We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Princesse du desert

Save Saved
You added Riad Princesse du desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Princesse du desert
No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had a most wonderful stay here. The riad is cozy & tastefully decorated and our rooms were very beautiful! Our stay at the riad started with a welcome drink of Moroccan mint tea & cookies, after which Mostapha, the manager, brought us on a tour of the Medina. Mostapha & Samira, the owner of the riad were excellent hosts. All our needs were promptly attended to and they went above & beyond to ensure that we have a wonderful time in Marrakech. Not only did we experience Moroccan hospitality but excellent food as well! The dinner at the Riad was the best of our entire trip and my mouth still waters at the thought of the fish tagine & other exotic dishes prepared by the team at the riad. Thank you Mostapha & Samira for a most wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
89
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in this beautiful riad during my first 2 nights in Morocco. I must say I was impressed by the charm and interior decor of this riad. It is immaculately clean and is located near the action of Marrakesh but is on a quiet street which is a BIG plus. Moustafa is an excellent host and he is very helpful if you have any questions. He is extremely hospitable. He let me choose which room I wanted and helped me with all my luggage. He was very accomodating and wanted to please you and make you feel at home. My room was GORGEOUS! Very luxurious with a good heater, good shower, and lovely interior decor. You will feel like royalty. Also, the food is EXCELLENT! Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and dinner was DELICIOUS! I ate the best lemon and olive chicken tagine in all of Morocco at this riad. I highly suggest eating dinner in the riad. You will not be disappointed. This riad exceeded my expectations and I would definately return! If you want a real Moroccan experience, do NOT hesitate to stay in this charming place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights over the Christmas holidays during our first trip to Morocco. It was a tranquil, beautiful oasis in the middle of the bustling medina. The manager, Mustafa, was so warm and gracious and went out of his way to make us feel welcome with mint tea and traditional cookies. The rooms were lovely and the decor of the whole place was elegant. The cook made wonderful, delicious meals for us. We also enjoyed amazing massages at the spa. The service was first rate! We felt lucky to have stayed here and definitely would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Mostapha was a wonderful host! Although small (which is expected of a room in a riad), our room was decorated very nicely. Even though we had to report the shower head was broken on the first day, Mostapha promptly had a new one installed. The location is really convenient and breakfast was enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Had such a wonderful time staying here. The riad was beautifully decorated and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Located in the heart of marrakech we had a really Moroccan experience!! Would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were alittle worried when we walked a long journey outside of the Medina to the Riad and boy when we reached, the smiles and warmth of Mustafa is just so contagious! He guided us to the square and helped us exchanged money with his friends with a helping smile all the time. The rooms were not big but the service was great. Knowing that I am afraid of cold and that the heater was not working too fine, he offered to bring in a portable heater and more blankets! Breakfast was plentiful and we had some lovely eggs there! We cannot forget the homemade moroccan yogurt we tried which was the best. Overall a really fantastic stay and we cant wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We've just arrived back from a 4 night stay at this fabulous little Riad. No doubt it would normally be very quite and tranquil, but given we were generally the only guests there, we were able to liven things up just a little. Mustafa made sure we had a wonderful time and went to great lengths to ensure we were able to play our itunes through their stereo. Rock the Casbah just took on a new meaning !! Rooms are fab, clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is plentiful (don't be afraid to ask for it outside your room on the balcony during winter months). Mustafa even organised boiled eggs for us. We didn't have an evening meal in the Riad, which was a great pity because we think that would have been a real treat. Hopefully we'll do it next time. The Riads location is ideally placed close to the square and an easy stroll to the taxis. Mustafa will guide you wherever you want to go anyway. In short, we would have no hesitation in staying here again, provided they will still have us !!! Highly, highly recommended .... don't forget to take 'Rock The Casbah' ..... Mustafa will love you !! With luck he'll have mastered how to sing the other bits too .... "She really don't like it ....."
If - like us - you enjoy a drink with your meal, a great restaurant to visit (not far from the square) is 'Dar Nejjarine'. Lovely atmosphere, great food, cheap beer, poor wine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but maybe first floor is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Princesse du desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse du desert

Address: No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad (Princesse Du Desert ) Samira opens her new oasis in the heart of the medina Just a few meters from Jemaa El Fna, you will cross a few streets to the famous souk area "Mouassine" to arrive at the Riad. The charming home of Samira and her team will give you immediately the feeling of being with family. You will experience magical moments, like a tale of 1001 nights,The geographical position of Riads is perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Princesse du desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Princesse du desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.