We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan Luxury and Charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Princesse du Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Princesse du Desert to your Saves list
Riad Princesse du Desert
No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Moroccan Luxury and Charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in this beautiful riad during my first 2 nights in Morocco. I must say I was impressed by the charm and interior decor of this riad. It is immaculately clean and is located near the action of Marrakesh but is on a quiet street which is a BIG plus. Moustafa is an excellent host and he is very helpful if you have any questions. He is extremely hospitable. He let me choose which room I wanted and helped me with all my luggage. He was very accomodating and wanted to please you and make you feel at home. My room was GORGEOUS! Very luxurious with a good heater, good shower, and lovely interior decor. You will feel like royalty. Also, the food is EXCELLENT! Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and dinner was DELICIOUS! I ate the best lemon and olive chicken tagine in all of Morocco at this riad. I highly suggest eating dinner in the riad. You will not be disappointed. This riad exceeded my expectations and I would definately return! If you want a real Moroccan experience, do NOT hesitate to stay in this charming place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
97
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights over the Christmas holidays during our first trip to Morocco. It was a tranquil, beautiful oasis in the middle of the bustling medina. The manager, Mustafa, was so warm and gracious and went out of his way to make us feel welcome with mint tea and traditional cookies. The rooms were lovely and the decor of the whole place was elegant. The cook made wonderful, delicious meals for us. We also enjoyed amazing massages at the spa. The service was first rate! We felt lucky to have stayed here and definitely would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Mostapha was a wonderful host! Although small (which is expected of a room in a riad), our room was decorated very nicely. Even though we had to report the shower head was broken on the first day, Mostapha promptly had a new one installed. The location is really convenient and breakfast was enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Had such a wonderful time staying here. The riad was beautifully decorated and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Located in the heart of marrakech we had a really Moroccan experience!! Would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were alittle worried when we walked a long journey outside of the Medina to the Riad and boy when we reached, the smiles and warmth of Mustafa is just so contagious! He guided us to the square and helped us exchanged money with his friends with a helping smile all the time. The rooms were not big but the service was great. Knowing that I am afraid of cold and that the heater was not working too fine, he offered to bring in a portable heater and more blankets! Breakfast was plentiful and we had some lovely eggs there! We cannot forget the homemade moroccan yogurt we tried which was the best. Overall a really fantastic stay and we cant wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We've just arrived back from a 4 night stay at this fabulous little Riad. No doubt it would normally be very quite and tranquil, but given we were generally the only guests there, we were able to liven things up just a little. Mustafa made sure we had a wonderful time and went to great lengths to ensure we were able to play our itunes through their stereo. Rock the Casbah just took on a new meaning !! Rooms are fab, clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is plentiful (don't be afraid to ask for it outside your room on the balcony during winter months). Mustafa even organised boiled eggs for us. We didn't have an evening meal in the Riad, which was a great pity because we think that would have been a real treat. Hopefully we'll do it next time. The Riads location is ideally placed close to the square and an easy stroll to the taxis. Mustafa will guide you wherever you want to go anyway. In short, we would have no hesitation in staying here again, provided they will still have us !!! Highly, highly recommended .... don't forget to take 'Rock The Casbah' ..... Mustafa will love you !! With luck he'll have mastered how to sing the other bits too .... "She really don't like it ....."
If - like us - you enjoy a drink with your meal, a great restaurant to visit (not far from the square) is 'Dar Nejjarine'. Lovely atmosphere, great food, cheap beer, poor wine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but maybe first floor is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LILLESTRØM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you are looking for something more personal than a hotel this is a good place to try. Friendly staff, clean rooms with personal design and good homemade cooking, moroccoan style.Just trying to find this wellhidden riad in a dead end street in the medina makes it exotic, but do not worry the staff will follow you in and out of the medina if needed ! The place made us feel that we discovered the Morocco that travel books describe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Princesse du Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse du Desert

Address: No 67 Derb Habib Allah | Quartier Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Princesse du Desert Nothing is too good for her. Equidistant from the " Jemaa El Fna " and " Door Dar El Bacha " , the location of Riad Princesse du Desert is exceptional especially since it offers beautiful calm and tranquility. Nestled in the Medina, the small alley that leads to the riad is a wonder with warm colors that contrast with the blue sky and vegetation that is rare in the Medina which can give the feeling of a Provence in Marrakech. Additionally beautiful decoration, attention to detail , arches , columns and moucharabiehs , lace white stucco ceilings, zellij ( tiled ) walls and featuring an alchemy of colors and smells with refined bath products (jasmine and amber ) make this a wonderful place to be . Additionally, not forgetting comfort alongside the beauty, each of the 6 rooms feature air conditioning, soft bedding and luxury linens. Breakfast is included in the price and we offer complimentary Moroccan mint tea and coffee with homemade cookies at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Princesse du Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Princesse du Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.