We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Morocco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Princesse du desert

Save Saved
You added Riad Princesse du desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Princesse du desert
No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 1,034 Marrakech B&B and Inns
idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best stay in Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I traveled Morocco for two weeks this spring and were very fortunate to end our stay at Riad Princesse in Marrakech. The Riad is beautifully restored and lovely to return to after a day experiencing Marrakech. Our stay was most amazing because of the staff at the Riad. Youssef could not have been more accommodating. Not only did he exceed all of our expectations and needs, he anticipated them. His attention to detail made our stay pleasant and comfortable in spite of inclement weather. As other reviewers have written, the food is fabulous. Also, you must take the cooking class with Nada and Khadijah! Being a well rounded cook of many ethnic cuisines I didn't think I would gain much from the class but I was so wrong! They used local spice in creative ways and took all evening explaining all of it to us. The next day Youssef purchased the spices we wanted to take home, better than anything we can buy at home at a fraction of the price. Our dinner was amazing. We made the best aubergine salad I've ever had in my life!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
89
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The dinners that they prepared for us were amazing, and staying in the Medina was great. The decor was colorfully Moroccan. and gave us a real sense of place. One look and you know that you are in Morocco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming and relaxed staff who immediately made it clear that their intent was to serve us well and easily .Tasteful Moroccan decor in a clean and well manged Riad . Youssef ( Mr. Fix-it) impressed us with his attitude that " there are no problems,only solutions " and adeptly applied this attitude to sourcing local ingredients to meet our culinary desires. Khadija came into her own when she, with Youssef's support, ran a very homely cooking class. We enjoyed the simplicity of her effective, efficient but very tasty cooking class and sat down to a very, very pleasing dinner. Other staff, including Fatima were endlessly polite and efficient. Guests with children were rewarded with staff who patiently and happily entertained their children.
We would have no hesitation returning to stay in this Riad when in Marrakech
Denise and Phil
Nornalup, Western Australia

