too, sat up on the roof terrace breakfast was always bought quickly and efficiently no matter what time we got up. I can not speak highly enough about the staff.

If you are heading to Marrakech I would highly recommend this Riad. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: We staying in the turquoise room and it was really lovely, a good size with a lovely bathroom. As sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were a little anxious about ending our 2-week trip in Marrakesh, thinking we would be inundated with touts and that it would be a big, loud city. Luckily, we stayed at this Riad and quite enjoyed walking down long dusty alleyways to the warm welcome of this Riad. Oussama was a wonderful host who made sure we were happy. Fatima and her sister provided good meals and helpful service. It was wonderful to come home here after bargaining our hearts out in the souks! Thanks, Oussama!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first stop after we arrived in Morocco. From the first moment, everything was terrific: tea (of course) served with bisquits/cookies, and the kind support of the staff were equally welcoming. Oussama and Fatima were generous hosts, smiling and helpful at every moment. Breakfast was great; the rooms and all the public spaces were gorgeous and clean. I had tassels on my bed! The peaceful riad is a great escape from the intensity of the souks. The roof is quiet and a lovely place to start the day with a plentiful and delightful breakfast. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The two rooms I saw were one flight up and both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June 2013 and we were extremely impressed with the staff , especially manager Oussama, who run a warm and welcoming riad in a great location. There was no inquiry or assistance that was not provided . Oussama arranged a hire car at a great rate and helped us get to it whan it was delivered outside the medina. They made great suggestions as to where to eat in the mwedina , and where to tour outside Marrakesh.The owner , Samira , can take credit for employing such excellent staff .
Of course the riad itself is also excellent and great value for such high standard accomodation.Our room was spacious and beautiful , and the rooftop area is great for eating and a drink.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having just returned from Morocco, I would be remiss not to single out Princesse du Desert and the wonderful staff there. It is obvious from the minute you walk in that these people love their job and strive to make your stay memorable. In spending several nights in many riads, the large spacious room was well appreciated. After asking for wine glasses for us to share a bottle on the nice quiet terrace, we were greeted with a variety of olives and other tasty treats to enjoy with our wine. I can not emphasize enough how much the staff aimed to please. One would have to be foolish not to make this riad your first consideration when staying in Marrackech. Cudos to Riad Princesse du Desert!

Room Tip: They are all good and the staff makes them even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Princesse du desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse du desert

Address: No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad (Princesse Du Desert ) Samira opens her new oasis in the heart of the medina Just a few meters from Jemaa El Fna, you will cross a few streets to the famous souk area "Mouassine" to arrive at the Riad. The charming home of Samira and her team will give you immediately the feeling of being with family. You will experience magical moments, like a tale of 1001 nights,The geographical position of Riads is perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Princesse du desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Princesse du desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;