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My first visit and travelled with three others, all who had been to Marrakech before. We arrived on 31.01.13 for three nights. The taxi that we booked through the Riad was waiting for us at the airport and payment to the luggage boy who takes your luggage on a cart to the riad from the taxi went smoothly at the pre agreed price . We were welcomed with mint tea and biscuits and a very helpful Lhoussine (pronounced Hussain) who was invaluable to us throughout our 3 day stay. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for him and he went out of his way to please us as well as being very good company. The Riad is in a very good location very close to the Square. We were also shown around the other two riads that belong to the same owner which looked great and we would have been happy to stay at any one of them. We took a horse and trap ride which worked out around £8.00 in total for all four us and we went on a round trip of the Medina, the driver stopping of course at the obligatory pharmacy in an effort to sell us something! This is is not a problem is you make it clear you do not want to buy anything or perhaps mention that you had already bought the same item the day before, many of the vendors like to have a bit of banter and and practice their English, we heard the phrase "cheap as chips" called out to us a few times! The Italian restaurant Pepe Nero can be recommended, beautiful surroundings and lovely food, probably around £30.00 ahead including ample wine! The rooms at the Riad (we had the Onyx room) were dark and fairly small but functional and absolutely fine for a three night stay. They opened into an airy courtyard space, we were on the first floor. Our friends were in the Turquoise room which had a much larger shower/bathroom area. Breakfast was taken up on the room terrace at our request which was initially a bit chilly in the morning sun but soon warmed up. We asked for poached eggs extra to the cakes, mint tea, yoghurt and bread/jam that was already provided and these turned up cooked perfectly and we can recommend a shake of cumin on the top! We also had pancakes with honey one morning and chocolate au pain on another. On our first night, we asked to eat at the Riad and the lady in the kitchen (I think her name was Fatime) cooked us a lovely meal, local Harira soup and a tagine, couscous and salad, it was traditional, freshly cooked and extremely good. We would also recommend the local Morrocan red wine Ksar. During our stay we also went on a camel ride and negotiated a taxi for around £16.00 total and a camel ride for 45 mins for around £11.00 per person whilst the taxi driver happily waited for us. The camels were called names such as Justin Beiber, Claudia Schiffer etc! I think the area was called Palmeraies? You do have to barter quite hard to bring the price down. Whilst at the Riad we also asked for a trip to the local Hamman baths. We were accompanied to the female baths by Fatime the cook at the Riad who must have spent a couple of hours with us, scrubbing us down, covering us with various potions, washing our hair, and slooshing us down with several buckets of water, she worked very hard and it was a brilliant experience to be amongst the local ladies who initially looked at us suspiciously but soon were laughing with us as we were subjected to our deep cleansing treatment. We also had lunch in one of the tagine cafes in the alleyways, we had no idea what was in the tagine, we think probably rabbit but it was delicious served with a big piece of bread and costing only around equivalent to £2.50 per head. We would also recommend stall 14 in the Square for freshly squeezed orange juice probably just over 30p for a glass!. The entire stay was perfect, the weather, the Riad, the transfers and especially the wonderful service from the Riad staff and I would not hesitate to strongly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having visited Marrakech earlier in the year I was apprehensive that this riad may disappoint after our previous stay, which was wonderful, I should not have worried.
The riad is in a perfect position, very close to everything that you would want to visit. The rooms, although on the small side, were beautifully presented and wonderfully clean.
We were met by Hussein, the manager of the riad, who could not have been more helpful. We were given mint tea and shown around the riad. Hussein then escorted us through the myriad of alleyways, pointing out land marks on the way, to ensure we found our way back!
We ate in the riad on our first evening, the food was fresh, well presented and plentiful.traditional Morrocan cuisine and very tasty.
We were travelling with another couple and all decided to have a traditional hamman, this is an experience not to be missed. The gentlemen were led in one direction as us ladies went off in another. We were scrubbed to an inch of our lives by the very lovely lady who does the cooking in the riad. I am ashamed to say that I have forgotten her name, however will never forget the amount of effort she put in to rid me of my dead skin!!
Hussein continued to be on hand for the duration of our visit, nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile.
I have bored people to death about how great our weekend was and cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Marrakech was the last stop on our 20 day trip to Morocco. We were hoping that it was going to live up to the rest of our trip, which had been fantastic. We needn't have worried, we loved it!!
From the moment we arrived here, we knew it was going to be perfect. Mustafa was there to greet us with his welcoming smile, tea, and sweet snacks. He and the staff are the kindest, most friendly staff I have met anywhere.
Our rooms were just gorgeous. The owner, Samira, who we met several times (and who was most concerned that we were comfortable and happy) has impeccable taste. It makes all the difference to walk into a room that is so beautifully decorated. And the pure white, spotlessly clean and fluffy embroidered towels felt like pure luxury!
The riad is set back from the hustle and bustle. There is no problem about finding your way. Once you are there Mustafa will walk you to the square, showing you things to look out for to help you find your way back. He also gives you a card with the name and phone number of the riad just in case you do become lost! His directions are so clear, we never had a problem!
The courtyard area is also beautifully decorated and was a most welcoming place to spend our only rainy afternoon of our trip.
We were lucky to have an evening meal here during our stay, which we ate in a small private room just off the courtyard. Delicious food served by the ever attentive Mustafa.
The lovely girls (who work tirelessly in the background), took us to the local hammam. Truly a wonderful experience which I would highly recommend. This was a highlight of our trip. The girls took such good care of us, bringing along everything that we would need. They rubbed and scrubbed us till we were cleaner than we had ever been! Don't miss this. A massage back at the riad completed this wonderful experience.
It's all the little things that makes this a really special place to stay. Samira's eye for detail, Mustafa's quiet efficiency and friendly, welcoming, "can do" attitude and the lovely staff who all make you feel that this is your home whilst you are there.
We loved our stay so much that the goodbye hugs felt so genuine, we almost cried that we had to leave!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms offer a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had a most wonderful stay here. The riad is cozy & tastefully decorated and our rooms were very beautiful! Our stay at the riad started with a welcome drink of Moroccan mint tea & cookies, after which Mostapha, the manager, brought us on a tour of the Medina. Mostapha & Samira, the owner of the riad were excellent hosts. All our needs were promptly attended to and they went above & beyond to ensure that we have a wonderful time in Marrakech. Not only did we experience Moroccan hospitality but excellent food as well! The dinner at the Riad was the best of our entire trip and my mouth still waters at the thought of the fish tagine & other exotic dishes prepared by the team at the riad. Thank you Mostapha & Samira for a most wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Princesse du desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse du desert

Address: No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,034 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad (Princesse Du Desert ) Samira opens her new oasis in the heart of the medina Just a few meters from Jemaa El Fna, you will cross a few streets to the famous souk area "Mouassine" to arrive at the Riad. The charming home of Samira and her team will give you immediately the feeling of being with family. You will experience magical moments, like a tale of 1001 nights,The geographical position of Riads is perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad Princesse du desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Princesse du desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.